Start reading Staying Away at Christmas (Short Story) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Staying Away at Christmas (Short Story)
 
 

Staying Away at Christmas (Short Story) [Kindle Edition]

Katie Fforde
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (146 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £0.98 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

Add an extra sparkle to your festivities with this exclusive, straight to digital short story from the Sunday Times No. 1 Bestseller.



Miranda and her daughters have rented a cosy cottage for Christmas. The only trouble is, Anthony and his children are booked into the same place. In a moment of Christmas spirit, Miranda suggests they all spend yuletide together. Will the mistletoe help ease the tension and bring some cheer? Will romance blossom under the stars? Or will it be a Christmas they’d all rather forget?



Sunday Times bestselling author Katie Fforde is known for her wonderfully romantic stories, delectable heroes, and heroines we can all relate to. In Staying Away at Christmas her warmth and wit shine through in this enchanting short story. Turn on the Christmas lights, curl up on the sofa and immerse yourself in the deliciously readable world of Katie Fforde.



It also gives readers the first chance to read the opening chapter of her wonderful new novel, A French Affair, out in February.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 274 KB
  • Print Length: 49 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone Digital (6 Dec 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00AILBHLW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (146 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #4,374 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Katie Fforde lives in Gloucestershire with her husband and some of her three children. Recently her old hobbies of ironing and housework have given way to singing, Flamenco dancing and husky racing. She claims this keeps her fit. Her website address is www.katiefforde.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Christmassy read 13 Dec 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
This is a short but sweet Christmas read focussing on two families that end up booked into the same cottage for Christmas. It's classic Katie Fforde with lovely characters and a hint of romance. The story takes place at Christmas with lots of traditional Christmas elements to it and it definitely left me with a warm festive glow. I really hope Katie decides to revisit these characters in a future full length novel as I 'd love to know more about them and what happens next!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katie Fforde is amazing 6 Dec 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
I have all Katie Fforde's books and have read them all several times. Her books are warm, funny, and flow beautifully, so when I saw this short story was available to download, I had to have it. I'm not going to write about the plot but its a real treat - particularly for fans of Katie or Christmas stories.

For me there's only one downside. I would far, far rather pay £2.99 for a physical book (even though it would only be tiny), than 84p for a download.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staying Awat at Christmas 19 Dec 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a short little chirstmas story and I loved it. The characters are lovely and the christmas scene is set lovely with a bit of romance thrown in. I do hope that Katie does a follow up book on the two characters as it would be nice to see how things pan out between them.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading 17 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Thie plot was fairly predictable but for a piece of light reading it was ideal .Katie Ffloyd always provides a good read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a really good short story 8 Feb 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed reading this immensely. I liked the characters and the story was soft and easy to read. The situation could have been impossible but the characters made it work out well.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love katie fforde 5 Feb 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
you wont a great funny read then on you kindle this is a great read to have. and the quickness of the downloads are great
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Short but compact 20 Jan 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Staying Away at Christmas is a typical Katie Fforde book. Almost like the first chapter of a full length book. Very enjoyable more s o than other short stories by similar authors.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars K Fforde short 5 Jan 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I thought the story was ok, but not one of Katie's best, and I'm a big fan. The printing/editing was bad. When turning pages, there seemed to be jumps in some sentences and others where bits were repeated, which I found a bit off putting.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category