Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £6.19

Station To Station [ 5CD+1DVD+3LP] [CD+DVD, Box set]

David Bowie Audio CD
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (104 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

Buy the MP3 album for £6.19 at the Amazon Digital Music Store.

Region 1 encoding (requires a North American or multi-region DVD player and NTSC compatible TV. More about DVD formats.)

Note: you may purchase only one copy of this product. New Region 1 DVDs are dispatched from the USA or Canada and you may be required to pay import duties and taxes on them (click here for details). Please expect a delivery time of 5-7 days.

‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description

Product Description

Deluxe re-release of David Bowie's hugely influential 1976 album, Station to Station. This edition includes five CDs, a DVD and 3 LPs.

5 CDs
  • 2 versions of the complete original Station to Station album, one taken from the original analogue master and one from the 1985 RCA CD master.
  • The much bootlegged live favourite and previously unreleased Live Nassau Coliseum ‘76 (two CDs).
  • 5-track Singles Versions E.P including previously unreleased version of Station To Station, and for first time on CD, Word On A Wing.
  • Station To Station (original analogue master, 96kHz/24bit LPCM stereo)
  • Station To Station (new Harry Maslin 5.1 surround sound mix in DTS 96/24 and Dolby Digital)
  • Station To Station (original analogue master, LPCM stereo)
  • Station To Station (new Harry Maslin stereo mix, 48kHz/24bit LPCM stereo)
3 LPs
  • 12" heavyweight vinyl of Station To Station from the original stereo analogue master in replica sleeve
  • 2 x 12" heavyweight vinyl of Live Nassau Coliseum '76 in gatefold sleeve.
  • 24-page booklet with sleevenotes by Cameron Crowe and chronology by Kevin Cann and also including...
    - Previously unpublished Steve Shapiro photo
    - Geoff MacCormack photos
    - Andrew Kent live Nassau photos
    - Extensive memorabilia from the BowieNet archives
  • Replica David Bowie On Stage 1976 press kit folder containing the following...
    - Replica Backstage pass
    - Replica Biog, A4-size
    - Replica Ticket
    - Replica band line-up
    - 3 x 10"x8" press shots
  • Replica 1976 Fan Club Folder containing the following...
    - Replica Fan Club Membership card
    - Fan club certificate
    - 2 small Collectors cards
    - 2 A4-size photo prints
    - Replica 4-page biography
    - 2 x badges

BBC Review

After what Bowie labelled “plastic soul,” on Young Americans, it was more a case of lost soul for 1976’s Station to Station. The desperately thin, paranoid Bowie was still living in America but casting anxious, glassy-eyed looks across the Atlantic to European salvation – principally the musical and spiritual regeneration of Berlin.

Conflicting reports claim the album was either recorded before or after filming The Man Who Fell to Earth in New Mexico, but either way both album and film feature heavy themes of alienation, loss of control, madness and addiction (in his alien character’s case, alcohol; in Bowie’s, cocaine). Musically, it’s similarly intense, even more so because Bowie claims he can’t remember making it. It’s also one of his greatest records, bridging the stations of US R&B and krautrock – a sound bleached of blues but rooted in the motorik rhythm of Neu! and Kraftwerk – and of its six track, four are certified tour de forces.

The ten-minute title-track is first. A train gathering speed whizzes from speaker to speaker before a slow, clanking instrumental incline toward Bowie’s (ever-deeper) vocal intro, and his most dramatic lyrical entrance: “The return of the thin white duke / throwing darts in lover’s eyes.” The Duke – Bowie’s last distinct character – resembles a Nietzsche superman obsessed with belief – Judaism, Christianity, the occult – and totally off the rails: “It’s not the side effect of the cocaine, I’m thinking that it must be love.” The second section is a gallop, Earl Slick’s snarling solo unfurling over Roy Bittan’s barrelhouse piano.

The elegiac aftermath Golden Years distils and bakes Young Americans’ finger-snapping soul-funk canon; TVC15 is the other pop nugget, a more jovial saga of (according to Bowie) a girl in love with her TV. In between, Word on a Wing is a simmering plea for help to an angel but it’s outdone for gorgeous, fearless melodrama by Wild is the Wind (the title-track of a 1957 film, made famous by Nina Simone) as the Duke/Bowie hits an emotional all-time low. Stay is equally desperate, but the music is an all-time Bowie high, watertight rock-funk behind more naked confessionals from the man usually behind a mask.

The five-CD Super Deluxe Edition features additional album mixes and single versions, but the three-disc Special Edition is the essential purchase, involving the twofer Nassau Coliseum concert, aka the Thin White Duke bootleg, where Station cuts come to life and old classics are either invigorated (a rampant The Jean Genie, an awesome Five Years) or badly clobbered (especially Suffragette City and Queen Bitch). The band couldn’t truly rock, but then Bowie wasn’t interested in rock; he was rolling toward another sound and vision, the Berlin trilogy.

--Martin Aston

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window


'A plethora of live performances, alternative masterings, edits and memorabilia. Oh, and The Thin White Duke's finest album...' Stephen Trousse ***** -- Uncut, October, 2010

'By turns terrifying and beautiful for its maker, for us it's David Bowie as we most like him - that mixture of heartfelt artifice, cool detachment and otherness that came to define not just a person or even an album, but an entire musical era.' **** -- Mojo, October, 2010

'The Thin White Duke's LA album: nerve-jangling narcotic majesty' **** -- Q Magazine, October, 2010
‹  Return to Product Overview