Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2000
I bought "station X" in 1999 and although the stories surrounding Bletchley Park are interesting, the book frustrated me - it gives a very poor explanation about the machine "ENIGMA", which ends up being the driving force of the book. I would recommend "The Code Book" instead - It really explains how ENIGMA works.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2010
Just finished this book,and found it so interesting. From the history of code breaking to the winding up of Bletchley Park after WW2. The personalities of the people who worked there are brought out,maybe not fully,but give us an insight as to the atmosphere,the difficulties,the frustrations and the total secrecy of the place.
Just how the information was used,abused,and sometimes ignored,to the allies cost, was most fascinating, and tells us just how much more was going on in the background,of which the general public were totally unaware.
The devotion to duty was most impressive,especially as there were so many employed on this work. Would we find such devotion today in similar circumstances?
The description of how the codes were broken was absorbing and even amusing in parts as it told of the 'human factor' on the Germans part when sending messages. This was also not too technical so that you had no difficulty understanding the process.
I half expected this to be a tedious tale,but was pleasantly surprised.Definitely would recommend,especially for those just starting to get to grips with the 'Enigma' story,and its place in WW2 history.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 1999
This book ties in well with the television series, and is able to go into greater detail about the major protagonists at Bletchley Park: in particular the programme's attitude of 'Alan Turing solved everything' is put firmly into perspective with the achievements of other codebreakers at Station X.
Inevitably, however, one is left wishing that the book were rather more heavyweight, as it does not offer enough extra over the series in the final analysis
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
This is a basic primer on the story of Bletchley Park. It covers the problem that the codebreakers faced, with technical descriptions of Enigma and the process in breaking it. It examines the influence of Ultra intelligence (the information gained from breaking codes) on the outcome of the Second World War. It also provides a taste of what it was like to work at Bletchley Park by including plenty of quotes from veterans - people interested in some of the more famous personalities at BP will also enjoy these anecdotes.

So as a basic introduction to the topic of Bletchley Park this book is a very good place to start. However, for the more seasoned reader of literature on this fascinating organisation Station X lacks depth. It also lacks footnotes which is annoying.

However, for a person new to the subject this this book ticks all the boxes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2009
I found this book fascinating from start to finish. The descriptions of the eccentric people who were best at solving crossword puzzles and cracking codes interested me. The book describes all fields of war in which the enigma code was used and even answers the question of whether Churchill allowed Coventry to be bombed to save disclosure of the fact that enigma had been decyphered. It also exposes the great advantage Montgomery was given in the fight against Rommel. I could almost relive the frustration the codebreakers must have felt when their decodes were not acted upon. Thankfully it doesn't go into too much detail of the code workings, the few it does give are difficult enough!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
An excellent book that provides a detailled and interesting appraisal of the work conducted at Bletchley Park and profiles of many of those people involved.I find it difficult to understand the vale of silence that existed until recently and probably did not allow the true recognition of what was achieved there to be to be fully appreciated
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2001
I found Station X an interesting read, but I felt there wasn't enough content on the workings of the Enigma code and the decyphering techniques used. I wasn't expecting a story that focused on Bletchley Park's intriguing personalities ?!
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Fabulous, gripping account of the amazing Bletchley Park story.

Un-put-down-able & I want to tell everyone how brilliant it is !!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
Was very satisfied with the condition of the book as well as the prompt delivery. Will use this seller again. Thank you. 76trombones.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Excellent product really worth the price and very good service and delivery, recommended
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse