Starhawk: Academy - Book 7 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Trade in your item
Get a £0.50
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Starhawk (Priscilla Hutchins Novel) Mass Market Paperback – 28 Oct 2014


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£8.07
Mass Market Paperback, 28 Oct 2014
£3.14

Trade In Promotion

--This text refers to the Paperback edition.


Trade In this Item for up to £0.50
Trade in Starhawk (Priscilla Hutchins Novel) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.50, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Ace Books (28 Oct 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425260860
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425260869
  • Product Dimensions: 11 x 2.8 x 17.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 2.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 983,564 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Jack McDevitt is that splendid rarity, a writer who is a storyteller first and a science fiction writer second. In his ability to absolutely rivet the reader, it seems to me that he is the logical heir to Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke (Stephen King)

'Why read Jack McDevitt?' The question should be: 'Who among us is such a slow pony that s/he isn't reading McDevitt? (Harlan Ellison)

You should definitely read Jack McDevitt (Gregory Benford) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Book Description

Starting your first job is always tough ... especially when you're an interstellar pilot. This is the mind-blowing story of how it all began for one of SF's most remarkable characters. Perfect for fans of Ray Bradbury and Joe Haldeman. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By John M. Ford TOP 500 REVIEWER on 19 Nov 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Jack McDevitt offers a prequel to his series of Priscilla "Hutch" Hutchins books. His purpose is similar to Tom Clancy's purpose in writing Without Remorse to explain the history and motivations of his John Clark character. In Starhawk Hutch fans learn about her qualifying flight as a spaceship pilot, her early involvement in the politics of space flight, and the relationships and formative experiences that move her toward becoming an Academy pilot. We even learn the origin of her nickname. There is sufficient narrative space between the end of this story and the beginning of the next published Hutch novel to allow for at least one immediate sequel to Starhawk. I hope there will be one.

As a Hutch fan, I would enjoy a sequel just to learn more about Hutch. But at least one sequel is needed to tie up the loose ends left at the end of Starhawk. Unresolved subplots include (SPOILERS): how much terraforming on a distant planet is destroying alien life forms, what happened to a new race of aliens somebody made contact with, what will happen with Hutch's "like interest," who or what force is present on the orphaned planet, and how will Hutch finally become a full time Academy pilot. One or two of these might have been more than a subplot in Starhawk, but if so, really should have had more closure.

I enjoyed reading Starhawk, but not quite as much as I expected to. I will definitely read a sequel, so McDevitt passes the primary test of a fiction author: "Leav'em wanting more." I will reserve final judgment until I get to read more. But for now, I recommend this book to fans of Hutch and of this author in general.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Despite the very average reviews by some, I really enjoyed this return to the start.

Let's be honest: it was never going to be a stunner. What I enjoy is the atmosphere created by McDevitt - including the fact that he does not feel the need to stun us at the turn of every page like so much modern SF. The ending is certainly understated but none the worse for that. McDevitt's universe *is* a bit too good to be true (a bit 1960s maybe): Faster than Light travel; no real signs of global warming; people and mores exactly the same as today. But there is some genuine emotion and the journey through the story was enjoyable to me.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
There is nothing new. There can't be anything new, since we never meet any real aliens in any of the books. Which lets the author get away from thinking too much. I would not read any of them again. Anyone want to buy the whole collection ?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback