Starhawk: Academy - Book 7 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£11.99
  • RRP: £14.99
  • You Save: £3.00 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Starhawk (Academy) has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Starhawk (Academy) Paperback – 5 Nov 2013


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£9.94
Paperback, 5 Nov 2013
£11.99
£4.50 £4.49
£11.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Starhawk (Academy) + The Cassandra Project
Price For Both: £17.01

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (5 Nov 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1472207556
  • ISBN-13: 978-1472207555
  • Product Dimensions: 15.4 x 3.2 x 23.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 2.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 552,408 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Jack McDevitt is that splendid rarity, a writer who is a storyteller first and a science fiction writer second. In his ability to absolutely rivet the reader, it seems to me that he is the logical heir to Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke (Stephen King)

'Why read Jack McDevitt?' The question should be: 'Who among us is such a slow pony that s/he isn't reading McDevitt? (Harlan Ellison)

You should definitely read Jack McDevitt (Gregory Benford)

Book Description

Starting your first job is always tough ... especially when you're an interstellar pilot. This is the mind-blowing story of how it all began for one of SF's most remarkable characters. Perfect for fans of Ray Bradbury and Joe Haldeman.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By John M. Ford TOP 500 REVIEWER on 19 Nov 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Jack McDevitt offers a prequel to his series of Priscilla "Hutch" Hutchins books. His purpose is similar to Tom Clancy's purpose in writing Without Remorse to explain the history and motivations of his John Clark character. In Starhawk Hutch fans learn about her qualifying flight as a spaceship pilot, her early involvement in the politics of space flight, and the relationships and formative experiences that move her toward becoming an Academy pilot. We even learn the origin of her nickname. There is sufficient narrative space between the end of this story and the beginning of the next published Hutch novel to allow for at least one immediate sequel to Starhawk. I hope there will be one.

As a Hutch fan, I would enjoy a sequel just to learn more about Hutch. But at least one sequel is needed to tie up the loose ends left at the end of Starhawk. Unresolved subplots include (SPOILERS): how much terraforming on a distant planet is destroying alien life forms, what happened to a new race of aliens somebody made contact with, what will happen with Hutch's "like interest," who or what force is present on the orphaned planet, and how will Hutch finally become a full time Academy pilot. One or two of these might have been more than a subplot in Starhawk, but if so, really should have had more closure.

I enjoyed reading Starhawk, but not quite as much as I expected to. I will definitely read a sequel, so McDevitt passes the primary test of a fiction author: "Leav'em wanting more." I will reserve final judgment until I get to read more. But for now, I recommend this book to fans of Hutch and of this author in general.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
There is nothing new. There can't be anything new, since we never meet any real aliens in any of the books. Which lets the author get away from thinking too much. I would not read any of them again. Anyone want to buy the whole collection ?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Having read most of Jack McDevitt's work I had high hopes of his latest release. As usual the review on the back cover was inaccurate, but one can get over that.
Having started to read the book I could not believe that this was the same author who had written books such as "Chindi", "Omega", or "Cauldron" etc. Where "Engines of God 7" came into it I could not understand - perhaps someone could explain?
In my opinion I am reluctant to say that the writing was very Juvenlile and not what I would expect from this well-known author. The plot was thin and the characters feeble.
If the author had wanted to carry on with the "Hutch" series he would have done better to have read his own last page in "Cauldron" where Hutch's son Charlie started to take in interest in becoming a pilot. Perhaps he could have brought the "Monument Makers" into a new story as well!!!
Very disappointed with this later offering and I would certainly not recommend it to any serious McDevitt fan.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Another book in the "Hutch" series; the origin of her career.
Worth reading if you like the series. McDevitt is usually either good or bad; this is actually middling.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Mr Dodo on 13 Nov 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A good McDevitt on Hutch's early history
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback