Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars17
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2012
And this is a GOOD thing. I am genuinely puzzled to learn from other reviewers that they have no interest in the Mandolorian culture or the clone's perspectives on well-known events. These people dont like to see the Jedi as fallible and detest the idea of Sith being anything but pure evil overlords. A series of books which ties toegther events in a different way is to me like reading the better Batman series, insofar as the main character, the super hero, has his powers derived from conditioning, gadgetry and knowledge, not some fanciful and all-explaining power.

We (presumably) all knew what Mando's were about, and if nothing else the first book in this series should have given an indication of where and how the story would play out. If that does not appeal....why on earth bother to read this far into it? Could it be that despite your protestations, you enjoy the book?

Rant mostly over...but seriously, I read in one review that there was too much use of Mando language and in another that there was too much talking about Mando feelings. That must have come as a shock to someone reading a mando-based series about children with accelerated aging being forced to fight and kill from the age of 3. Stunned, as always, by the sheer idiocy of some people. Theres such a wide selection of canon about Star Wars, there's really no justifiable excuse to go knocking this sub-genre for not being what you can intellectually deal with.

To sum up.... as with rpevious instalments, this was an excellent and intereting read and I too am saddened to learn of Traviss' departure from it.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This book is a great follow up to the Republic Commando series. It's well written, however this version contains quite a few spelling errors. Couple of instances where bits are missing as well. I hope the series continues , as the ending came very quickly and felt very incomplete.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Terrific book, it's so good that I'm considering rebuking kindle copies of the series (my physical copies suffered a little due to reading in adverse weather). Highly recommended to Star Wars, republic commando and sci if action dans alike.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
This book is one of my favourite star wars books full of great storyline and a new perspective on so the Jedi rarely seen before plus its full of Mando goodness.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
I've read all the previous republic/imperial commando novels from Karen Traviss.

This one is again a real K. Traviss book. Lots and lots of dialogue. Lots and lots of emotion and character depth. The action has been cut down though. And it's not unexpected if you think about it. So much has happened to the clones and the jedi that make up clan Skirata. This book needs emotional 'closure' and stuff like that.

Is this bad? No not at all. If you like to read about the feelings, the fears, the doubts of a bunch of elite commandos and Mandalorians. Karen Traviss really creates her little world inside the Star Wars universe. Her little Star Wars corner, and over the last couple of years we really got to know (and love) the characters that make up that world.

Now the bad part.
She has stopped writing Star Wars novels. Yes you read that correct. The upcoming sequel to Imperial Commando 501th, that was supposed to be released sometime now, has been cancelled. In short, LucasArts made some changes to the Star Wars universe regarding Mandalorians, making it hard for Traviss to finish her last book of this serie.

So this is a book that is dying for an ending, and it will not come anytime soon.
Talk about ... well ... a waste actually.

I really enjoyed the book. Yes there is an awful lot of talking and emotional baggage, but that is to be expected. That is Traviss's style and that's what makes the series stand out.

Someone writes 'Nothing really happens' in their review. I tend to disagree. A lot of things happen. But not the shooting / blowing stuff up kind of things.
Do I recommend this title? If you've read the previous books, then yes this is a must read. But it will leave a bad taste in your mouth, because when you finish that last page, it's all over, and none of the answers you're dying for will be answered.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2009
immediately submerged in the story. strong characters with lots of depth. not just a great book for star wars fans but if you also have an interest in special forces (lot of interesting real life facts put in).

this author is my favorite out of all the authors who write clone wars novels
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Brought as a present for my brother 3 weeks ago, he has now finished it and said it was an amazing book. Great job on the book. a must buy for star wars fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
You do not need to be a Star Wars fan to read these Clone wars novels regarding Republic commando Omega Squad. If you havent read the prievious four novels then do so now! This is a fantastic series in which Karen Traves has made her own. Nobody has embraced Mandalorians in any Star Wars novel until now! I grew up with star wars in the seventies and Boba Fett was my favourate character. Now im reading about madalorian culture in which K.Travis brings across brilliantly and i am loving it. I have read a hell of a lot of star wars novels in the past ten to fifteen years and this is my favourite author and series by far!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
This book was extremely painfull to read. I tried to read it but i couldn't go past page 40. The dialogues aren't interesting and I really didn't care about the chars. With a title like this i assumed it would be better a book.

I've read a lot of EU books in the last few years. and this is the only one i didn't finish reading.

Best regards,

LS
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
As with Karen Travis' other Star Wars books, this is short on action and has far too much of characters just sat around doing nothing. It is quite a tedious read with only one or two short sections where anything actually happens. Zzzzzzzzzz
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse