Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2009
Fate of the Jedi: Omen is the second book in the series and the debut Star Wars novel for Christie Golden. Omen picks up almost straight after the previous book Outcast with the enigmatic mental illness shattering the minds of young Jed Knights whilst Luke and Ben Skywalker continue their journey to discover to the mysterious and perilous Kathol Rift.

Omen wisely keeps the same lighter tone and high level of quality established in the first book of this series Outcast. I was very pleased to see that the book had a good variety of plotlines and that Christie Golden has taken the opportunity to create a selection of new characters to mark her first entry into the Star Wars universe. The plotlines of Omen show how the situation on Coruscant is getting worse as the Jedi are under harsh scrutiny from the government whilst more Jedi Knights seem to be going insane. This feeds into Luke and Ben Skywalkers journey as it expands to include trying to vindicate the Jedi Order by explaining why Jedi are losing their minds. These plotlines are great fun despite their serious overtones as we see the Solo family go to a livestock exhibition and Luke and Ben meet the enigmatic Aing-Tii. However the most interesting development is the introduction of the Lost Tribe of the Sith. I wont spoil their story except to say that they have been out of touch with galactic events for a long time. This group are clearly going to be massive players in the story and Christie Golden delivers an interesting world with some fascinating new characters. The back story of the Tribe can be read in the Lost Tribe of the Sith ebooks that are being released as a tie in series to Fate of the Jedi which are written by John Jackson Miller.

One thing that I really liked about this book was the way that Christie Golden fleshed out the fairly minor character of Jysella Horn, the daughter of Jedi Master Corran Horn and a Jedi Knight herself. She gave her a group of interesting friends known as "The Unit", who are also Jedi Knights and made her part of the story mean something to me. The dynamic between Luke and Ben continues to be handled excellently and I liked seeing Han and Leia enjoy their guardianship of Allana Solo. It is very sweet not to mention well deserved after the tough times they both have endured. There is much more I could say about his book but it would surely spoil a great read. The only bad point is the length, Omen is very short as you can see and whilst I have no regrets in buying the book I wished it had gone on a little longer. I think that most people would like both quaility AND quantity but in this case I would rather take Omen as it is now rather than taking the chance and getting a book made mediocre by being over padded with dull filler.

This is a brilliant debut Star Wars novel for Christie Golden and I am more excited then ever about this series. She handles the existing characters really well and her understanding of the universe is staggering considering this is her first book in the franchise. It shows how much preperation she must have done. I am really looking forward to her next entry in the series where I hope we can get the same great quality with a bit more length.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
This was a short but important book in the Fate of the Jedi series. The One Sith are mentioned but have not yet announced themselves to the Jedi or the galaxy. The Lost tribe of the Sith are finally ending their seclusion after 5000 year.

The story. More Jedi are falling victim to the strange illness that causes them to have paranoid delusions that everyone they know has been replaced by imposters. The only similar trait they seem to have is that they are exhibiting powers and abilities in the force that they never learned abilities that were used last by Jacen Solo. Han and Leia while rising their "adopted daughter" Allana are trying their best to defuse the continued hostilities between the Jedi and the GA government. This could escalate with Jaina Solo leading a secrete strike force of Jedi to capture the affected Jedi (so they can receive proper treatment) before the GA can get their hands on them.

Luke and Ben still in exile follow a lead that takes them to the race of force users who are most adept to the "Flow walking" technique that Jacen used to seduce other Jedi to his side. Here the force is not seen simply as Light or Dark but as more of a rainbow. Though Luke does not agree with their philosophies he cannot deny their abilities in the force. It is great to see Luke learn a couple of new trick to add to his already impressive force abilities.

A good story sowing the seeds for things to come. I always judge a book to be good if it leaves me wanting to continue reading the next book in the series immediately. All in all a good but shorter than average Star Wars book. I can see many important events in the future coming from this. This book must be read right to the end as big things happen in the last couple of chapters.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2009
The Story: With Luke Skywalker exiled and seeking answers to Jacen Solo's fall to the dark side, more Jedi Knights begin succumb to a mysterious psychosis that makes them dangerous and homicidal, Chief of State Natasi Daala whips up and exploits growing anti-Jedi sentiment for her own gain. Meanwhile on the backwater planet of Kesh, a lost tribe of Sith emerge as a new threat to the Galaxy.

The Good: This is a brilliant debut in the Star Wars Galaxy by Christie Golden, replacing the woeful Karen Travis. Omen is well written in an efficient style, with good dialogue. The author revels in exploring the inner thoughts of a wide range of characters like Jysella Horn, Vestara Khai and Ben and Luke Skywalker. Towards the end there is even an interestingly philosophical look at the nature of time travel and religious belief, albeit an all too short one. The plot moves along at a very solid pace. In particular, the look at the Lost Sith Tribe and the politcial wrangling between the GA and the Jedi are very well handled. The author makes great use of the source material, seeming to have an encylopaedic knowledge of all that has gone before in the EU, which is hugely impressive.

The Bad: The book is perhaps too short, which is unfortunate. Certain characters, such as Han Solo and Allana, appear mostly as deadwoood, adding nothing to the overall plot. The love scenes between Jaina Solo and Jag Fel fell very flat for me also, with clunky dialogue and generally awkward handling.

Overall a very good debut and one of the first genuinely orginal and exciting Star Wars novels since Betrayal in 2006. A great effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
Fundamentally I thought this was a good book and a promising Star Wars debut for Christie Golden. She has a nice writing style that I found very easy to read.

The book continues where Outcast left off and its main purpose is in laying a bit more groundwork for the rest of the series. The main plot involving Luke and Ben's personal quest to re-trace Jacen's steps continues to prove compelling and I like the character development, especially involving Ben. The continuing plot involving Jedi Knights going nuts is equally gripping and keeps making me want to read more to see if the reason is revealed.

So to the negatives and the first has nothing to do with Christie Golden but of the story involving the Sith. I mentioned when I reviewed Crosscurrent that I thought the way the Sith have returned is a bit silly and the brains behind Lucas Books should have put more thought into it. Not only does the existence of these Sith completely defy the whole Anakin Skywalker balance to the force prophecy but I also find it difficult to believe that in the galaxy where even Master Yoda had numerous visitors on Dagobah not one single person ever stumbled upon this Sith planet. In 5000 years? Really?

That aside, I found the unfunny one liners at the end of most of the chapters wore a bit thin after a while. Other than that it was a great book and certainly worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
This book showed the general plot on the back cover, which is informative enough to give a sense of the story without revealing too much of the plot, for those who have'nt read any of the star wars books.
I liked this book because it is a good return for the Sith. The journey of that the Skywalker's make give's reader's an insight into the force, what they learn you learn alongside them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
After reading the legacy era of the books which I thoroughly enjoyed, I was anxious to see how these books were. I enjoyed these easily as much as the legacy era and they were a great continuation of story. I can't wait for the future books in the storyline. The full set may be expensive for each era of books however the money was well spent and I haven't had this much fun reading in a long time.
Would recommend to anyone interested in star wars books or star wars itself these are such an insight into the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Ok, it's Star Wars so of course I enjoyed it :P I found at some parts that there was a little too much emphasis placed on the female characters and their habits, which a male writer would not have even considered. Normally things like this I don't notice, and I'm not a picky reader meaning it didn't put me off the entire story.

It was nice to have some more information about the Sith and some Jedi techniques. Plus, Luke and Ben time together, it's been LONG overdue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
The intrigue continues at a fast pace and I have thoroughly enjoyed following the stellar cast in their adventures, even the entry of a sith apprentice into the story has been riveting and thrown up unusual feelings - is she bad or does she have the capacity to be good? Why don't you have. Read and make up your own mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
This is a good book, 3* maybe harsh but I never felt submerged enough by this book that I couldn't put it down. The storyline is interesting but lacked a cutting edge, even the fight scenes didn't wow me which has certainly been the case in other star wars books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
The story continues the saga of the now exiled grand master and his apprentice re-tracing the footsteps of the fallen Jedi Jacen Solo. The story opens up new frontiers and plot threads that revitalises the Star Wars EU. The story is at times dark with a sense of deep forboding and leaves the reader with a sense of anticipation of far worse things to come. A recommended read for fans of the Legacy of the Force series. I anticipate a sterling series of books and look forward to the next publication.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.