Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Edition: Standard EditionChange
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

As a huge Final Fantasy fan this is a dream come true, taking characters from the early games right to FFX good and evil. Dissidia is so much more than a fighting game, you start the game buy choosing which day you want to earn double EXP on and also the game will decided another day which you earn more PP which can be used to unlock a vast amount of items and characters and bonus stuff. This game is a must for anyone who loves Final Fantasy.

The fighting is in a world of its own and battles can last from 5 seconds to 10 minutes, everything really is different from anything you have played before. You start with a prologue where you will learn different moves and some extras you can use within the battles. Once you have completed your training a vast amount of good characters will open up, each has his own story but all have the same objective and that is to acquire a crystal which will be used to defeat Chaos which is the big bad. Each character has his or her own fighting technique but the main buttons will be used for Jump, Attack and super attack which would be used to take out an opponent once you have broken their attacks. Whoever wins does not have to reduce their opponents HP down to 0 you can easily win the battle once you have taken a percent of their bravery down. The more you attack the higher your bravery and the lower your opponent and then once you see theirs break its time to go in for the kill. You also have a bar which builds up with each attack you make spreading something like shiny dust around the level which you can collect when passing through, there will also be a shiny bell which you can lock onto and will raise this bar quickly. Once filled your character can unleash their ultimate move which can finish off most enemies off in one hit.
Like other Final Fantasy games you can equip items to improve your character as s/he levels up, weapons and armor will improve attack and defense while equipping rings will improve HP and other extras. You can also collect and equip summons which will pop up during fights to help out, each summon has their own way of helping and once you collect enough you can choose which character owns which summons.

There really is a lot more to this then I can possibly put in one review, the fighting is really fun and you will find yourself flying through area's performing stunning moves, the most impressive fight I have seen is Cloud vs Sephiroth fighting in the North Cave. The graphics are stunning for a hand held machine and even past characters have come back to do the voice overs. Yes this does mean Tidus too.

When you have enough PP you can start to unlock all the evil character which will be the main characters opposite from the game, E.G. Tidus vs Jecht, Squall vs Ultimicia etc etc.
Each of the 5 levels are played on a board, each character has their own board and way of traveling through it. Every move will cost you points but can be gained if you complete certain fights; these will be displayed before you choose them and will be things like finish the battle without taking a hit! On your first play through I wouldn't worry about gaining the extra points and just level up as much as possible and collect all the chest you can, you will be scored at the end of each level and the points will gain your characters story level once you have completed that characters story.
The only bad thing about this game is you can be sailing through quite easy then you meet a character that can take you down within 10 seconds, it's all down to reading what the character is equipped with so you know just what to do with him.

There really is much more I can tell you but I will leave it there as I am confusing myself let alone anyone reading this. I will add that the music features music from every game of that character with some old remixed. Also you can unlock different looks for each character like Clouds uniform from Advent Children. This game can be played by anyone but a true Final Fantasy Fan will admire it so much more.
22 comments7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
Ok, i must admit, this was one of the games that tipped me towards getting a PSP (the others being Valkyria Chronicles II (Sony PSP),Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of The Lions (PSP) and Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII - Platinum Edition (PSP)

I was really excited when i got this game, i actually ordered Dissidia 012 : Final Fantasy (PSP) together with this game, with the idea of playing this one first then Dissidia 012.

Well...I guess i shouldnt have assumed that just because this is a FF game that i would enjoy it. I am such a fan that i bought it, even though I AM NOT PARTICULARLY FOND OF FIGHTING GAMES. I know, my fault right?

Why did I find it so bad even though I tried so hard to enjoy it? I will try to keep it simple:

1. Game-play - i think for a fighting game it is pretty straight forward... you have a bravery attack which basically if it connects to the opponent takes away their 'bravery'or power, while adding to yours. If you attack with high bravery then you deal more damage. You also collect a crystal that appears randomly during the battle which you can use to fill a limit gauge. Once full you can execute a powerful attack. You can zip around the arena, jump, smash obstacles etc for a more interactive stage feel (although it isn't much). There are just too many opponents to fight, as each character has to move through a chessboard area where you have to fight about 5 (sometimes more) enemies a stage, and there are 5 stages per character. It gets very repetitious and boring.

2. Story - this was where it really lost me. I remember playing Tekken 3 and trying to get each character's ending and having lots of fun, and persevering through difficult bosses to get to that last scene. Not so here. The dialogue is so bland and uninteresting, and the characters so dull and out of place, that i find it hard to care. Some people praise the story...I think its just a cobbled together piece of rubbish constructed for the sole purpose of making FF characters fight each other. It was lame.

3. Graphics - in game graphics are good (usual FF fare) no FMV cut-scenes for a character ending though (i haven't finished the game, but knowing SQEnix they probably have an ending FMV at least). The colours were good on the characters, but the stages were very bland and boring. After seeing the same grey stage over and over for most battles was a bit off putting.

I am writing this review to just warn other (non fighting game) FF fans that just because it is Final Fantasy doesn't necessarily mean it has a massive immersive story line or necessarily gameplay that you would enjoy. Maybe for a fighting game this is fine, just don't go in expecting too much just because of the name :p
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
This game is awesome. The battle system takes a little getting used to intially but once you get to grips with it you are battling like the fight scenes in Final Fantasy VII Advent Children. This game is an absolute must have for Final Fantasy fans regardless of which title they prefer. The cutscenes are very good and the the fueds between the characters in the original games are carried over to this. Each hero persues their adversary from their orginal instalment and the stories are linked into Dissidia nicely. This is a game that all can appreciate, FF fans and non fans alike will enjoy hours of fun at their consoles with this game. Gamers can also enjoy extensive battles with one another using the ad hoc capability. I believe this game will provide a stepping stone for people who may have previously disliked the FF series to perhaps relinquish their sceptism of previous titles and give them a chance as cutscenes may not be entirely understood due to their relation to the their original titles. Hopefully this will also lead to them trying out future titles such as Final Fantasy XIII or whatever else SquareEnix have up their sleeves. The hardcore fans of the series have seen the battle system change so much since the very first Final Fantasy. Turn based battle systems have been so evolved over the last few titles that it is difficult for 'haters' of the games not to fall in love with them. The introduction of Crisis Core and now Dissidia have and will further more increase the fan base of the Final Fantasy series. Although personally I miss the turn based battles from VII through IX im glad to see more and more people being converted to the cause. SquareEnix (originally Squaresoft) have produced some truly legendary games over the decades and Dissidia Final Fantasy is great addition to this legacy.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
I've never been much of a Final Fantasy fan, so I was worried that this game would be little more than glorified fan-service. Thankfully that assumption was without merit, this is one of the most impressive games on the PSP in terms of graphics, innovation, production values and the sheer amount of content available.

It is effectively a 1 on 1 arena fighter consisting of various Final Fantasy characters duking it out in a variety of different stages. Each of the 10 heroes has his own fully fleshed out story mode as well as a larger story called 'Shade Impulse' which can be attempted by any character and changes depending on which character you choose. As well as the intense and cinematic fighting action, there is an incredibly deep system of customisation involving huge amounts of equipment as well as customisable movesets and powers.

The amount of unlockables and additional content in this game is mindboggling. After 40 hours I'm still finding new modes and secrets. The multiplayer is also fantastic and extremely well-implemented. If you get tired of fighting the AI (and at some point you probably will), it's a lot of fun to pit your characters against those of your friends.

While the game suffers slightly from typical Final Fantasy story cliches and dubious voice-acting at times, it's still a must buy for any PSP owner and a very unique and polished experience.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2010
Time I said a few words about this absolutely superb game which I have been addicted to playing for the past 4 months since buying it in May 2010. First off, I am fairly new to PSP and also probably a bit older than most users of this superb console! I have also not been interested in any sort of fighting/combat games in the past.

This game however, although MUCH more than a combat game, has totally blown me away. Excellent graphics and gameplay, masses of depth for those that want more out of the game, and excellent longevity. I have just completed the game as far as I can ;-),having built one of my characters up ( Squall ) over the past couple of months. The difficuly progression is excellent and progresses well through the game until the very end level "Inward Chaos" which I am finding impossible at the moment. So after 4 months I have stuck a different game into the PSP. However after a couple of days I am having withdrawal symptoms and am considering playing through the game again with one of the many other characters and I have not yet even used the "Dual Colesseum""Arcade"or "Quick battle" modes. Massive Game !

Simply, one of the best games I have ever played. Brilliant.

Would also thoroughly recommend the Bradygames game guide which is a quality publication and adds so much to the game experience.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
Final fantasy might not seem like obvious material for a fighting game but this still doesn't stop this game from being one of the best on the system. With great graphics, brilliant sweeping final fantasy scores and a story - that although lacking - does make sense and gives a valid reason for why your there. As a side note I would recommend this to anyone who has played a final fantasy games as it makes a lot of references especially to the old ff games.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2009
Dissidia is unique and quite unlike any other final fantasy game before it (including Ehrgeiz) simply because it is not just an RPG and it is not just a fighting game. The game follows the heroes from Final Fantasy 1 to 10 and the villains as they battle on the sides of Chaos (evil) and Cosmos (good). Chaos is winning and all that remain are the ten heroes including Cloud (FF7), Tidus (FF10), Squall (FF7) and others who are battling desperately against evil and its minions (Ultimicia, FF8, Jecht FF10) etc in hope of retrieving crystals. Whilst the plot is relative to the character you play, there are a number of scenes which further the plot along.

The main game sees you take on the role of the ten heroes, battling your way through five stages which are a bit like a chess board and give you the option of which route to take and who to fight. The buttons map either a bravery attack (which is a weak attack, but damages your opponents bravery making them more easy to damage) and standard attacks. Using direction and circle you can also map other abilities such as magic (fire, ice etc) and other special attacks. It is not like a standard fighting game as arenas are huge and open grounds and attacks can be launched from pretty much anywhere. Special attacks such as EX are especially sweet to look at. Depending on who you play as will depend on the final boss at the end of the five rounds, but there are plenty of enemies to fight. As you fight you gain experience which results in more life, more attacks and more special abilities. There are also weapons, armour and accessories which can be bought or found and will give the user benefits ranging from increased health/defence to extra experience.

Thankfully, there are a number of other modes to choose from including a versus mode where you can fight against a human opponent, a straight arcade sort of mode where you just simply fight your way through a number of opponents and other modes. There is also shop where you can buy characters, costumes and other items. Generally, the biggest problem is loading between fights, it takes a while and tries to cover this up by showing you your opponenets equipment, but really, it's just trying to make it seem faster than it is and the story can be a bit wishy washy for the characters.

Generally, this is a great game, with a lot of depth to it, but I think those who are after the typical turn based RPG fun that they've come to expect with the series should look elsewhere.
33 comments5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
With Dissidia, Square Enix have taken the Final Fantasy series away from its RPG roots to focus purely on fighting. Anxious Final Fantasy fans may fear this was a mistake but rest assured this is another jewel in Square Enix's prestigious crown.

Rival gods, Cosmos and Chaos, try to end their long-standing war by gathering warriors from across the ages to fight an epic battle. The warriors in question are characters from across the Final Fantasy series, including Cecil, Terra, Cloud and Squall on the side of Cosmos and Golbez, Sephiroth, Kuja and Jecht fighting for Chaos. In this war it is evil that prevails with Chaos gaining the upper hand and destroying the balance of the world. The weakened Cosmos is left to call upon ten surviving warriors to help her try and defeat Chaos once and for all.

The battle system in Dissidia is based on HP (hit points) and Bravery (character's strength). The object is to reduce your opponent's HP to 0 to defeat them. The value of a character's Bravery determines how damaging their attacks will be, for example if your Bravery level is 500 your opponent's HP reduces by 500 with a successful strike. Each character begins with a small amount of Bravery and need to augment this to gain the upper hand over their opponent. The fastest way to victory is to steal your rival's Bravery (Bravery attack) to enhance your own before immediately reducing their HP (HP attack). Your characters also rely on their EX Gauge which slowly builds during battle and once full allows them to enter EX Mode and launch devastating attacks that increase the chance of, if not guarantee, victory. As well as engaging your opponent you can interact with your surroundings by scaling buildings and mountainsides, racing along narrow ledges and railings, avoiding traps that sap your Bravery level and slamming your foes against walls. As you progress you will encounter the added headache of your surroundings changing mid-battle and forcing you to rethink your strategy.

Of the four battle modes in Dissidia it is Story Mode that is the most memorable. Beginning with a breathtaking intro showing the warriors of Cosmos and Chaos facing off against each other, Story Mode quickly enters the Prologue where you play the Warrior of Light. You are faced with a makeshift board similar to chess where your character must be moved from one end to the other, obtaining items and fighting battles against rival pieces before destroying your target - Stigma of Chaos - to progress to the next level. After the Prologue you can choose between ten characters fighting for Cosmos who set out on individual paths to obtain one of ten crystals that will help defeat Chaos and restore balance to the world. These scenarios are called Destiny Odyssey and vary in difficulty as you guide each character through five levels before facing a tough boss battle at the end. Stunning cut scenes divide the levels as your characters face their fears and question their worth during their individual pursuits. After Destiny Odyssey the characters' separate stories weave together and play out in the second half called Shade Impulse as they step up their war against Chaos. To enhance your characters you will be able to equip stronger weapons, armour, accessories to boost stats, summon stones (for celestial aid in battle), abilities and learn new skills as you progress.

Dissidia also offers Arcade mode where your character faces five fights in a row. For those who want to get straight into the action this is the best option, ensuring you don't have to worry about weapons, armour and abilities. Although you have access to twenty characters in Arcade mode you do not gain any experience or improve your warriors in any way. Quick Battle allows you to customise your own battles choosing everything from the venue to the strength of your opponent. Only 10 characters are available when you first play with more to unlock as you gain experience. Finally, Communications Mode allows you to connect to other PSP users to engage in your own personal duels.

Aside from the four battle modes, Dissidia offers further options that are well worth exploring. The PP Catalog allows you to spend PP gathered in battle to unlock Chaos characters for use in Quick Battle, access new costumes, voice data, cut scenes and other bonuses. Mognet gives you access to a calendar where your character's stats can improve dramatically dependent on what day of the week you are playing Dissidia! There is also the Museum option, which allows you to view character info, cut scenes, battle records and even replay your proudest feats on the battlefield.

If there is one drawback to Dissidia it is the endless array of Tutorials, which although helpful, appear frequently and mean you have a lot of information to take in. The battles themselves are tricky to begin with and there will be occasions when you wonder if you will ever grasp them. The best advice, as always, is to be patient and keep playing. After a while you will find things starting to make sense and when that happens Dissidia becomes an absolute joy to play. Story Mode can be difficult at times but if you find you're struggling then simply play as the same character in Quick Battle and build up experience to make yourself stronger.

Dissidia makes excellent use of the PSP's capabilities, delivering a visual treat of stunning graphics and fantastic cut scenes. With a wealth of modes to play and bonuses to unlock this will last you for months.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
Intro:I've always been a fan of Final Fantasy and its no surprise that I was excited about this game when I first watched the youtube videos of the japanese version of the game, When it was released I didn't hesitate in getting a copy. I'm writing a review now before duodecim (dissidia 2) is released partly because I think it will help people decide whether or not to buy this game or people who like the look of duodecim but wan't to start from the beginning and get the heads up on whether the first game is good or not.

Story:Simply put, the story is about a battle between two Gods called Cosmos and Chaos who enlist the help of final fantasy heroes and villains. The Heroes fight for Cosmos and the Villains fight for Chaos. The story itself is decent with each hero having their own story called 'Destiny Odyssey' in which I'm sure fans realise kind of echoes the characters story in their original game. Then the next section of the story 'Shade Impulse' has all the heroes join together to defeat Chaos. After that there's 'Inward Chaos' but that's not part of the story but more for a challenge. Unfortunately the Villains don't have a story mode and whilst the overall story in my opinion isn't as epic as the games in the main series, it lays the groundwork for the story to expand on in duodecim. In particular how all the characters came to be where they are now. Think of it like a film trilogy that starts midway through like Star Wars.

Graphics:Couldn't be better. Typical of final fantasy is the epic opening and ending movie with graphics that push the psp system to its limits. Enough said. On a sidenote, the in game cutscenes made me think of Kingdom Hearts.

Gameplay:Solid. Battles take place in a 3D environment, with the locations being that of a stage from each FF game 1-10 and two unique stages. You battle it out 1 on 1, attacks are divided into Bravery and HP attacks. HP attacks decrease enemy HP (obviously) and Bravery attacks are used to increase the characters Bravery which effectively in turn decreases or steals the enemy's Bravery. Bravery is how much your HP attack will decrease the enemy HP. Once a HP attack is used on the enemy, the characters Bravery empties and gradually resets to the original set amount that character starts with. More Bravery means more powerful HP attacks. Defeat the enemy by reducing their HP to 0, simple. Knowing when to attack and when to block or dodge is important, It's not so much what attack you use but when you use it that matters. What is typical of FF is the amount of customisation involved and this game doesn't dissappoint. You can equip characters with weapons, armour, accessories, summons, and also attacks and abilities used in battle. This gives you full control over your character and how you use and equip them to suit your fight style. The optional tutorials or 'manuals' are easy enough to understand. Luckily they are optional because it will take you awhile to read through all the pages but it's good to know if you get stuck understanding something or if you wan't to figure everything out on your own then you can always refer back to it if need be.

Music/Sound:Great. Nostalgic music that's from the original games in the main series, some remixed, some exactly as they were. Slightly dissappointing some tracks were not used (eg.FF7 battle theme) but nonetheless fantastic. Voice actors are good, some better than others but otherwise solid. The Dissidia Theme (The one played during the opening movie) is just phenomenal and it gets even better in duodecim. (I've watched the trailers for it)

Replayability:Lots. Ad-Hoc multiplayer and the achievements in the game lengthens time spent playing especially for completionists.Good luck with getting all the Achievements!

Final Verdict:4 out of 5. A few bits here and there that are missing that extra something special but that's probably just me being needy. A great game that's not just for fans of the series. Newcomers to FF might want to checkout the games in the main series in order to understand some of the characters backstory because they might not realise the significance of otherwise minor things like the crystals, battle moves, tutorial characters, quotes/sayings, Garland and WoL attacking each other first in opening movie, etc. This game is definitely worth checking out, fan or no-fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
I'll be honest. I bought the game because I like Sephiroth. Turns out he's quite an annoying character to play with.
I was a little disappointed by the story mode in the game - the box makes it sound like you've got the choice of playing as the good guys or the bad guys, but really, you don't. In Story Mode, you're the goodies.
That's not to say I didn't like it, of course. It was fun learning all the characters' different moves, then picking one to level up in the additional levels on Story Mode. And if that's too easy, there is a super-horrible-difficult level (Inward Chaos) which I found terribly frustrating and will not play again, even though I haven't cleared it. It's too damn hard!
The free choice modes let you play as any character you like - good or bad - assuming you've unlocked them. I prefer playing in these modes since it's easy to dip in and out without worrying about saving. And there's a "multiplayer" option which lets you battle with nearby friends (and saves their data for to play against each other offline).
While a lot of the wording of my review might sound a bit negative, I really do like this game. I like the wide choice of characters. I like the choice of modes and I like spending an awful lot of my spare time playing it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.