Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars113
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2015
This 2011 sci-fi adventure is set around 7 years after the third Spy Kids movie. Marissa Wilson [Jessica Alba] is leading a double life as an OSS agent, but doesn’t get alone with her two step children, prankster Rebecca [Rowan Blanchard] and geeky Cecil [Mason Cook]. When villain Tick Tock uses the Armageddon device to slow time, Marissa is recalled from retirement before he can destroy the world but as usual, it’s left to the kids to save the day.
The single disc features ‘aroma-scope’ a scratch and sniff card to give an extra dimension to the film, but it doesn’t work particularly well and the on screen symbols are irritating and can only be used once [lose a *]. Features are play, scene selection, set up [English sdh on/off, the 5.1 audio is default] and special features [interviews, various how it was done documentaries, deleted scenes and gadgets]. There’s no included game as with the other spy kids films.
Juni Cortez (Daryl Sabara) and sister Carmen (Alexa Vega) make appearances but are very much in secondary roles as they have both grown up. The acting is good, the kids great as usual and the colours bold and with plenty of gadgets and effects, this is bound to entertain but…..The other films appealed to all ages, the writing on this is inferior and relies heavily on what used to be called ‘toilet humour’ relying on ‘puke’ bombs, ‘butt’ bombs from the robot dog and a lot of various ‘smell’ orientated gags, also the early ‘Home Alone’ style pranks come across as malicious rather than funny. Children may like it, but some parents won’t [lose a *]. All in all a disappointment but younger children will probably rate it *****.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2012
Bought this film having seen all the other spy kids films, and it did not let us down.
Great kids film lots of laughs silly pranks my son has watched it 3 times already
It you like all the other spy kids films then don't miss this it is great shame juni and his sister had to grow up, but the 2 new spy kids fit in nicely. Hope you enjoy the film as much as us
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 August 2012
The Spy Kids are back for a fourth installment, as a new generation are set to take over the baton. Expecting OSS secret agent Marissa Wilson (jessica Alba) completes her final case, as she retires after catching super villain Tik Tok (Jeremy Piven). And begin's to lead a normal life with her unasumming husband Wilbur (Joel McHale ), stepchildren Rebecca (Rowan Blanchard )& Cecil (Mason Cook). But a year later there is a new villain on the loose, the Time Keeper, who is speeding up time using an armageddon device to punish humanity for wasting time. So OSS director Danger D'Amo (Piven) recall's Marissa to active duty, to hunt down Tik Tok once again & this new villian the Time Keeper. But her step children are soon in the firing line, as she unknowingly gives them the only device that can stop the bad guys.

SK's 4 starts quite promisingly, but the story doesn't get much more interesting as it goes on, and you can see where it is heading before it gets there. It doesn't offer up anything as new or imaginative, although i did like the time pausing device used by Tik Tok early on, that was cool, but sadly it wasn't built upon with equally good ideas. For it's attempts at humor it did have to resort to basic toilet humor with vomit, poop & fart gags, although Ricky Gervais's voice over of robotic dog Argonaut, was quite funny in places but that wore off eventually. The CGI action moments were a bit over the top, that some kids may find it hard to swallow.

The adult actors weren't that great with the odd exception. Jessica Alba looks pretty, but isn't the best actress lets face it. Jeremy Piven whose carer has been on a high recently is surprisingly cast, and does a decent job with a tour de force of roles, probably brought in through the reputation of director Rodriguez. Joel McHale was unconvincing. The kid's themselves weren't very interesting, they were rather dull, bland & didn't have enough about them to provoke excitement to want to watch them, unlike Carmen Cortez (Alexa Vega) & Juni Cortez (Daryl Sabara) in the previous trilogy. Infact the Cortez's were brought back into this one, as a goodbye gesture, as they pass on the Sky Kids baton to a new generation, but sadly they couldn't even liven up the proceedings.

In conclusion, Spy Kids 4 has some fun to be had with a few new ideas & content to keep it's target audience happy. But it's obviously a step down in quality, in most departments from the previous installments. Worth a watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
Really find all of the Spy Kids films truly annoying, in fact they are some of my least liked films. However, my kids love them. This latest installation is in proper 3D and even has a scratch and sniff card to make it 4D. As the film was filmed in 3D, it looks 'great', (not like some of the 3D films which were made into 3D several years later and therefore were not filmed with 3D in mind!)

If you have kids and 3D and fancy 90 minutes peace and quite then money well spent, otherwise avoid.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Having purchased a 3D TV I thought I'd try Spy Kids 4: All the time in the world, for the 3D experience. Its not a bad film at all, quite watchable. The 3D effects were very good with the occasional 'pop out' of screen moments. Considering the purchase price of around £6.50 it was well worth it. The story has been reviewed by others and I can't add anything. I also think that most children will like it. At the price you can't be robbed!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Its watchable but nothing to rave about.
Plot rather weak but no one gave up and we watched it till the end.
if you're stuck for a family film thats not too serious and you just need to relax and sit down together,
then this is ok.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
My kids love all the spykid films and this one is very good good for an adult to watch too.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
Since I don't have any 3D equipment (yet), I was wondering if the BD would be playable on my 2D BD Player. I decided to order because it was very cheap and no separate 2D version is available. Sadly, there was no info if a 2D version will be included (normally it is).

Result: There is a 2D Version which plays in all BD players (B)! The info is only on the back of the cover. Menu and extras are 2D, too.

For the movie: great as always. "My Mom can't be a spy - she's not cool enough". Funny :-)

I only had prefered, if the spy parents this time were Alexa & Daryl. That would make more sense.

EDIT: Now I've watched it in 3D (not 4D - I'm consequently ignoring that dumb cards) and I'm major disappointed. I expected a 3D quality like Spy Kids 3D (this movie is a reference for 3D Effects!) but it was very poor 3D. Maximum one single popout. :-(
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
Spy Kids 4 is a great film - for kids and probably for the whole family! It's full of adventure, secrets, excitement, fun, laughter, cool inventions, amazing kids and rediculous baddies! Love the ending, it's totally satisfactory and fun. :-) Actors are brill, it all looks so real and you get into the plot so easily. Lost in anotehr world of TIME......! ;-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
as an ex spy retires to have a baby and get to know her stepchildren tey all end up involved in catching a criminal who is stopping time so he can go back in time to be with his father,a great dvd for young kids,some adults will find it funny too
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.