Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars12
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2014
When a science fiction novel opens by discussing the inherent beauty of the universe, you know you are in for a good solid read. When a Star Wars novel opens in such a fashion, the reader knows the journey into the expanded universe they have begun is one they will never forget. SPLINTER OF THE MIND’S EYE is like this. The title alone is intriguing and compelling but when you discover it is set just after the cataclysmic events of the legendary Battle of Yavin, and given that it also features a young and naïve Luke Skywalker (still head over heels in love with Princess Leia) and of course Darth Vader, well you can’t go wrong. Allan Dean Foster has written an early but classic work of Star Wars literature.

On the way to a secret confab with the Circarpousians - to convince them to join the Rebel Alliance - Luke and Leia are forced to land on a neighbouring planet, which as a short amount of reading time reveals, is being secretly mined by the Empire. At this stage of the book the reader does not know what is being mined but it really is beside the point. The empire is there, and that can only mean one thing. Big Bad Darth.

The writing of tis novel really is outstanding. The pacing is excellent and even early on, the reader can feel the suspense begin to build and of course long term fans of the saga (which is about two thirds of the world's population) cant wait for Vader to grace our kindle screens with his presence. Characterisation is perfect. Reading is book really is like having a bonus episode of the saga to enjoy. Threepio and R2 have a strong presence in the book, even early on, and the first appearance of storm troopers are bound to raise the hairs on the back of your neck. That really should be a money back guarantee.

At this early stage of proceedings, i give this book four stars. As i approach the book's finale, i should be in a position to update this review but don't expect the overall rating to move away from excellent.

BFN Greggorio!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
After the success of Star Wars in 1977, Alan Dean Foster was commissioned to write a sequel and whilst we ultimately saw the very different 'The Empire Strikes Back' on screen, this tale provides a fascinating insight into the early years of Star Wars.

This book does not feature the super weapons or space battles of the films and many of the current 'expanded universe' books, but does give us a gripping adventure staring Luke, Leia and Vader.

Unlike many of the modern books, the author gets the Star Wars feel bang on. The locations and "adventure" elements slip easily into the galaxy we know and principle & supporting characters are written very well. Action is non-stop from start to finish and for serious fans, it's fascinating to see elements and signposts from the book which did carry forward into the later films.

I first read Splinter when released (1978?) and still come back to it every few years.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
I am so glad this didn't become the second Star Wars movie! Set between Episode IV and episode V this is the story of Luke and Leia (who don't know that they're brother and sister) on a diplomatic mission to recruit some more rebels. On their way they crash land on a swamp planet and discover it's full of Imperials.

A week storyline with a "crazy old women" taking the place of Obi-Wan as Luke's teacher of the Force, a slightly week and pathetic Imperial officer for a villain and two big furry aliens taking the place of Han and Chewbacca, this story doesn't really have anywhere to go.

I've given it three stars because as it's by nowhere the greatest Star Wars book ever written, it's by no means the worst

I don't want to ruin the ending, but the final battle at the end is a bit of a laugh!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2004
There are a few SW fans, probably canonists, that hate this book. I don't see why. Although it doesnt fit with the chronology of the Expanded Universe, Alan Dean Foster has done a nice job of this. The story is a fairly gripping one, a race against time to get to a Force powerful crystal, before evil Vader does. A cool ending, and with a fair bit of humor and good characterisation, ensures that Splinter will always be fondly remembered to me as the greatest SW book that didnt fit in right :p
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
What I enjoyed most about Splinter Of The Minds Eye was the whole idea of it. This whole new alternative storyline. This story was possibly going to be a closing to Lucas' original Star Wars film should it have flopped at the box office. This was to be the low budget sequel in place of Empire. & its shows. Although I cannot fault the writing and storytelling, rumours are that Lucas even edited this story furthermore to be even more 'low budget' than what it was. & it is in this I find the story somewhat lacking. It could have been a truly great epic but that was not its intention. As the header reads, its good reading for the fan-boy, a new chapter to the fantastic world Lucas has created. In an alternative universe somewhere this book was the sequel made. & it is that excitement itself what carried this fan and reader through to the end of the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
If you're a REAL fan of the originals, and have read the original novelisations, you'll love this. It's a great story with all the atmosphere of STAR WARS that you remember as a kid (although this book isn't aimed at children - it's a proper novel) where your imagination is dying for more adventures of Luke Skywalker beyond the films.
Set after STAR WARS and before Empire, it explains how Luke managed to develop his knowledge and ability in the Force enough that he could call his lightsaber to him in the beginning of Empire when all we had seen was his short training with Ben Kenobi in the Falcon. There's more to it than this though..
I'd recommend this along with the three original STAR WARS novelisations that came out with the films, and also the Han Solo Adventures.The Han Solo Adventures (A Del Rey book)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
I read this book when it first came out a long time ago (but not in a galaxy far,far away) and bought it again just to refresh my memory. It has some faults but it's okay.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2010
I believe Splinter of the Mind's Eye was written before The Empire Strikes Back came out. This would make perfect sense because it's a direct follow on from A New Hope. It's not a brilliant story by any means, but it's quite a likeable bit of throwaway entertainment. It follows Luke and Leia and what happens to them, including an encounter with Darth Vader. Largely forgettable, but interesting to see what direction the Star Wars story could have headed in.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Before there was an "Episode IV" subtitle to Star Wars; before the Empire Strikes back, this book was the only continuation of the franchise apart from the comic book. As such it sits somewhat uneasily with concepts that followed but is none the less a good tale. If it was designed as a cheap filmable sequel it succeeds admirably. Its a lot smaller in scale than the movies either side of it but its insular feel adds to the drama. Its got a 70s feel to it that the later spin off books lack and here thats a good thing.

The story centres around the search for a crystal that channels the Force and those who pursue it - including Darth Vader. The cover gives away that Luke and Vader meet in the story and whilst it possibly contradicts what was to follow its not too hard to slot into a timeline.

As its available cheaply its recommended. Its certainly better than many later spin offs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Present. Well received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse