Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars36
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2003
I recently watched the BBC2 Everyman documentary 'Talking to the Dead'. Gordon Smith stood out head and shoulders above the other mediums in this programme as being totally honest and believable. His reading was spot-on and so I picked up his book when I saw it on sale. I've never read anything on spiritualism before but Gordon had sparked my interest and I was keen to hear what he had to say. I found his book an easy and enjoyable read and it shattered all my pre-conceptions about mediums and how they work. The passion Gordon has for helping others come to terms with the passing on of loved ones shines through and the details of his readings are gripping. Written with humour and compassion this is a fascinating reveal into the working life of a genuine, UK medium.
0Comment53 of 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2005
I was given this book as a present as it is not my typical read. Gordon Smith has an earthy sense of humour and his honesty shines through the pages - like the elderly dying female cancer patient who made a grab for the male doctor's privates just to cheer up her sad visitors.
Gordon Smith travels the world helping people in grief at the loss of loved ones and does it for free. There is something about him that rings true in this world of innumerable new-age pedlars of sprituality.
If you have lost someone in your family and are not sure if there is an "up there" - give Gordon a chance to reassure you.
0Comment22 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2003
Entertaining, fascinating and informative. Gordon Smith shares the joy his work gives others and his own love of mediumship in his book. I read from start to finish in one sitting!
0Comment24 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2006
An excellent book. Once I started reading, I just didn't want to put it down, wondering what fascinating, sad or humourous look into his world I'd be introduced to next.
Gives far more of an insight into the long path he's travelled than similar books from other authors.
Also it's quite refreshingly interesting how many of the stories of how he's helped people are told by the people themselves, rather than him, giving a much more personal touch.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2003
Gordon Smith's autobiography is a gripping read. Funny and incredibly modest about his gift, Gordon is an incredible medium. The book is packed with amazing case studies of the hundreds of incredibly accurate readings Gordon has given to people all over the world. Spirit Messenger is entertaining,educational and highly moving. Gordon answers all the most frequently asked questions about his life and works. This is essential reading for anyone interested in understanding more about mediumship and how it works. Gordon, the star of a recent Everyman documentary, is without doubt one of the UK's top mediums. A psychic barber with a difference!
0Comment27 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2003
Gordon Smith's book makes compelling reading: his account of contact with the spirit world is extraordinary, and an incredible insight into the life of a medium. Gordon is clearly a down-to-earth bloke with an amazing gift and he tells his story with great modesty. He leaves it to some of his clients to describe the profound impact that his messages from the other side have had on their lives.
At times this book has you in stiches, as Gordon describes some of the follies and foibles of trainee mediums and psychics. His humour has great warmth, and he is never cruel, but it is clear that Gordon dislikes the wooliness that some mediums can slip into.
His own readings sound razor-sharp and extremely accurate, and the account of his work with scientists researching mediumistic abilities is fascinating. I would highly reccommend this book to anyone interested in the afterlife.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2004
what can i say i picked up this book and read it within three days, i do not read books normally. once i started the content was such that i did not want to put it down, i laughed i felt tearful i wished i could do such things and give such joy to people whom have only grief in their lives or crave the answers that Gordon appears to be able to give.
i am awaiting the next book and hope it is as good.
0Comment15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
An honest concise look into the spirit world, interesting and informative gordon tells of his experiences in an entertaining and informative way.great book.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2006
A really fascinating insight to gordons development as a medium,I have to say in a few places i laughed out loud at some really comical moments described so well in the book.I thoroughly enjoyed it and went on to read his other novel the unbelievable truth.A good read,honestly written.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2003
What ever your religion or philosophy on life....the one thing that comes across in this book is humility and kindness. Keep life simple...learn and enjoy life and learn to laugh at ourselves.
These are gifts given to us that help us to cope with the journey ahead.
A good down to earth book by a Glaswegian lad with his feet firmly on the ground !
A++++
0Comment11 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse