The Spice Merchant's Wife and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 3.56

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Spice Merchant's Wife on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Spice Merchant's Wife [Paperback]

Charlotte Betts
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30 customer reviews)
RRP: 13.99
Price: 10.89 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 3.10 (22%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 1 Sept.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 4.49  
Paperback 5.59  
Paperback, 1 Aug 2013 10.89  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook, Unabridged --  
Audio Download, Unabridged 14.87 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial

Book Description

1 Aug 2013

From the author of ebook bestseller The Apothecary's Daughter

1666. Newly married to a wealthy spice merchant, Kate Finche believes all her dreams of a happy family life are just around the corner until the Great Fire rages through London. She watches in horror as their livelihood goes up in flames, filling the air with the heady scents of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.

As the city is devastated, Kate's husband, Robert is forced to seek employment to ensure their survival, but when he is found drowned, Kate refuses to believe that he has taken his own life. Widowed and penniless, she seeks refuge in The House of Perfume, the home of blind perfumer Gabriel Harte, who awakens Kate's senses to a whole new world. But as she flees from this forbidden love, her husband's murderer comes looking for her . . .

The Spice Merchant's Wife is a stunning novel, bursting with the colour and flavour of Restoration London -- perfect for readers of Philippa Gregory, Joanne Harris and Patrick Suskind's Perfume.


Frequently Bought Together

The Spice Merchant's Wife + The Painter's Apprentice + The Apothecary's Daughter
Price For All Three: 22.77

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Piatkus (1 Aug 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0749959274
  • ISBN-13: 978-0749959272
  • Product Dimensions: 23.2 x 15.4 x 3.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 789,782 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Charlotte Betts began her working life as a fashion designer in London. A career followed in interior design, property management and lettings.

Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children had grown up. The Apothecary's Daughter is her debut novel and won the YouWriteOn Book of the Year in 2010, the Romantic Novelists' Association Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers in 2011 and the RoNA's Historical Category award for 2013. The sequel, The Painter's Apprentice was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2012. The Spice Merchant's Wife was published in 2013 and won the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2013.



Product Description

Review

Perfectly hits the spot . . . Charlotte Betts has clearly established a niche for herself, combining history with a dash of adventure (Newbury Weekly News) --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Book Description

The stunning third novel from award-winning historical fiction author, Charlotte Betts, opening in 1666 and continuing for the year or two after the Great Fire, whilst the devastated city is being rebuilt.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book in all senses. 11 Nov 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
It was not only beautifully written and researched, but the story and characters were addictive. The setting became alive in my mind through her beautiful descriptions, that had the right amount of details to make you feel the period without drowning you in information on the period. The characters were so real that I felt every single emotion the heroine felt, and even shed tears at some point. The way the author pictured the atmosphere and feelings of the time made the reader empathise with all the victims of the fire in London and it has been haunting me ever since. I was gripped by the hardships the heroine lived through and the excitement in the story. And then of course, there was the heartbreaking and uplifting love story that kept my heartbeat racing until the end.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continued excellence 17 Aug 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
London during and after the Great Fire is the setting for this third novel by Charlotte Betts, and to my mind her best to date. We are taken into the home of the wealthy spice merchant's wife's family, with their fine furnishings, lustrous materials and servants. But when the Great Fire destroys not only the spice merchant's home but his warehouse, and the family watches their wealth go up in smoke, like so many thousands of Londoners they are, at a stroke, destitute. The story that follows - for the Great Fire is but the beginning - is totally believable and extremely well written, with descriptions of everything from everyday life in Restoration kitchens and boudoirs, to the underhand and extremely dangerous pursuits of some of the speculative builders of the time. Add murder to the story, and you have suspense. Of perfume, perhaps the strongest element of this story, I shall say not one word. I'd not want to spoil it for you. I do hope that Charlotte Betts remains in Restoration England for her next novel, perhaps even to continue the story of the spice merchant's wife. One of the best books I have read this year, without a shadow of a doubt. I use the word "shadow" advisedly. Read the book and you will find out why.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spice Merchants Wife by Charlotte Betts 23 Dec 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed this book by Charlotte Betts. It is the fourth of hers that I have read now. Each one very enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone who likes stories with historical backgrounds.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 1 Oct 2013
By Hana
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Loved this, made me cry in parts but the story line is very good. Loveable characters and loathsome characters, fantastic read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down... 16 Sep 2013
By Hellvis
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I bought The Spice Merchant's Wife after reading The Apothecary's Daughter (also by Charlotte Betts). The research put into these books is phenomenal and really brings the streets of bygone London to life. Throughout the duration of this book, I laughed and cried, but most of all I fell in love with both Mistress Finche and Mr Harte.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By DiddiA
Format:Paperback
I thoroughly enjoyed The Spice Merchant's Wife! Charlotte Betts has a way with words that enables me to get thoroughly lost in the story line and the lives of the characters therein. It's the sort of book that I can't put down, and despite wanting to get to the end to see what happens, I was undoubtedly sad to reach the end and not have another chapter to look forward to. I guess I shall have to find another of Betts' books to occupy these wintery evenings now!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, entertaining read 26 Feb 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A book that once started cannot be put down. Felt total empathy with the characters and their plight. Beautifully written and researched. Highly recommend this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read 13 Feb 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Well written and captivating. I have since gone on to read her other books and found them equally well written.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars The spice merchant's wife
This story hinges around the Great Fire of London in 1666. The devastation over several days wrecks the family life and prospects of a young wife, Mistress Kate Finche. Read more
Published 3 months ago by Clare O'Beara
4.0 out of 5 stars good read
loved this book not at all as I expected ..Definitely, gave you a small insight as to what happened before , during and after the Great Fire. would recommend this to anyone.
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Period Drama
Good historical book Well researched and flows well A great recount of the great fire of London in 1666 Will read more fromEATA author
Published 3 months ago by peter hodgson
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spice Merchant's Wife Review
I am in a book club and this was one of our choices. I got into it straightaway, it was a real page turner. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Maxine Hickey
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read
Have enjoyed every one of Chalotte Betts but this was my favourite. Couldn t put it down found it very interesting about the history as well as the romance.
Published 4 months ago by Karen Summers
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read
Charlotte Betts is able to conjure up the historical scenes and weave an interesting tale at the same time. Not a heavy weight book but thoroughly enjoyable.
Published 4 months ago by Judith Bryan
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed It
The ending was a bit predictable but nevertheless I enjoyed the insight into the kind of troubles people faced after The Great Fire. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Margaret wilson
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best
A story that holds your interest from start to finish. It rouses thoughts and feelings you had probably forgotten years ago.
Published 4 months ago by Brian E. Pond
4.0 out of 5 stars good read like all her books
Nothing to dislike,story take you into thir lives, read all her stories and can't wait foe the next, roll on.
Published 5 months ago by Kay Robertson
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and beautifully described
We often read accounts of the Great Fire of London with heroic details of rescue, Charles II and his brother James helping and Samuel Pepys writing about it. Read more
Published 5 months ago by Alison Morton
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback