Buy used:
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by justabimat
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Listened to a few times. In good condition. Some shelf wear to case.UK dispatch same working day when possible 10
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Spanish Violin Works
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Spanish Violin Works

1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
1 new from £30.00 5 used from £9.96 1 collectible from £18.00

Product details

  • Performer: Itzhak Perlman, Samuel Sanders
  • Orchestra: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: Lawrence Foster, André Previn
  • Composer: Pablo Sarasate, Manuel de Falla, Enrique Granados, Ernesto Halffter
  • Audio CD (23 Oct. 1990)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Studio
  • ASIN: B000002S1V
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 181,352 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Carment Fantasy, Op.25
2. Suite populaire espagnole: El pano moruno
3. Suite populaire espagnole: II. Nana
4. Suite populaire espagnole: III. Cancion
5. Suite populaire espagnole: IV. Polo
6. Suite populaire espagnole: V. Asturiana
7. Suite populaire espagnole: VI. Jota
8. Spanish Dance
9. Danza de la gitana
10. Habanera, Op.21 No.2
11. Playera, Op.23
12. Spanish Dance, Op.26 No.8
13. Malaguena, Op.21 No.1
14. Caprice Basque, Op.24
15. Romanza andaluza, Op.22
16. Zapateado, Op.23
17. Malaguena, Op.165 No.3
18. Zigeunerweisen, Op.20

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By sinclair on 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase
Very good saller
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 7 reviews
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
Totally engaging!!!!!!!! 18 Feb. 2001
By A Customer - Published on
I first heard this recording on the way to work one morning. Nearing the parking lot of my building, and enraptured by the artistry and the pristine sound of the Carmen Fantasy, I parked the car and listened to the entire work, even though it had just begun, and I was late. I HAD to own it!!!!!!! People stared as I sat in the car and "conducted" along with it, listening to every nuance. So what???? This is without a doubt one of the best CD's on the market! By all means buy it!
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Brilliant Caprice Basque 11 Oct. 2001
By A Customer - Published on
Itzhak Perlman, a widley renowned virtuoso, does not always impress me. However, this recording certainly did. Although he tends to sometimes crash his bow down, there is a brilliance and a delicacy to his playing. The last movement of Carmen is clear and the intonation is good. The tempo of the third movement is too fast for my taste. The other work that I really loved was Caprice Basque. He has a certain disregard for the score (dynamic wise,) but the performance is wonderful. Sarasate was known for his intonation in the high registers, and Perlman's is great also. The part of this CD that meant the most to me, though, is that you can hear the passion with which he plays. It's difficult, even for the most musical of performers, to bring that through on a recording, but Perlman manages it - really well.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
WOW, excellent collection, excellent playing 1 July 2002
By Amazon Customer - Published on
I have been a Sarasate fan for quite some time. I just couldn't find a CD with more than one or two of his pieces. Then I found this CD. With the exception of "introductions and tantarelle" and "jota navarra" this CD has every sarasate piece for the violin you could want. Not only that, but the sound of this CD is superb, and coupled with the right sound system, can be a breathtaking pleasure to listen to. Perlman is the perfect choice for this music. His concertos are good, but not Heifetz good, but his short encore pieces like this are the best I've heard. (except for the Zigeunerwisen, Buy the Heifetz showpieces CD, it has the best Zigeunerwisen ever) When I heard Perlman play "dance of the goblins" by bazzini (buy the CD "Greatest violin encores") his left had pizz was not too great, but in this CD he hits every note perfectly, I love it.
Buy this collection now, you'll never find a better one, ever.
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
A stunning evocative and instantly recognisable audio treat 8 Mar. 1999
By Angela Bishop - Published on
Instantly recognisable, emotionaly intrusive, Perman transports you to the Iberian peninsual with playing of such an expressive nture that we almosrt crashed the car when we heard it for the first time. Unmissable
Itzhak Perlman's Fantasy on Carmen - Fantastic! 4 Aug. 2013
By Sweetone - Published on
Verified Purchase
I doubt that Mr. Perlman ever made a bad recording. This one is so well done and charming as well as it's almost a mystery
waiting to see what will happen next. I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves fine music as it will be played many
times and will be an asset to your musical library. This CD arrived packaged so well, and it was a used CD purchase that I
would not have known had I not been buying a used one. It had received lots of TLC. I'm glad to say I am the proud owner
of another Itzhak Perlman CD, thanks to Amazon for offering such a great variety of CD's.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category