Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2001
Then this is the book to go for. It is EXCELLENT!
Starting at basics such as colours, numbers, days of the week, you are then introduced to asking simple questions such as where, what, why, when etc. Every page offers a handful of what they call free vocab', free because they are so similar to English that you really don't have to revise them, for example: absoluto = absolute, excelente = excellent & so on, this gives you loads of new vocab without any effort at all. Every new word is given with the correct pronounciation eg; (4)cuatro =(kwah-troh)so all you have to do is add the Spanish accent, simple!. Basic verb patterns are included which really are easy to pick up & so very well explained.& to test your progress there are fun crosswords & quizzes along the way. Stickers are provided to attatch to items around your house to remind you of the Spanish words (such as;cup -taza), along with flash cards & a pocket pal which you can carry around with you in your pocket. The lay out is so clear, spacious & colourful making it all seem too simple. Ten minutes every day is suggested, but i find i can't put the thing down! & can't wait to move on to the next quiz!. The same time that I bought the book, I also started at a beginners Spanish class, & I can honestly say that I have learned loads & loads more from this book (studying alone) than i have at the classes each week. The other thing i would like to add is that this book is certainly suitable for absolutely anybody of any age. Go & buy it, you'll be glad you did.
0Comment| 155 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2000
On first appearance the book looks like it is for a child but the easy clear layout of the pages makes it appealing and helps the desire to learn. The book starts with basic where why and how and vocab and then goes on to teach you basic verbs. As you continue through the book you do not feel that you ploughing through a heavy text book but you feel that you are making progress. In addition you have stickers that can be displayed throughout your home and flash cards to help you revise. By the end of the book you can converse in Spanish. If only we had books like this when i was at school then perhaps i would not have to be learning spanish now. i will keep the book for when my two boys both 4 and 3 years old are ready to learn Spanish!
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2004
I started learning Spanish six years ago at the age of 12 and gave it up aged 14, not having learned very much. This book is great as it covers basically everything I learned in 2 years in the first few pages and having revised that I moved on to the rest of the book.
It's structured in bite-size pieces that mean if you don't have much time you can still do a bit everyday (10 minutes) and of course if you want to work on and do more you can.
HOWEVER, I am very aware that this book is written by someone trying to teach Spanish to Americans who are most likely to be using the book in MEXICO. Therefore, Mexican idioms may pop up, unidentifiable to the English speaker. But as the book maintains, as long as you speak clearly you will be understood.
Overall, I still think it is a great book which anyone who wants to learn Spanish from scratch will be able to use.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2004
This is a very good book which is well designed to teach you the basics of the Spanish language. It has excellent pronunciation guides with the words to allow you to see the correct usage of the words.
There are mini tests, flashcards and stickers to aid your learning. I am half way through the book and i know days of week, months of year, tell the time, count to thousands, some grammer, family tree and more..
Although this is a great learning tool you cannot learn solely from this book. Look at adding a good CD tool such as Michel Thomas (who is very good) or a proper language course. Regular contact with a native speaker is possibly the best way to learn (I think!).
Good Luck
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2005
Spanish in 10 minutes a day is a visually appealing and highly approachable introduction to learning Spanish (especially the slight variations of Mexican Spanish). Complete with sticky labels to put around the house, flash cards, crosswords and word searches as well as topic centred lessons, it builds up the vocabulary almost imperceptably and gives a real sensation of progress quite quickly. Warmly reccommended.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
This book was described as in good unmarked condition but the first 14 pages were marked in ink! As it is a text book this is not helpful. I contacted the seller who said they would try to find me another. As yet nothing has arrived. After the first 14 pages this text book looks good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking to learn Spanish.

The book is well structured for someone looking to get a grasp of basic Spanish before taking a trip abroad with lots of useful words and phrases.

In addition to the normal written exercises, the book comes with stickers to place around your house, and flash cards to cut out of the back which are both very useful additions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
aboslutely fantastic for learning a new language, the pronounciation help as welll as combining spanish and french when narrating is so unique and help ful, i love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
This is a fantastic book if you want to learn Spanish. It is very well written and is excellent for the beginner. I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Great book great course if you need to learn Spanish this is an excellent method
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.