Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars42
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
33
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: VinylChange
Price:£27.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2014
Quite simply the best solo album so far from Ace Frehley. I have been a Kiss fan since the late 70's and I am just taken aback by this release it is so strong. Where did this come from? I have waited a while to review this as sometimes you love an album for a couple of weeks then basically forget about it. Space Invader improves with every listen, it is a classic. This is the release of 2014, I would recommend Space Invader to anyone who has ever owned a Kiss album and anyone who enjoys classic american rock. It has been quite a year for Ace getting inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of fame and then Space Invader going top ten in the US charts. Great songs great packaging superb product, well done Ace.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Ace Frehley delivers another excellent solo album. From first listen this is going to be an album that most Ae fans will love. Ace's distinctive playing style shines through in his solos and his voice is in top form too, proving to his critics that he still has what it takes to produce a fine rock album. A sober Ace is an unstoppable Ace.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 August 2014
Lets be honest Ace's solo career has been all over the place since he left KISS, every solo album held up against the classic Kiss solo album from 1978.

So how does this one match up, well the '78 disc is still his best but this is easily the most consistent and enjoyable solo album since then,the good points from his previous disc ANOMALY have been carried forward with this one,its all the better for it.

All the Ace'isms that we've come to expect are there in spades,he's not a great singer,lyrics are goofy but some of his guitar playin' is superb.

Highlights - easy the title track and 'Past the Milky Way' are classic Ace while 'Inside the Vortex' might just be one of the best tracks he ever produced.

Others such as 'Gimme A Feelin' just struts along while 'I Wanna Hold You' and 'What Every Girl Wants' remind me of Ace circa the UNMASKED era.

Naturally we get an instrumental 'Starship' quality once again and of course a cover version,2 versions of 'The Joker' the extended version being the best,

Love the sound quality,sounds great,the packaging is excellent.although couldnt unfold the poster as it appears the folds are actually stuck together.

And who didnt have a smile at the inside cover with Ace's make up face on his t shirt,might have sold the rights,but you cant keep the man down. excellent release
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
I'd say this is easily Ace's best album since his Kiss solo effort. The songs are really great, not a filler! Ace's style (as a guitar player and singer) are still very distinctive, and I believe that on Space Invader, Ace delivers his best performance in decades. "Toys", "Past the Milky Way", "Inside the vortex" and "Reckless" are instant classics!
The cover of "Joker", while very well executed might seem a bit out of place-or is it simply because I've heard the original so much that I'm fed up with it? I could have done without it.

The closing track (on the regular version) is another one of Ace's trademark instrumentals, although there is no reference to "Fractured Mirror" in the title ("Starship"), this is clearly another eposide of the mirror's adventures, and one of the best to boot!

Great to have the Space Invader back.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
ace delivers another knockout album, after a couple of listens this gets right under the skin! not a bad song on here ace is playing awesome guitar on here and his vocals are strong too (not usually his strong point).only quibble is the 2 extra tracks on the deluxe digipack which is another slightly longer version of the joker and another version of reckless, a bit pointless as these are on the album! the free poster also was stuck together like so many other people who have bought this, but hey ho i dont care as this album is killer. the release of the year by far>>>>>>>>>>>.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
If Ace was a talented as he would have you believe, then this would be the most anticipated release of the year adding to a substantial quality back catalogue. Sadly it feels at times as if feels he spends too much effort expressing the enormous chip on his shoulder that Kiss were equally, if not more successful without him and trying to justify his "legend".

As it is, I don't think his "solo" Kiss album was as good as his song writing in Kiss up until that point suggested that he could be, but it was still undoubtedly very strong. Then we have a number of proper solo albums in the early 80's/90's that are on par with the quality of those other former Kiss members; Vinnie Vincent and Peter Criss....i.e drivel.

However sobriety has been kind to Ace and in 2008 he released the exceptional album "Anomaly". Good songs, great sound, excellent guitar playing and overall, finally something rendering on credible....I still play it frequently.

And so...5 years on and we have Space Invader...Ken Kelly (Destroyer artwork) packaged and all...
.
Space Invader is another fine, fine record on the whole. Ace is a great guitar player and has finally built upon the great sound of Anomaly with a harder edge that compliments his strengths and weaknesses and is undoubtedly Ace Frehley. Layered guitars and double tracked voice make a potent wall of sound and when he does hit on a great song, such as "Gimmie a Feelin" or "Past the Milky Way", then the legend is almost justified.

The Space (Ace) themes can at times wear a little thin, and whoever at his record label suggested the cover of The Joker should be fired. Ill advised to say the least and the low point of the album.

As a Kiss fan of 35 years, I have no desire to see Ace back in the band...Tommy and Eric at least respected the chance of being in Kiss; and if you don't mind I'm quite happy to have albums of the quality of Sonic Boom, Anomaly and Monster in my collection thank you very much!!

Space invader is more than a worthy addition.

Forget Ace's Kisstory. Give this album a try on it's own merits ... oh...and do play it loud!!

*** I should highlight that the released single version of "Gimmie a Feelin" is longer than the one on the album (and "explicit"). You would have thought they might have actually stuck it on the album (or at least on the deluxe version instead of an extended "The Joker).
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
this is great melodic rock and almost every song is very good. This is the type of cd which doesn't try to be anything but FUN. If you want fun rock where ace tells you he's a space invader and then he lays down other songs like chasing girls. Then this one is for you. This isn't deep rock , it's all about a guy enjoying himself making hard rock. And this does rock. In fact I played it at a music store and the metal heads there thought it was very cool. And they usually like thrash only. So that just goes to show that ace can deliver the goods, and he does with this one. Most songs are solid traditional hard rock and that's what you want from ace or kiss or the scorpions or whoever. I wish ufo would deliver that again. And I love ufo. Grab this one if you love traditional hard rock or metal and you will have a big smile on your face.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Space Invader is a fantastic offering from my personal favourite (ex)member of KISS. It delivers exactly what Frehley does best, which is to create hard rock music!

Of course, his guitar playing ability isn't stellar. However that doesn't stop the man from producing a back catalogue of exceptional work, this album simply adding to it.

This album is certainly the heaviest album Ace has put out in my opinion, which is certainly appreciated!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
Good & enjoyable album from Ace. A lot of good tunes with signature ace sound & style. 'The joker' is probably my least favorite track, so getting a second remix on this version doesn't really make sense for me, but overall album & package is quite good. The digipac format comes with gatefold cd & poster. It's nice.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Ace's is rockin'as he used to do it in the past. A very good album from the most beloved KISS guitar player. You will not be dissapointed!! The packaging of this record couldn't be better: double orange vinyl, gatefold cover, printed inner sleeves, lyrics and an extra cd. Highly recomended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.