Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2014
this book covers the disposal of many locomotives at various locations , with both text and photographs, an important work in railway history
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
This special edition covers the scrapping of BR's southern Region steam locomotives during the 1960's. This book has many pictures and comes with descriptions. The book has many pictures I have never scene before so it makes this book all the more interesting. The problem with this book is that you are left wanting more! This is worth having if you like Southern steam.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Once again this Series of books has excelled and I think this is the best collection of photo's on retired loco's I have seen.
I recently rode behind "Tangmere" and to see photo's of it in the scrap yard condition was fantastic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Enjoyable book showing how the engines were scrapped and the history behnind each engine . Once started thad to be read and finished. Good and clear photo's.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Like other books in the series, very difficult to put down once started.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Remember filming these engines on their way to the scrapyard. Very detailed text and photos. Having ridden on some of the locos shown, nice but sad to see their final scenes. Would recommend to Southern Region devotees although sad to see once proud engines reduced to scrap.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I have all of the supplementary extras of Southern Ways and found each one very well worth the money. May we have many more. The content of this one shows how radical the change to Diesel/Electrics was.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Dad loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Well researched and documented, Would be great to see similar books on the scrapping of London Midland Region, Western Region, Eastern Region and Scottish Region steam locomotives in such detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Mr Grayer manages to provide many pictures I have never seen before and these quarterly books are a real treasure to keep if you are interested in Railways, especially the Southern
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)