Sound of 2008

A Listmania! list by Gannon (Manchester, England)
 
The '59 Sound
1.  The '59 Sound by The Gaslight Anthem
The list author says:
  "A heartfelt romp through classic rock sensibilties. For fans of the Killers and Bruce Springsteen."
£5.99   Used & New from: £3.43
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (57 customer reviews) | 1 customer discussion

Songs in A&E
2.  Songs in A&E by Spiritualized
The list author says:
  "This is the sound os simple done well. Gets under the skin in a slow burn anthem kind of way. For fans of melancholic pop-rock."
£4.99   Used & New from: £2.25
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)

The Seldom Seen Kid
3.  The Seldom Seen Kid by elbow
The list author says:
  "This band are at the top of their game, creative, unwilling to compromise and entirely honest about their love for music. For fans of quality newspapers, sunsets and birdsong."
£3.00   Used & New from: £0.99
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (348 customer reviews) | 2 customer discussions

Babylon Rules
4.  Babylon Rules by Clockcleaner
The list author says:
  "An ear-opening gallop through industrial goth influenced noise-smithery. For fans of 80s matchbox, the Cramps and Bauhaus."
£10.39   Used & New from: £4.74
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

In The Future
5.  In The Future by Black Mountain
The list author says:
  "Part pysch.rock part prog.rock, this happy mélange will wear your speakers down in a entirely great way. For fans of Velvet Underground and Sabbath (and drugs)."
£12.32   Used & New from: £2.57
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)

Glasvegas
6.  Glasvegas by Glasvegas
The list author says:
  "It is impossible not to sing along to this album. Heartfelt, socially conscious, wall-of-sound loving odes to Phil Spector. For fans of camaraderie, Oasis (of all things!) and the Ronettes."
£5.28   Used & New from: £0.01
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (68 customer reviews) | 1 customer discussion

For Emma Forever Ago
7.  For Emma Forever Ago by Bon Iver
The list author says:
  "((Man + guitar) - girlfriend) + time to think all alone in the woods = the best catharsis ever.  Spectral alt.folk. For fans of Fleet Foxes and other acoustic delights."
£9.99   Used & New from: £3.28
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (126 customer reviews)

Red Of Tooth & Claw
8.  Red Of Tooth & Claw by Murder by Death
The list author says:
  "Country ravaged alt.rock at its finest. Nestles confortably with Bon Iver, and Fleet Foxes to concrete Americana as a strong 2008 theme."
Used & New from: £14.55
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

See buying options
Rest Now Weary Head You Will Get Well Soon
9.  Rest Now Weary Head You Will Get Well Soon by Get Well Soon
The list author says:
  "Like an awkwarder Conor Oberst, Konstantin takes to centre stage relunctantly, only to blow it apart with an Arcade Fire like riot of invention, with more electronica moments. Not to be missed."
£7.98   Used & New from: £2.68
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (44 customer reviews)

A Place to Bury Strangers
10.  A Place to Bury Strangers by Merle Haggard
The list author says:
  "Gigantic sonic assault of Bloody Valentine and Jesus & Mary Chain colliding, sieved through an actual heap of fuzzy distortion. For fans of the aforementioned."
£11.11   Used & New from: £5.99
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

The Devil You and Me
11.  The Devil You and Me by Notwist
The list author says:
  "Another example of simple done well. Very appealing amble through mute electronica and indie-pop musings. For fans of the Velvets again and possibly Sonic Youth, although possibly not."
£21.54   Used & New from: £3.90
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)

Conor Oberst
12.  Conor Oberst by Conor Oberst
The list author says:
  "A slowburn that may not seem comparable with his Bright Eyes work, but rates among his finest with sufficient repeats. For fans of indie singersongwriters, alt. country and Bright Eyes (clearly)"
£16.24   Used & New from: £0.09
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Modern Guilt
13.  Modern Guilt by Beck
The list author says:
  "Behemoth of an alt. pop record, template for what creative pop should song like, oh and it's catchy too. Go get. For fans of toe tapping, smiling and forays into electronica, and need I say it, Beck!"
£9.95   Used & New from: £1.87
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)

Fleet Foxes
14.  Fleet Foxes by Fleet Foxes
The list author says:
  "Like Bon Iver above, these fellows just love atmospheric acoustic and the odd acapella gamble, alt. folk meets Americana with swoonily good results."
£7.49   Used & New from: £0.99
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (207 customer reviews) | 2 customer discussions

B/E/a/T/B/O/X
15.  B/E/a/T/B/O/X by Glass Candy
The list author says:
  "Squelchy beats, filthy bass, and breathless-cum-(oo er)-glacial, semi-spoken lyrics, does an alt. disco classic make."
Used & New from: £6.99
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

See buying options
Stay Positive
16.  Stay Positive by The Hold Steady
The list author says:
  "America gets irony shocker! This is all that is great about American Rock and MOR in a nutshell, with heaps of wry self-awareness. For fans of Weezer, the Boss and Boys and Girls in America."
£12.57   Used & New from: £2.53
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)

Do You Like Rock Music?
17.  Do You Like Rock Music? by British Sea Power
The list author says:
  "BSP go breathlessly anthemic with flag-waving results. Indie rock through and through and you won't find a better example."
£12.18   Used & New from: £1.31
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (40 customer reviews)

Saturnalia
18.  Saturnalia by The Gutter Twins
The list author says:
  "Collaborateur par excellence Lanegan does it again, gravel-voiced indie rock duetting of the highest order. Well done, sir."
£9.25   Used & New from: £2.97
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)

Micah P Hinson & the Red Empire Orchestra
19.  Micah P Hinson & the Red Empire Orchestra by Micah P. Hinson
The list author says:
  "Another gravel-voiced wonder, another nod to Americana and alt.country / folk - this year's genre of choice for sure."
£24.99   Used & New from: £5.47
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)

Third
20.  Third by Portishead
The list author says:
  "Out with the triphop in with the figurative kitchen sink, a collection of acessible but industrial samples, clever loops and overlayed vocals. For fans of beats, a challenge and select Portishead cuts"
£7.07   Used & New from: £2.26
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (114 customer reviews) | 1 customer discussion

59.59
21.  59.59 by Sian Alice Group
The list author says:
  "Speaking of which ... Jason Pierce's protégés mine a similar line albeit a little more lo-fi. For fans of the above."
£11.43   Used & New from: £1.55
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Elegies To Lessons Learnt
22.  Elegies To Lessons Learnt by iLiKETRAiNS
The list author says:
  "Literate indie rock, atmospheric and at times anthemic. Not for the pop fan."
£13.37   Used & New from: £1.68
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

The Chemistry Of Common Life
23.  The Chemistry Of Common Life by Fucked Up
The list author says:
  "Accesible intro into hardcore punk, part plucked folk, mostly (controlled) shouting. Surprisingly good."
£3.00   Used & New from: £1.20
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Night Drive
24.  Night Drive by Chromatics
The list author says:
  "Glass Candy's chillout section, still glacial, still cool, but a little more of a chilled, but disco-influenced album."
Out of stock
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

 
Amazon.co.uk
22% of customers ultimately buy this item after viewing the unavailable item above
Kill For Love by Chromatics

 Explore similar items
 
Walk It Off
25.  Walk It Off by Tapes 'n Tapes
The list author says:
  "Pitchfork darlings, and purveyors of fine, jittery, again literate indie. File under chin-stroking."
£9.00   Used & New from: £0.09
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

More Actions

Discover more about this author
 See all of their Listmania! lists
Make your own list
 Create a Listmania! list
View your page on Amazon.co.uk
 Go to Your Profile page

Customer Discussions about products in this list  
   

About this Listmania!

 

Author

Gannon (Manchester, England)
Qualifications: Music Lover
Last updated: 07/01/2009
Report abuse
    

More Listmania!

 

hedjac - Gifts for Over 17 Year Olds hedjac - Gifts for Over 17 Year Olds

hedjac - Gifts for Over 17 Year Olds: A list of 9 items by hedjac

Albums You Can't Live Without Albums You Can't Live Without

Albums You Can't Live Without: A list of 10 items by Kim "Kim"

Sound of 2000-09 Pt1. Sound of 2000-09 Pt1.

Sound of 2000-09 Pt1.: A list of 25 items by Gannon

Best albums of first 4 months of 2008
Best albums of first 4 months of 2008: A list of 25 items by Big Jim "Big Jim"

Music I can't do without-in no order-after the Who, anyway!
Music I can't do without-in no order-after the Who, anyway!: A list of 25 items by Ruth "Whochick67"