Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
The war with the Dominiar knights is over and another potential demonsouled tyrant has been crushed. On their return to the Grim Marches Mazael has to confront a dire threat that has arisen in his absence.

The SanKeth steal Rachels child and another force has arisen - the knight Ultorin and his mage Mavlavost have raised an army of Malavags. They rampage accross the marches with a huge army and Ultorin seems invincible even against Mazaels demonsouled prowess. Malavosts nights are haunted by dreams of a giant black wolf and they are all drawn to Deepforest keep home of the Elderborn. Lucien struggles with the consequences of his increasing use of dark magic.

The story is a race - to find the missing child and beat Ultorin and Malavost to Deepforest keep. Along the way the usual epic battles are fought against desperate odds. The writing is good , but its becoming increasingly difficult to differentiate the elements of one book from another as the formula begins to become very repetitive.

There are several plot threads that stand out from the background - Luciens conflicted use of dark magic, Rachels desperate search for her missing child and the Black wolf substory. Much as I enjoy the background of sword and sorcery - there is too much emphasis on the fighting These storyline elements are treated as cursory reasons for the battles to happen rather than the opposite. Each of them is a good plotline and the characters involved are interesting but not emotionally developed as much as they could be. The result is an intellectual appreciation of the characters and motivations, without a full emotional connection to them. The appreciation of their desperation isnt as visceral as in the first book. Mueller still delivers his trademark twists and turns along the way , but as is often case in a series the novelty isnt there to the same extent.

Still a very good book and incredibly good value. Muellers still on good form but maybe give yourself some time - and dont read them all back to back or the books might seem very formulaic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 September 2011
This has been one of the best trilogies that I have read in a long time. Fans of Fiest and Eddings will undoubtedly enjoy this sojourn into a world they will appreciate. Shame it's just a trilogy.......
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 20 September 2013
I have been reading science fantasy for decades. Let's just say that Moeller has a first class grasp of the genre. Great science fantasy series. Buy this book and the series, you will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 21 September 2014
Enjoyable read but abit like a computer game seems like further in to series is like reaching another level with few new enemies andold ones with added strength but will probably finish all the books
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 16 June 2015
excellent series.Couldn't stop reading and purchased all series one after another. So finished one then purchased the next !

Great set of characters and events.

Richard
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 13 June 2013
this is a good book, it is easy to read and has a good story line. the only reason it didn't get five stars is that there seemed to be gaps were there should have been heated sexual moments.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 4 September 2013
Jonathan Moeller definitely knows how to make a reader truly care about the characters he creates. A well thought out story. A brilliant read, despite the slight grammatical errors.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 20 February 2013
Loved all of the books. Easy to read.
Good story line and great characters.
Would recomend to every one who loves fantisy fiction.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 8 December 2012
lots of action,easy to read but not predictable,the series just stops short of being too ;samey; rollicking good fun.enjoyed them all
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 9 December 2013
Page turner... I loved it.... time to get the next one? Mmmm I think so!
I would recommend it to any one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.