Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars334
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2013
Was delighted to find this remote on Amazon for £10!! Excellent value and is a genuine Sony product. Had a little accident with original and you still need it to adjust picture etc occasionally as I have a DVR.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
Sony REMOTE COMMANDER RM-ED017, 148719231This is an excellent replacement product for origional remote control, no programming needed just fit batteries and use as replacement TV remote.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
It arrived within a few days, looked and worked just like the 'old' one (except all the buttons functioned) threw the broken one away and it's sitting there ready to go...the remote is dead, long live the remote!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Basically a brand new, shinier, (but most importantly) functional version of my original remote. Worked straight out of the packaging (after inserting the batteries of course!) and the my long-standing headache of a malfunctioning remote was long gone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
BOUGHT THIS AS A DIRECT REPLACEMENT FOR MY OLD HANDSET. I AM TERRIBLE AT CHANNEL HOPPING AND THE BUTTONS ON MY ORIGINAL WERE BECOMING STICKY TO USE SO I BIT THE BULLET AND ORDERED THIS REPLACEMENT. PLEASED WITH PRODUCT AND PRICE. WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE LOOKING TO REPLACE. SEE YOU IN FEW YEARS FOR NEXT ONE!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2012
Put batteries in, worked immediately. Pleased to see that it was the old remote control that was failing rather than the TV circuitry. Disappointing that the remote control supplied with a good quality branded TV wore out so quickly, but very pleased to be able to readily buy a branded like for like replacement.

Mar 2016 update: four years on, remote needed replacing again as frequently used buttons not working. Price has increased but item is still good value, and works well. Suspect 4 years is operational lifetime, but will probably change TV before 2020!.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
Sony RM ED002 arrived within one day. I loaded batteries and it worked perfectly. The old one had worn out after 4 years use. I had tried a universal remote but it didn't opperate correctly. Buying the real thing is the way and through Amazon is so easy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Absolutely no reason to doubt that this is an excellent piece of equipment and worth every penny.

However, a cautionary tale. My original unit developed a problem after several years, whereby several (but not all) of the buttons became increasingly disinclined to work properly. At first, I assumed the unit was sealed and would have to be replaced. I then found - starting at the bottom end with a screwdriver blade - that the two halves could be gently prised apart, and that part of the circuit board and the back of the rubber sheet were contaminated by a mysterious oily substance. I wiped this away with a paper towel and a cotton bud, snapped the two halves back together, and the unit now works like new again. Took about five minutes.
44 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
Guys

I would like to thanks all of you who have written reviews on this replacement remote and echo 3 points:

Why is the original so poor - it hasn't lasted 4 years and we don't have young children or animals playing with it.

The replacement is excellent - batteries in and go BUT how long will it last?

Thanks to all those who have written reviews - great stuff.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
Remote was good to go, just needed batteries. As a previous reviewer said it's a shame that Sony seem to have a problem with the durability of it's remote as the TV is fine.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)