Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars47
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 July 2008
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you own a PSP, no doubt most of you use it for gaming, maybe music or movies amd occasionally wireless internet.
The biggest problem I have had (until now) is an "all in one" software bundle that opens up the PSP and makes you realize it's much more than simply a portable gaming console. Previously movies either had to be purchased pre recorded on UMD discs, or converted with complicated downloaded software like psp swap or involved a membership "fee" of some sort. Pictures and home video needed similar software, and even MP3's had to be converted through another program to be able to listen too.
This program is simplicity to install, use, and does all the conversions for you automically, and all for under a fiver!!
IMPORTANT - What you will need:
A USB to PSP cable (if you didn't get one in the starter or accessory kit.
A large Memory Stick (I recommend 4GB) especially if you want to store say 1 movie, personal photos, music, and even documents.
A spare battery (always recommended, especially when travelling)

I use the PSP on trips, it's great on planes (as long as you turn off the WiFi) and now I have it ALL, Movies, Music, Games, and Photo's, all in one tidy packet! - Great product 5 Stars!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Even at its full price of £10 this software is good value and at Amazon prices it's well worth the small investment. It allows you to easily move, and format correctly, multimedia format materials from your PC to PSP. While it is possible to do this using free software that is cumbersome and this is easy one-stop-shop software. You should note that to make full use of the multimedia capabilities of the PSP you'll need a large Memory Stick. These are now very cheap indeed. You'll also need a USB Memory Card reader, assuming your don't have a Sony VAIO which will come this this built in, or a specific USB to PSP cable.

For the price and ease of use, once you're clear of the additional hardware you'll need, this product works well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a nifty peice of software, didn't take long to install and it just works.
Yes you can probably do most of the things this can do using free-ware tools from the internet. I have done just this.. to compare.

The Freeware, are clunky and confusing, and most of all they crash, OFTEN! especially when you are converting large files, and my word does it take forever when it does.
This software however, does the oposite. It transfers faster, and is more stable, I can do more things on my computer while it is transfering.

I don't really use my PSP for anything else then to watch movies, and play games. however for the point of this review I have tried out the audio conversion, which I am sure a lot of users might be using their PSP for.

I tried the same album in the different formats, at around the same avarage bitrate.
ATRAC, WMA and MP3, Not much noticeble difference, however if you want to squeeze more tracks for your memory, ATRAC or WMA at lower bitrates are the better of the lot.

The Drag and Drop system just works, its great, before I started using this system, I had to navigate around the file system of the PSP which is very confusing, copy and paste stuff to where I thought it should go, to find out I was wrong, it was supposed to go into this folder. This software takes all the trial and error out, and gets your media on or off the system.

So, you could go with the confusing Freeware version, or you could get this, which is a small price to pay, for an all in one soloution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2008
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've never used a PSP until I tested out this software for it - I have a Nintendo DS, so I chose to test the PSP Media Manager (and borrow a PSP) to see how it works out for a newbie to Sony's handheld.

After installation of the program and registration of the product, all you have to do is go to the USB menu on the PSP and connect it to your PC's USB and the Media Manager does the rest.

Once the Media Manager has added the files on your PC to its database, the screen is divided in two, top - your PC files, and bottom, your PSP data.
Tiles along the top of the screen divide the different modes for ease of use - music, CD, video and game mode (to back up game saves) being the key ones you will use.

Then just click and drag from one to the other! All the work is done for you by the program.

I even tested just how good it was and found:
- It's quick! Transfers/converts files in seconds.
- It works with MP3s and WMAs formats for music transfers, although ripping is limited to MP3 and Sony's ATRAC (up to 320kbps quality).
- It converts popular video formats that work at the same quality on PSP as they do on the PC or a mobile phone - even high quality MP4 format videos from my Nokia N95 and 3GP from a Sony Ericsson phone played back on the PSP.
- Even large Bitmap files convert, transfer, and display.

Overall, Sony have done a fantastic job at simplifying everything for PSP users, making the most of its features, whether you're a pro at transferring your data, or a newbie just learning what the technology can do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 April 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There are (or were) freeware tools out there which would handle video conversio a bit more flexibly than this software did - PSP Video 9, for example, or Handbrake - but they're not exactly drag and drop, and require you do a bit of reading first. Really, all you're doing is lowering the sound quality a little, and re-sizing the resolution of the video to fit the PSP's screen. Having said that, at the time, the PSP worked really quite well as a mobile media player, and the Media Manager 2.5 software boosted its capabilities here quite decently. I actually very seldom used my PSP for gaming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2008
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've been using a PSP since they first came out in 2005 so have got used to moving stuff to and from the PSP and my PCs. To the novice its not always straight forward but Sony do provide enough info in the PSP pack and on their website to explain how to do it.

This piece of software tries to provide a friendly interface from your PC to your PSP. I was suprised how long it took to install and I'm always a bit dubious as you have to wonder how much stuff is being installed on the PC. Anyway after a while it installed fine and I opened the new EXE on my desktop.

The interface to the software looks very Sony in terms of the icons and font used. You plug in your PSP via a USB cable and its contents appear within the software, broken down into music, photos, movies et al. From here its then a case of dragging and dropping files between the PSP and the PC in a Windows Explorer type of scenario. Its good in that everything is tidy and in its place but apart from that I'm not sure what other benefit it gives. Anyone who has been using a PSP will know how to move/delete/copy files so I can only recommend this to total novices or even those who are struggling to work with their PSP.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 August 2008
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Yes it is a useful little tool to move stuff to or from your PSP. However, like all Sony software it is far from elegant - those of you who have used Sonic Stage have a fair idea what to expect. Additionally if you are moving video onto Memory Sticks be prepared to give up a day of your life. This software is unbelievably slow.

On the positive side it is intuitive enough and help is adequate. Moving files other than DVD is a pretty straight forward drag and drop. On DVD it has various formats to enable film to be shrunk onto whatever Memory Stick availability you have.

My biggest gripe however is how the hell Sony have the brass neck to sell software that should be bundled with PSP in order to enable users to enjoy its full range of applications. As PSP is currently sold it pretty much runs UMD disks for games and movies and that's about it.

I am sure that you can find software out in the ether that does this for free.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 January 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Obviously this product, as its name suggests, allows you to maintain pictures, movies, music (ie media!) between your PSP and a PC. It works fine with my PSP 2000 (yes I know, old school), but as all its doing is copying files to your PSP techincally its for those are unsure about what mdeia does, and what doesn't work on a PSP.

I agree with a previous reviewer - this should have come free with the PSP; which is odd as now it is free from Sony's website.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
This product is obsolete and has been superceded by "MediaGo" which you should be able to download for free from the Playstation website.

Even when this product was current, I gave up on it (I forked out cash for it to convert video to PSP's AAC format for watching on flights, but it took F...O...R...E...V...E...R). Ended up using a free video converter (Pazerro I think it was called) to convert and standard windows drag'n'drop to copy over to the PSP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 August 2008
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Sony Media manager pro is a fast and easy to use programme. Installation is swift, and unproblematic.
The program itself is easy to use with the choice of either drag and drop, or simply click the file and the upload arrow.

~Uploading Photos~

The program goes straight to your pictures folder, you can easily drag and drop straight to your psp memory card.

~Uploading Music files and various media~

The media manager will find music files automatically and easily, so they are readily avaliable for you to choose, and add with ease to your psp. Also I found editing files and playlists within the psp memory card a breeze to use.

~Saved Data~

You can erase saved game files in this area, it helps you find and see duplicate files too, easy yet again to delete.

~Bookmarks~

If like me you use your PSP to go online, here the media manager automatically find any bookmarks on your computer, and you can add them to your memory card for use on your psp browser.

There is also a settings menu, where you can edit all setting within your PSP, this is a useful tool instead of
cycling through the menus actually on your psp. I found the media manager a lot faster to use than the PSP menus.
If you have a sony Vaio, this programme isn't nessersarily needed, but for the price Amazon are selling it for, it's a cheap and better alternative. I highly recommend this programme for PSP users, who like to quickly change music, pictures and videos on the memory card.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.