Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.96

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Song of Treason [Paperback]

Jeremy Duns
2.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
RRP: 7.99
Price: 7.07 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 0.92 (12%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Wednesday, 23 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover 14.79  
Paperback 7.07  
Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

18 Aug 2011
May 1, 1969. Blackmailed into serving Moscow, double agent Paul Dark now finds himself a target for both exposure, and assassination. Desperate to escape his predicament, Dark gambles everything on one last throw of the dice, exposing his Soviet handler to the British. But before long, he finds he has no choice but to go on the run again, and the race is on to stop a deadly conspiracy that dates back to the early years of the Cold War. The second part of the Paul Dark trilogy, Song of Treason is another sweat-soaked Sixties-set spy thriller in the tradition of Len Deighton and Frederick Forsyth. Previously published in hardback and trade paperback under the title Free Country.

Frequently Bought Together

Song of Treason + The Moscow Option + Free Agent
Price For All Three: 20.65

Buy the selected items together
  • The Moscow Option 5.59
  • Free Agent 7.99


Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd (18 Aug 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1847394523
  • ISBN-13: 978-1847394521
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 19.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 2.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 316,944 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Jeremy Duns is the author of the Paul Dark spy novels, published by Simon & Schuster. His first novel, Free Agent, was a Daily Telegraph Thriller of the Year 2009, and received praise from William Boyd, Eric Van Lustbader and David Morrell, while The Guardian wrote: 'Deep knowledge of espionage and classic spy novels informs this excellent debut'. The Times called the second book in the series, Song of Treason (originally published as Free Country), 'a masterly excursion back to the bad old days of the Cold War', while The Guardian said it was 'a treat for fans of traditional Len Deighton-style spy thrillers'. The third Dark novel, The Moscow Option, was published in 2012, and was followed in 2013 by Dead Drop, a non-fiction investigation of the MI6-CIA operation to run Colonel Oleg Penkovsky. Jeremy lives in the Åland Islands.

Find out more at http://www.jeremyduns.net

Product Description

Review

`With its subtly deployed late-60s detail, Free Country is a treat for fans of traditional Len Deighton-style spy thrillers'
--Guardian

'A cleverly twisted tale of intrigue and deception, this is a masterly excursion back to the bad old days of the Cold War' --The Times

'An homage to the morally ambiguous Sixties thrillers of Le Carré and Deighton . . . nuanced to the hilt' --Telegraph

About the Author

Jeremy Duns is British born, but currently lives and works in Stockholm.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Song of Treason 13 May 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This was just a run of the mill novel.I did read it all and it was about ok.The storyline was not greatand it will not be on my bookshelves.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars AN AVERAGE SPY STORY 17 Dec 2013
Format:Paperback
The author is much maligned for the blurb about being as good as Forsythe, Deighton or Le Carre,I do not think that the comparison with Le Carre.Deighton and Forsythe is the author's fault as publishers will put anything on the back of a book to help it sell. The story is quite straight forward, and the location where Paul Darke finds himself are well researched. I did find that Darke seemed to be able to escape from some very unlikely situations rather easily, but as the author states at the end there is a fair amount of factual basis for many of the plots. Overall it was quite a good read, and certainly had unexpected and unlikely ending.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Terrible Disappointment 14 Oct 2011
Format:Paperback
Despite the (selective?) favourable quotes from the Guardian and the Telegraph, this book is most definitely not in the same league as Len Deighton or Le Carre.

For starters, much of the narrative comes straight from the mind of the main protagonist, Paul Dark - in effect we're told the story instead of finding out through the action or characters.

The dialogue is pedestrian - for example when Dark hot-wires a jeep, his female companion comments 'That's a clever trick'; 'It can come in useful', Dark replies. Dull, clunky.

And the plot may be action-packed but it's sub-James Bond stuff, with the heroes using an unlikely ploy to escape from their cell ('somehow I hit home..', 'against all the odds it had worked'), the subsequent helicopter episode ('this was it, this was the end...'), and then the potential drowning scenario ('it looked like some kind of passage..'). It's not quite 'with one bound I was free', but it's not far off it.

I gave up with a hundred pages left, I simply had no interest left!
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun 4 Aug 2010
Format:Paperback
Song of Treason didn't disappoint after reading Free Agent. Most dislike Paul Dark but I for one like the chap. It's not every day we get to follow a mixed up chap like Paul Dark. Great Fun, smashing location of Rome with plenty of twists. More retro spy novels please Jeremy Duns.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid This Double Agent 18 Feb 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
As a life long aficionado of Spy thrillers, I love to try new contenders and the thought of somebody writing a '60s trilogy peaked my interest and the hype had me putting my hand in my pocket.
Frankly, I need to be more careful. This can only be described as third rate. It lacks on every front - pedestrian plot, cardboard characters and zero atmosphere. Deighton, Le Carre or Fleming it most definitely is not!
If you want something good from the new kids on the block go for Charles Cumming, Simon Conway or Henry Porter. All three of the aforementioned are up there with the greats.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
ARRAY(0xb210c3f0)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback