Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2008
Ken Browne's 'Sociology For AS AQA' is an ideal textbook for those embarking on an AS course, particularly if they wish to develop a grasp of sociology in sufficient depth to enable them to make the transition to A2. The text comprehensively covers all the AS modules in the AQA's latest specification, including Culture and Identity, Families and Households, Wealth, Poverty and Welfare, Methods, Education and Health, and includes sections linking education and health to research methods. As it covers the entire specification, it provides choices for both students and teachers, making the book excellent value for money. The book is well organised, and explains involved and complex social issues and theoretical considerations in a clear, concise and easy to read manner, backed up with photos, diagrams, cartoons and activities, and reference to examples drawn from everyday life which students can relate to. This is the 3rd edition of Browne's book and is, in my view, the best version so far, not least because it is now in full colour and has far more illustrations.
It is far superior to his previous textbooks in terms of both its clarity and comprehensiveness, and its ease of access for students, without the dumbing down which the previous review referred to. I fully recommend this text as a real complete companion for students and teachers.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2008
Browne's Sociology for AS AQA is a much awaited update, on what was already an excellent AS text book for Sociology. The use of colour pictures and text is really useful and the interactive websites are a welcomed addition for both teachers and students of Sociology. The activities included provide thought provoking debate and useful summaries of the material. The book simplifies Sociology theory and concepts into easy to read topic areas, and draws on examples from everyday social life. I highly recommend this text to any AS/Access level Sociology student, it's a must have read!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2008
I've been getting myself prepared for teaching the new AS course from September, and have been trawling through the latest batch of textbooks. I reckon Browne is now the best for AS-level, and is really very helpful for both teachers and learners, and is practically the only textbook covering the entire new AQA specification. It does this with flair, and communicates sociological ideas and concepts in a language that is clear, concise and accessible to students without compromising or diluting the integrity of the subject. It has a good depth and breadth of information too, and integrates research methods well with health and education, in keeping with the new AQA specification, and provides a wide range of learner activities to develop understanding. This book also avoids the dumbing down which is particularly evident in the new AQA-approved text, and delivers content that enables students to not only get top grades at AS, but also provides a sound basis for progressing to A2. The associated website is, unlike others, free, and provides some really useful stuff for teachers and students. I've used Browne in the past with my students, and I think this latest version is now the best book on the market. If you're teaching GCSE Sociology, you'll find Browne's 'An Introduction to Sociology' is pretty good as well. An Introduction to Sociology
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
Ithought that this book was great! It is clear and concise and has everything written down in easy and understandable language! It was easy to get to grips with as a mature student returning to study after 17 years!! If your doing this subject either As or A2 level. it's a must read!!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
I purchased this book for an AS course. The book arrived after a week and was in immaculate condition. It is a very good textbook with a clear layout and is colourful. I realise that this edition has been revised but I was keen to use the same issue as the tutor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Came in good condition and everything but there is way too much unnecessary information in this textbook. It just goes on and on and you don't even want to read it any more. Do not recommend to anyone!
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
the book came really quick, the price of it was also very reasonable, the overall condition of the book was pretty good recommended to all sociology student
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Great for reference!
Arrived in good time and of good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
good price, good condition, very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
Great just what we ordered
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)