Sisters-in-Law and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £2.73 (27%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Sisters-In-Law has been added to your Basket
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK. Your order will be picked, packed and dispatched by Amazon. Buy with confidence!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Sisters-In-Law Paperback – 3 Sep 2009


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.26
£1.82 £0.01
Audio CD
"Please retry"
£21.69

Frequently Bought Together

Sisters-In-Law + The Inheritance + Lovers And Liars
Price For All Three: £22.76

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product details

  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (3 Sep 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0751539066
  • ISBN-13: 978-0751539066
  • Product Dimensions: 2.5 x 12.7 x 19 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 461,528 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Nina Bell has written for most national newspapers and magazines, and has also written a number of radio plays, broadcast on Radio 4. She is the author of three previous novels, The Inheritance, Sisters-in-Law and Lovers and Liars. Nina lives in Kent with her husband and two children.

Product Description

Review

This is a page-turning, perceptive and skilfully written tale of family dynamics and the middle classes in crisis' Daily Mail

Book Description

Sisters-in-Law. They're not your choice - just your problem.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Ms. Rosie Turner Canterbury Festival on 3 Sep 2009
Format: Paperback
Another terrific read from the immensely talented Nina Bell. Her characters are etched with insight and intelligence and the various family dynamics are explored in a no-holds barred way. The importance of home, forgiveness and fidelity are the big issues in this brilliantly observed family story to which anyone who has a sister in law, brother, partner or mother can relate. As with "The Inheritance" it's meatier than you might imagine and I couldnt put it down.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Sissel M. Østdahl on 31 Mar 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
With her two first novels, Nina Bell has already established herself as a new and extremely talented name in English literature, a contemporary storyteller in the tradition of Rosamunde Pilcher and Nicola Thorne, with a bit of Penny Vincenzi thrown in.

With great insight into the relationship between not only sisters-in-law Kate, Heather and Olivia, thrown together by family relations no matter how different they are, but also the rest of their families, the author covers the whole specter of modern family life.

Kate and Jonny, never married, and their two sons, who regularly gather the whole family at their cozy home in 19 Lovelace Road for Sunday lunch. Staying at home army wife Heather and Jack, seemingly happily married with two small daughters. Successful lawyer Olivia and her likewise successful husband Si, a high profile childless couple. And then, coming out of nowhere, there is newly divorced Sasha, worming her way into the Fox'es family idyl causing havoc and perhaps the revelation of long buried frustrations.

Entertaining, realistic and intelligent. Staying with the story and dwelling only at the most necessary details. A pageturner touching most specters of contemporary family life and leaving the reader with lots of reasons for afterthought long after the book is finished.

Nina Bell's next book "Lovers and Liars" is to be released in September 2010. Don't miss this excellent writer.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By K. L. Mavor on 12 Feb 2012
Format: Paperback
I loved this book. I am not a chick-lit reader but was recommended this by a friend with a brain so gave it a go. It was such a fun read - very satisfying acutely observed insights into how we live our lives in families today. I recognised in each of the sisters-in-law people I know and found myself smiling at the clever way Nina Bell points up human frailty, always sympathetically. This is a very enjoyable holiday or weekend escapist read - you romp through it, treating yourself to another few chapters and looking forward to the next time you can grab some more. The writing reminds me of Joanna Trollope and Elisabeth Buchan, other writers who are a cut above the rest. Definitely recommend this and am about the start The Empty Nesters, which is the latest one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" TOP 500 REVIEWER on 26 Jun 2010
Format: Paperback
This is Nina Bell's second book, but I haven't yet read her first which is called Inheritance, however I'll be looking out for it on my next visit to the library! The book's striking cerise pink text stands out against the cover image, and I think it is a well crafted cover that will catch people's attention!

Kate is introduced to us as the main character of the story, with the other storylines revolving around her and her family. Kate is the only Fox woman in the story (bar her mother), yet she is possibly the most insecure of the sisters-in-law. Her relationship with Johnny isn't as good as she wants it to be, and I very much enjoyed the twists and turns their relationship took through the book. I liked Kate very much, she was a very normal character, one that you can relate to easily, and I wanted things to be okay for her with Johnny.

The other two women also feature heavily in the book but aren't the driving force behind it like Kate is. Olivia is a career-girl who takes the blame for the lack of children in her marriage to Simon yet won't reveal his secret. I liked her very much, she was headstrong and her storyline was unexpected and very fun to read, it surprised me and I liked the way it concluded for Olivia. Heather is the one I wasn't so fond of. She has a bad background but it didn't make me like her anymore, I just found her irritating and a tad weak, so for me she wasn't the best character but did add something to the book regardless.

The story is very much focused on the evil Sasha, and though I could see where the general direction was going from early on, it didn't ruin my enjoyment of the book and I liked it very much.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Mrs. E. Daniell on 4 Sep 2009
Format: Paperback
As with Nina Bell's other book The Inheritance, once I started reading I couldn't wait to find out how the three, very different, storylines would be resolved. Well drawn realistic characters and great dialogue.
To quote Heat magazine "this is a no-sleep-until-you're-done novel"
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By JW on 12 Aug 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Couldn't put this down. Had to keep on reading to find out what happened in someone elses life.
Nina Bell has clearly observed very well the thinking and complications in different relationships that us females can create for ourselves.
A well written and well observed novel. Can't wait to read some more of her work.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Fletcher on 14 Mar 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I couldn't put it down. Thoroughly recommend .I haven't read any of this author's work before.Will try another one definitely.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback