My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece Audio CD – Audiobook, CD, Unabridged


See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged
"Please retry"
£50.00 £48.94

Trade In Promotion


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Audible.co.uk, an Amazon Company, is home to more than 100,000 audiobook downloads. Start a 30-day free trial today and get your first audiobook for FREE.




Product details

  • Audio CD
  • Publisher: Orion; Unabridged edition (10 Mar. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1409132889
  • ISBN-13: 978-1409132882
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 1.5 x 14 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (244 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 675,051 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Annabel Pitcher studied English at Oxford and has since worked as a script writer and an English teacher. She lives in Yorkshire with her husband. MY SISTER LIVES ON THE MANTELPIECE was her first novel. She is a full-time writer.

Product Description

Review

I apologise right now. For those new to the audiobook experience, I am afraid that this is precisely the kind of story that will get you hopelessly addicted. Hook, line and sinker. ...David Tennant is simply perfect at conveying jamie's innocence, sadness and joy.... And in Annabel Pitcher, it seems we have a major new literary talent. (DVDfever.co.uk)

quite simply, stunning ... One of the most compelling listens ever, beautifully read by David Tennant, who said: "I couldn't put this down, I had to record the book." With music by Peter Rinne, who also produces. Meant for children of 10 and over this is one any adult will love and weep over too. (DAILY EXPRESS)

David Tennant felt he had to record this book, and no wonder - it's brilliant for both adults and older children ... Intensely moving, starkly real and ultimately heartening. (OBSERVER)

It's instantly clear why David Tennant made to time to record Annabel Pitcher's debut ... You can hear Tennant's respect for Pitcher's writing, which covney's a boy's budding emotional antennae and irreductible vivacity in ever sentence. (TIME OUT)

a funny, sad, remarkably uplifting story and David Tennant reads it superbly. (INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY)

"David Tennant's narration of the audio was fantastic ... [he] added a warmth and humour to the text. He brought the story to life and I frequently found myself unable to turn the audio off, listening to the end of a section in the car after I'd reached my destination ... [My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece] has just become my favourite single narrator audio book of all time' (FARM LANE BOOKS)

Book Description

A stunning, prize-winning debut novel about tragedy, family and friendship, with huge cross-over appeal. Perfect for fans of WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT. Unabridged edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 27 April 2011
Format: Audio CD
This is a story of how a family copes with tragedy. But told through the eyes of a 10 year old boy who finds himself in a new school with parents emotionally unavailable due to their own struggles to cope with the death of their daughter. The book is funny, sad, and inspirational, often at the same moments. Details in the book add to its realistic tone. Although written for children, I enjoyed this book as an adult as it dealt with themes of resilience and prejudice. The book is beautifully read by David Tennant whose voice conveys the heartbreak and isolation this young man feels but also the humor, friendship, and spirit that keep him going.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Alison: [...]

Five years ago Rose died. One moment that tore Jamie's family apart. Now his Mum has left them, his Dad is an alcoholic and the only person there for him is his sister Jas, who was Rose's twin. But nobody understands why he doesn't cry for Rose, why he doesn't miss her, because they remember her and he doesn't, he was too young when she died. Now they have moved to the Lake District for a new start, to make things better, only it doesn't seem to be working. Jamie still has deal with school bullies and his mother's indifference. And just how does he explain to his father that his only friend is a Muslim, especially after Islamic terrorists killed his sister.

People have been telling me that I should read this book for months, that it is a heartbreaking, moving story that just deserves to be read. Yet I'd been putting it off because I hated the cover. Yep that's right, me, a school librarian that tells kids daily that they shouldn't judge a book by a cover was put off by a cover. I was so relieved when the Carnegie books were delivered and I found that they had changed the cover for the paperback. One I could get excited about reading it now and two the cover actually matches the story that I'd been told about.

And the story. I'm beginning to wonder if the Carnegie judges have shares in Kleenex this year as this is yet another shortlisted book that can't help but move you to tears. I keep wondering if all the Year 7's shadowing the Awards will give up due to the bleakness of some of the books but they are just so well written that they keep coming back for more. This is no exception. The book is written from Jamie's point of view and by the end you feel as though you know him inside out.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful By Liz Kessler on 9 May 2011
Format: Hardcover
This is a brilliant, beautiful, funny, real, tender, engaging and wonderful book. On the one hand, an important and current story that reflects on some of today's biggest political issues - and on the other, this is simply a gripping, moving and beautifully written book. Just as Emma Donoghue did with Room, Annabel Pitcher has managed to get inside the head of a young boy who is experiencing events way beyond his understanding, and by drawing the reader into his world, she makes us take a fresh and insightful look not only at the events of the book itself, but at the world around us. Jamie is adorable and his story will move you in every way. I can't wait to read more from this brilliant new author!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
64 of 68 people found the following review helpful By Nicola in South Yorkshire TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 6 Feb. 2011
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This book is brilliant!!! It's the story of ten year old Jamie, whose family is fractured due to a terrible event that happened five years earlier, when his sister Rose was blown up by a bomb.

Jamie is a wonderful character. The book is written in the first person, and what Jamie tells us, the readers, is unintentionally funny as he takes things quite literally. But you can also feel his bewilderment and pain at what has happened to his family. He doesn't remember Rose and he doesn't understand why she seems to be all that matters to his parents, rather than him and his other sister Jas. He's also trying to fit into a new school in the Lake District, where he meets a girl who he knows he shouldn't be friends with, and incurs the wrath of the school bully.

Unusually for me, I knew as soon as I started reading this book that I would love it. It's totally uncompromising, and Jamie is quite blunt about what happened to Rose, as kids often are. It kept my interest from start to finish and I loved picking it up to read it.

This is one of the best young adult novels I have read, and it is definitely a book that adults can read and enjoy too. I look forward to seeing what Annabel Pitcher does next, as she is an author to watch in the future.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
What a lovely book this is! Quite unchallenged as one of the best books I've read in months, years! I was only going to take a look at the beginning and then get on with my busy day, but couldn't give it up so I sat down and read the whole book in one go. And I cried too!

Buy a copy. You'll love it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Mrs. Elena Birrell on 25 Feb. 2011
Format: Hardcover
Just finished the book in one night, absolutely brilliant! I cried and cried which is not like me and at the same time this book doesn`t leave you in the dark mood after you turn the last page but there is hope to it! I am an avid reader both in English and Russian but I didn`t experience such an emotional rollercoster for a long tme! I don`t get carried away easliy but this was something special! Well done Annabel, it`s a fabulous debut and can`t wait for your next novel! 10/10!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback