Sirius Academy (Jezebel's Ladder Book 2) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Sirius Academy (Jezebel's Ladder Book 2) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Sirius Academy: Jezebel' Ladder Book Two: 2 [Paperback]

Scott Rhine

Price: 8.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 24 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 1.95  
Paperback 8.99  

Book Description

28 May 2012
At sixteen, Mira realizes her dream of attending the prestigious South Pacific UN astronaut school, Sirius Academy. Heiress, prodigy, pilot, and psi talent, Mira kicks butt from the first day. However, she can’t figure out how to make boys like her—making them cry is easy. To lead a team to the alien artifact that her mother discovered, Mira has to convince the Academy that she’s the only chance to unlock the alien secrets before they vanish. First, Mira has to overcome sexist students, narrow-minded faculty, kidnappers, and a tenacious aunt who wants her out of the program. Her adviser, Zeiss, can be useful when he isn’t plastering top-secret space photos on his ceiling or hunting terrorists. Fans of Numbers and Ender’s Game will enjoy this face-paced sequel to Jezebel’s Ladder.

Product details

  • Paperback: 406 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (28 May 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 147750818X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1477508183
  • Product Dimensions: 22.9 x 15.2 x 2.3 cm

More About the Author

Scott Rhine wanted to find a job that combined his love of reading with math problem solving, so he studied both short stories and computer languages. As a techno-gypsy, he worked on optimizing some of the fastest and largest supercomputers in the world. A couple of degrees, patents, and children later, at forty-eight, he still didn't know what he wanted to be when he grew up. When his third publication, "Doors to Eternity," hit #16 on the Amazon epic fantasy list, he decided to become a full-time author. Since then, each book of his "Jezebel's Ladder" series has hit the high-tech science fiction top 100. His highest rated book is the contemporary fantasy "Foundation for the Lost."

Humor is a part of every story he writes because people are funny, even when they don't think so. In the real world, something always goes wrong and people have flaws. If you can't laugh at yourself, someone is probably doing it for you. Strong female characters also play a major role in his stories because he's married to a beautiful PhD who can edit, break boards, and use a chainsaw.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars  21 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High action, adventure and lots of fun 21 May 2012
By K. Sozaeva - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
Genre: Science Fiction Reading Level: Young Adult

Disclosure: I edited this book; I am not receiving any payment based upon sales

Synopsis: At sixteen, Mira realizes her dream of attending the prestigious South Pacific UN astronaut school, Sirius Academy. Heiress, prodigy, pilot, and psi talent, Mira kicks butt from the first day. However, she can't figure out how to make boys like her--making them cry is easy. To lead a team to the alien artifact that her mother discovered, Mira has to convince the Academy that she's the only chance to unlock the alien secrets before they vanish. First, Mira has to overcome sexist students, narrow-minded faculty, kidnappers, and a tenacious aunt who wants her out of the program. Her adviser, Zeiss, can be useful when he isn't plastering top-secret space photos on his ceiling or hunting terrorists.

Fans of Numbers and Ender's Game will enjoy this face-paced sequel to Jezebel's Ladder.

My Thoughts: Sirius Academy is a really fun book - I kept forgetting I was supposed to be editing because I would get so caught up in the action. Mira is a difficult character to love, as she's spoiled, self-indulgent, self-centered, and constantly needs to be the boss. But as you get to know her, you understand where she's coming from - this kid has not had an easy life, and she's under a great deal of pressure. She has to be the one to go to the Eye in the Sky - there is no other option - and she is aware of that; this is why she is always pushing. As is mentioned by one of the characters, Mira is missing some of the pack instinct that is necessary to get along with people, but inside she has a good heart.

Rhine is focused on the science - you can be sure that whatever he is writing about, he has researched and does his best to present in a realistic light. If you enjoyed Jezebel's Ladder, you won't want to miss this one. If you enjoy sci-fi and tech geek, you'll love it. Don't miss it - it's awesome!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new generation takes over for Jez in book 2, buy it now! 29 Aug 2012
By J. Parkes - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The day after finishing the first in this series, Jezebels ladder, i started reading this sequel. It felt for half the book i had mistakenly picked up book 3 instead of book 2. I went back to Amazon twice looking for the second book only to find this Was the second book...we miss some key events that link the two books until much later in book two where the timeline reconnects us...i'm not entirely sure i would have done this, but i enjoyed the book completely anyway.
This is a good story, with a novel approach to the genre, and it's unusual in its telling. I'm impatiently waiting for book 3 in this series.
If not for the timeline break between book one and book two i would have given 5 stars instead of 4...i spent too much time looking to be sure i didn't miss a book in between.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome continuation to Jezebel's Ladder 9 April 2013
By D. Han - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Scott Rhine continues to shine (I can't help it.. I haven't had coffee yet - I couldn't resist the cheesy rhyme)

There were some reviewers that disliked the time gap between Jezebel's Ladder and Sirius Academy as you do not find out much about how things progressed with Jezebel and Benny - the birth of their daughter and her early years.

This however is not something that bothered me - I actually prefer not to read about the deaths of Jezebel and Benny or read the early timeline of how little Red was growing up.

I would even say that Sirius Academy was my favourite of the two books thus far. I am however waiting eagerly to get my hands on the next installment in this series. The stories continue being loaded with action, humor and kick butt twists and turns that keep you reading well into the wee hours of the morning.

If you liked Jezebel's Ladder, do not hesitate to get this book. If you've yet to read Jezebel's Ladder, you don't necessarily need to in order to enjoy this book, but I would start with the first book because it's just that awesome.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly exciting SciFi 13 April 2013
By STEPHEN R GARINGER - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
This series has a lot of the flavor of 1940s excitement over all things new and possible, while retaining a modern sensibility towards relationships. In other words, you get the hard science speculation with real people interacting in real ways, not just cardboard cutouts there to advance the gee-whiz aspects. Try it!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what happens next 26 Mar 2013
By Kevin S Smotherman - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
GOOD SECOND BOOK, I was dissappointed that it started out with a new main character, but I enjoyed the read and would love to see what's next.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback