Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars113
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2010
Remember them from the 70's but didn't really appeciate their style nor talent. That was until I watched them performing Roxette on one of the 'Whistle test' DVDs I got for xmas - then it all came back.
Sitting, as a teenager in the 70's, watching for the exact same show live on TV, hypnotised by Wilko's robotic march and Lee's powerful voice. Purchasing the Singles - The Ua Years, confirmed what I missed all those years ago - the style, simplicity and depth of talent. This album is a must, 26 tracks and not a bad one amongst them.
Buy it soon, appreciate forgotton talent but don't leave too late, like I did.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2008
I've often said that "stadium rock" crap of the mid 70's spawned punk rock. I'd like to think it also spawned "pub rock", a U.K. mid 70's phenomena that incorporated a low rent, no nonsense gang of r&b loving musos who played in pubs to smaller audiences. No one better exemplifies this description than Canvey Island's Dr. Feelgood. Led by lead singer /gob iron blower Lee Brilleaux and lead string bender Wilko Johnson (who played in the choppy style of the legendary Mick Green of The Pirates), "the Feelgoods" (as they were known to fans) were balls up rock n' roll that didn't need 20 minute guitar solos, or lasers, blow in the back of your Roller or champagne and caviar. Their debut LP 1974's "Down By The Jetty" was all about stale pints of bitter, John Lee Hooker 45's, beat up guitars and crisp sharp r&b purists keeping it short, simple and (in today's vernacular) real. All in that order. One listen to "Down By the Jetty" and its opening cut "She Does It Right" and you can hear where the licks and choppy chord patterns at breakneck speed on The Jam's first two LP's came from. Their next LP, 1975's "Malpractice" follows the same seamless r&b non stop party formula with originals lodged in between covers. Their third LP, 1976's "Stupidity" was recorded live gives us an idea what the band were capable of outside the studio. Wilko Johnson moved on and was replaced by Gypie Mayo. Gypie played on the band's only UK top ten hit, "Milk And Alcohol" a rocking tale about going to see a gig by washed up, half dead r&b star. In my estimation its one of the better post Wilco Feelgoods #'s (along with "As Long As The Price Is Right", which was my first exposure to the band in the 80's). You can't go wrong with so many great Feelgoods tracks in one place!!
33 comments|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2005
I saw Dr.Feelgood live back in 1975 at their peak while many bands like Stones and artists like Clapton were busy taking drugs rather than making good music. This album is great compitalion or Feelgood's best singles. It's great music, no nonsense stuff for people who love rock'n'roll played by real instruments, no gimmicks, no dancing girls. No videos. No tv adds. Just plain good music for people who love rock'n'roll and r&b
11 comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
So laid back, so upbeat, so `feelgood'!!!! You can't keep still listening to this album - downloaded it while looking for something else - bonus!!! Excellent - can't wait to put it on to go to work!!! I'll be walking in with a smile on my face that's for sure!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
The music is almost entirely five stars of course, and the booklet is pretty good with dividing up which track was on which album, but this cd has a misleading track listing on its Amazon page.
There's a note in small letters on the reverse of the case saying "Because of time limitations this CD has two tracks less than the album and cassette versions". So if you don't mind going without tracks 25 and 26, which includes their classic 80s track Don't Wait Up and a 'new recipe' for Milk & Alcohol, which are the two reasons I bought this, then you'll be fine. I'm returning this because I already have most of the other tracks on the Feelgood albums, and it's those mid 80s ones which can be harder to find. This product is not as advertised, and the listing needs amending.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
a must for wilko and brileaux fans ....a great collection of memories....down to earth,foot tappin genius!well worth the money..go for it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Some great songs reminding us how god these guys were and how influential they have been.

Also a great way to see what R 'n' B is really about, unlike the modern class of music that people seem to be calling the same!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
Bought this cd after watching the excellent Oil City Confidential documentary and i have to say it is a superb cd with a version of See you later alligator to die for all round excellence at such a bargain price
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Used to love this band especially with Lee as the vocalist. Shame he's not around to watch these days. Had to play this a few times over before I really enjoyed it, as it was a bit samey, but most of the tracks were good old rock and roll that got you smiling and I would thoroughly recommend it. Things date, but this guy will always stay fresh as far as I'm concerned. Brilliant band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Excellent album that takes me back too many years but I still remember the vitality and sheer enjoyment of the era.
If you want an uncomplicated, melodic and fun record this has too be amongst your choices. Back in the night, Hong Kong Money, Down at the Doctors abd ofcourse Milk and Alcohol will take you to days when musicians were characters!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)