Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars10
2.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
4
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2013
Riddled with multiple errors, some of which are huge (for example getting the AST:ALT ratio the wrong way around) but still a good book to provide the foundation of Pathology in anyone trying to learn solely off this book.

However, not much of the extra knowledge provided by this book was relevant to the exam it is designed for (Imperial's 5th year pathology exam) and information required in the actual exam was not provided for by this book. The design of questions is dissimilar to that in the actual exam.

10/10 would not bang
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
The main problem with this book is that it is FULL of mistakes. Im not one to pick up on these things but I mean there are just SO many errors! Its fine for the first 10 but then you really doubt the information. Im having to check everything and im worried ive learnt stuff thats wrong. you teach me something then three questions later i apply that knowledge only to find a total contradiction. It has the potential to be a great book but as it is it belongs in the bin. Clearly written by the students without senior support. very sloppy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
This book is in an ideal format for Year 5 medical student at Imperial as authors are all based at there. It was useful to practice the questions, there are full explanations which save time as it is less likely that you'll need to look up answers. However, the questions and explanations of answers were scattered with some errors which deters the book from performing its function of testing the knowledge of the student. Needs a more detailed editing review to ensure all errors including typos and content issues are addressed. Overall, I still benefited from having used it in prep for exams.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
This book had the potential to be useful, it explains the answers in detail and helps consolidation of knowledge. However, there are far too many mistakes and typos, which is incredibly frustrating. It takes twice as long to go through the answers as there are so many mistakes, you spend most of your time questioning your own knowledge and then realizing the book is fact wrong. It is clear the editors have not attempted the questions themselves, if they had, they would have realized their numerous errors. This book seems like a very hurried attempt to make money off worried medical students, whilst producing a very low quality revision material.

Additionally, the writers have attempted to provide 'amusing' ways to help remember difficult facts in the answer section. I can honestly say, I have never come across such contrived and useless mnemonics/analogies in my life.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I got it for my 5th year Imperial Pathology exam and it was pretty good for that. Exact same sections and good notes. As with all books in this series, there are mistakes, some pretty embarrassing like confusing gout and pseudogout but an average student would spot them pretty easily. I was really panicking about the exam but got through it and it was probably my main source of practice questions @boydmed
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Wonder how that book even got published.
So many factual mistakes.
Even if those were corrected, questions are so obvious that help you no more than reading the books.
Def do not buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
This book is written for imperial students with the path exam particularly in mind.

For that it is okay. I wouldnt give it more then 3 stars because there are quite a few mistaked throughout. That being said I still found it useful to practice exam technique. Even if I didn't necessarily trust the answers and the rationale behind them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
There were a few mistakes in the book, some of which are obvious, others which are not so, but on the whole a good revision tool for students studying at Imperial College. It is one of the only books (if not the only revision book) which explains all options in the EMQ's or SBA's and does not just talk about the correct answer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Couple of mistakes here and there, but quite a lot of content and useful for revision.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
excellent service, i will use it again in future
keep it up, i will recommend it for others too
be its customer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)