Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 4: That Yellow Bastard 3rd... and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a £3.45 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 4 on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Sin City Volume 4: That Yellow Bastard Ltd. [Hardcover]

Frank Miller
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
RRP: £16.99
Price: £16.39 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: £0.60 (4%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £6.71  
Hardcover £16.39  
Paperback £12.79  
Trade In this Item for up to £3.45
Trade in Sin City Volume 4: That Yellow Bastard Ltd. for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £3.45, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

7 Oct 1997 Sin City
Meet Lieutenant John Hartigan, one hour left on the force and one case left to close. There are no mysteries left now, just "Junior", a sick brat with a powerful senator for a father, a kidnapped 11-year-old girl, and a taste for rape and murder. This is the fourth book in the "Sin City Saga".

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Between 20-26 October 2014, spend £10 in a single order on item(s) dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive a £2 promotional code to spend in the Amazon Appstore. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)


Product details

  • Hardcover: 117 pages
  • Publisher: DARK HORSE (7 Oct 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1852867760
  • ISBN-13: 978-1852867768
  • Product Dimensions: 25.8 x 16.8 x 2.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,681,836 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"...it's no understatement to say that he (Miller) has shaped the current wave of big-budget franchise moview more than anyone." -- The Guardian May 27th 2005

"If you're going to read just one Sin City book, That Yellow Bastard is a great choice to make." -- icomics.com reviews 15 March 2005

"In the world of comics, Miller is regarded as the very best working today..." -- The Times Magazine, 21 May 2005

"Why go and see the film? Because..there's nothing wrong with a revisit when the material's this good." -- Comics International, March 2005, Issue 182 --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Frank Miller has won numerous awards and critical acclaim for his dark and distinctive graphic novel work which includes Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, The Dark Knight Strikes Again (DK2), Martha Washington Goes to War, Hard Boiled, Ronin, 300, Robocop and Batman: Year One. He has written several more Sin City collections, including A Dame to Kill For, The Hard Goodbye, Family Values and Booze, Broads & Bullets. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
JUST ONE HOUR TO GO. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:


Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Story 4.5 stars, format 3 stars 12 Jan 2014
By Johan
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is absolutely one of the best story arcs of Sin City. Hartigan fits perfectly into this universe of Miller's noir. The paperback format, however, I find to be on the small side for this beautiful piece of art. Unfortunately, the price tag on a bigger collected version of this story is out of my price range.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
Detective John Hartigan is only hours away from retirement but Nancy Callahan, age 11, is moments away from death. In the hands of a ruthless connected serial killer and rapist Nancy will suffer unmentionable ordeals. John Hartigan must raise his 38 cannon and ignor his failing health to save little Nancy, even at the expense of his dignity and his life.
This cleverly written and exquisitely illustrated tale pulled from the dark gritty bounds of Frank Miller's Sin City series will rock you.John Hartigan is not your typical cop and his devotion to the protection of Nancy from the cruel menace that wishes to defile her spans eight years. Miller has created a superior character in Hartigan and molded a believable plot exploring the idiosyncratic mind of a killer and the devotion of an aging man whose body is no match for his adversary. Put away your preconceptions about the "comic book" medium and prepare to be flattened. In the tradition of "Pulp Fiction" and "Silence of the Lambs" "That Yellow Bastard" is praiseworthy celebration of human ability that is illustrated with maturity and candor.
-Brian Franklin
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrill a minute 6 Feb 2007
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
What can I say - brilliant.

I chose to review this one and not the others as

a) people who read the series will suspect review the first one only, and

b) this is is my favourite of them all (personally)

Buy all of these books, 1-7, they are all truly great stories. Some people have knocked the graphical style of these books - to me, they are one of the high points - they has a superb style all of their own. Millers dialogue, jokes, slang and story are all superb - great film noir, and add in his sound effects (SPAK! HEFF!) and he really has made this series unique Miller.

Finally, I'm not a fan of comparisons with films - usually graphic novels are changed dramatically (often for the worse) in the movies. Sin City is different. I thought it was a cracking film and is incredibly faithful to the books (although in differing order). Therefore, for once I can say, if you liked the film you'll love the book, as opposed to if you hated the film dont be put off by the book.

Cinematic, thrill a minute series.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in the series.... 23 April 2008
By grr
Format:Paperback
That Yellow Bastard is the fourth installment of Sin City, the noir epic of Frank Miller.

An absolute classic this one, with one of the nastiest villains ever, Junior! This is pure, gritty crime noir. Its got all the right features - corrupt cops, crooked politicians, a dame to be saved and a tough, noble cop called Hartigan. He's one hour from retirement, but it all goes horribly wrong as he refuses to let a senators son get away with murder and child rape, and shoots the guy to pieces in the process. Hartigan is framed for everything, but won't talk, so he can save skinny little Nancy Callahan. He serves his time, takes the beatings and cruelties, until.....a parcel arrives for him in jail that changes everything...He swallows his pride and gets his parole, and goes after Nancy, one of the most stunning looking girls in comics! The chase in on! The pacing is fantastic and urgent, and the use of a single colour, yellow, really picks out that character and his sick, evil essence! Some pages are almost eniterly black, really emphasising the oppresive nature of the moment, its bleakness. The violence is harsh and unrelenting. A gripping and dramatic read. "I took his weapons away...Both of them." Immortal lines from a genius creation!! Read it now!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best....... 19 July 2000
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
That Yellow Bastard....does exactly what it says on the cover. That is, he's yellow, and my, what a bastard he is! In typical Sin City stylee, this is a tale of revenge and redemption. The main character, Hartigan is every bit as lovable as Marv, and the other regulars, but the story does not twist and turn as the previous episodes do. It all seems like a very long-winded way of telling a short, but heart rendering story of what is basically boy-meets-girl, boy-loses-girl, boy goes crazy-ape-bonkers and kills everyone. This has already been done by the solo Miller in the eponymous debut and 'The Big Fat Kill'. Still this series has got legs, and if anyone can keep it going it is King Frank.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. 17 Jan 1998
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Frank Miller takes us back to the world of Sin City with a bang. This book is a perfect example of Miller's uncanny ability to turn the most common everyday people into modern-day tragic heroes. Hartigan's story is a change from Mr. Miller's "criminal-with-a-heart-of-gold" tales of earlier Sin City volumes. Also, this is his first (and best) use of color in the Sin City series. Needless to say, this book is a non-stop gripper from start to finish that everyone, comic fans or not, should have on their bookshelf.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars great book but...
when i first got this graphic novel i was extremely excited as ive loved the others , but when i opened the first page all of the font and picture was blurred and this continued... Read more
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by FinnMcHarrie
5.0 out of 5 stars love it
i have been reading through all the sin city comics and this one is as good as the rest. the images and the story line are great. Read more
Published on 28 Feb 2011 by lordork
5.0 out of 5 stars What it said on the tin
Item was as described and in better condition that i thought it would be, would never have known this was second hand. Read more
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by Monleish
5.0 out of 5 stars Hartigan saves little Nancy Callahan in Miller's comic noir
Although I still have a preference for Marv and narrative of "The Hard Goodbye," the first of Frank Miller's "Sin City" graphic novels, I think that artistically he hits full... Read more
Published on 6 Jun 2005 by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Miller writes his way into the comic-book hall of fame
Frank Miller is one of the greatest writers of comic book literature to date. With a tone that can be likened to Raymond Chandler in a bad mood, Miller's style is lean and very... Read more
Published on 16 Feb 2001 by A. Robinson
5.0 out of 5 stars THAT YELLOW BASTARD IS ONE HELL OF A READ
It's very simple to sum up this book and the rest of the Sin City collection: genius. Frank Miller is the greatest comic book writer in artist of our time, he has taken... Read more
Published on 22 Oct 1998
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
Why no 2010 print? 0 22 Aug 2012
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback