Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 4: That Yellow Bastard 3rd... and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Sin City Volume 4: That Yellow Bastard Hardcover – 15 Apr 1997

17 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£28.59 £27.89
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Hardcover: 117 pages
  • Publisher: DARK HORSE; Gph edition (15 April 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1569711879
  • ISBN-13: 978-1569711873
  • Product Dimensions: 26.9 x 17.7 x 2.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,981,915 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"...it's no understatement to say that he (Miller) has shaped the current wave of big-budget franchise moview more than anyone." -- The Guardian May 27th 2005

"If you're going to read just one Sin City book, That Yellow Bastard is a great choice to make." -- icomics.com reviews 15 March 2005

"In the world of comics, Miller is regarded as the very best working today..." -- The Times Magazine, 21 May 2005

"Why go and see the film? Because..there's nothing wrong with a revisit when the material's this good." -- Comics International, March 2005, Issue 182 --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Frank Miller has won numerous awards and critical acclaim for his dark and distinctive graphic novel work which includes Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, The Dark Knight Strikes Again (DK2), Martha Washington Goes to War, Hard Boiled, Ronin, 300, Robocop and Batman: Year One. He has written several more Sin City collections, including A Dame to Kill For, The Hard Goodbye, Family Values and Booze, Broads & Bullets. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
JUST ONE HOUR TO GO. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Have been working through these recently for the first time and finding them reasonably enjoyable. I liked the movie mainly for the striking visual style, and that's largely the strength of the books too. Saying that, while many pages look fantastic (particularly the large full page images), the art can quite frequently be a bit impenetrable, the composition can be messy enough that it's tough to see what some panels are even supposed to depict.

The stories and narration are a little one note too, so overall the books aren't exactly classics, but a decent enough bit of throwaway pulp entertainment. It's unashamedly style over substance, thankfully the style is strong enough to carry it for the most part.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is absolutely one of the best story arcs of Sin City. Hartigan fits perfectly into this universe of Miller's noir. The paperback format, however, I find to be on the small side for this beautiful piece of art. Unfortunately, the price tag on a bigger collected version of this story is out of my price range.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful By boredwiththis on 6 Feb. 2007
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
What can I say - brilliant.

I chose to review this one and not the others as

a) people who read the series will suspect review the first one only, and

b) this is is my favourite of them all (personally)

Buy all of these books, 1-7, they are all truly great stories. Some people have knocked the graphical style of these books - to me, they are one of the high points - they has a superb style all of their own. Millers dialogue, jokes, slang and story are all superb - great film noir, and add in his sound effects (SPAK! HEFF!) and he really has made this series unique Miller.

Finally, I'm not a fan of comparisons with films - usually graphic novels are changed dramatically (often for the worse) in the movies. Sin City is different. I thought it was a cracking film and is incredibly faithful to the books (although in differing order). Therefore, for once I can say, if you liked the film you'll love the book, as opposed to if you hated the film dont be put off by the book.

Cinematic, thrill a minute series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 19 Jun. 1998
Format: Hardcover
Detective John Hartigan is only hours away from retirement but Nancy Callahan, age 11, is moments away from death. In the hands of a ruthless connected serial killer and rapist Nancy will suffer unmentionable ordeals. John Hartigan must raise his 38 cannon and ignor his failing health to save little Nancy, even at the expense of his dignity and his life.
This cleverly written and exquisitely illustrated tale pulled from the dark gritty bounds of Frank Miller's Sin City series will rock you.John Hartigan is not your typical cop and his devotion to the protection of Nancy from the cruel menace that wishes to defile her spans eight years. Miller has created a superior character in Hartigan and molded a believable plot exploring the idiosyncratic mind of a killer and the devotion of an aging man whose body is no match for his adversary. Put away your preconceptions about the "comic book" medium and prepare to be flattened. In the tradition of "Pulp Fiction" and "Silence of the Lambs" "That Yellow Bastard" is praiseworthy celebration of human ability that is illustrated with maturity and candor.
-Brian Franklin
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By S. James on 13 Feb. 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Great book, great drawings, many thanks.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By grr on 23 April 2008
Format: Paperback
That Yellow Bastard is the fourth installment of Sin City, the noir epic of Frank Miller.

An absolute classic this one, with one of the nastiest villains ever, Junior! This is pure, gritty crime noir. Its got all the right features - corrupt cops, crooked politicians, a dame to be saved and a tough, noble cop called Hartigan. He's one hour from retirement, but it all goes horribly wrong as he refuses to let a senators son get away with murder and child rape, and shoots the guy to pieces in the process. Hartigan is framed for everything, but won't talk, so he can save skinny little Nancy Callahan. He serves his time, takes the beatings and cruelties, until.....a parcel arrives for him in jail that changes everything...He swallows his pride and gets his parole, and goes after Nancy, one of the most stunning looking girls in comics! The chase in on! The pacing is fantastic and urgent, and the use of a single colour, yellow, really picks out that character and his sick, evil essence! Some pages are almost eniterly black, really emphasising the oppresive nature of the moment, its bleakness. The violence is harsh and unrelenting. A gripping and dramatic read. "I took his weapons away...Both of them." Immortal lines from a genius creation!! Read it now!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Rachael Young on 3 April 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Order was not as described
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 17 Jan. 1998
Format: Paperback
Frank Miller takes us back to the world of Sin City with a bang. This book is a perfect example of Miller's uncanny ability to turn the most common everyday people into modern-day tragic heroes. Hartigan's story is a change from Mr. Miller's "criminal-with-a-heart-of-gold" tales of earlier Sin City volumes. Also, this is his first (and best) use of color in the Sin City series. Needless to say, this book is a non-stop gripper from start to finish that everyone, comic fans or not, should have on their bookshelf.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback