Simply Irresistible: Lucky Harbor 1 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Trade in your item
Get a £0.29
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Simply Irresistible: Number 1 in series (Lucky Harbor) Mass Market Paperback – 4 Nov 2010


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, 4 Nov 2010
£1.80


Trade In this Item for up to £0.29
Trade in Simply Irresistible: Number 1 in series (Lucky Harbor) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.29, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Forever (4 Nov 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 044657161X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0446571616
  • Product Dimensions: 10.8 x 2.5 x 17.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 479,934 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"This often hilarious novel has a few serious surprises, resulting in a delightfully satisfying story." "LibraryJournal.com""

Book Description

USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis joins the Forever list with this sexy, small-town tale that will appeal to fans of Susan Mallery, Susan Andersen, Carly Philips, and Rachel Gibson

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 14 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Oh hello cuteness!! I have heard so much about Jill Shalvis’ LUCKY HARBOR series and how adorable it is and I am so glad it did not disappoint. I snagged a copy of SIMPLY IRRESISTABLE on sale a while back when I decided that adult romance was something I needed more in my life and Jill Shalvis was top of everyone’s recommendations. Not to mention that it’s set in Washington State where some of the best people I know are from and a place I am determined to visit, I knew book one of this series was a must-read.

Maddie isn’t having the best week. As if losing her job and breaking up with an abusive ex wasn’t bad enough – she’s now on her way to Lucky Harbor, a sleepy, coastal town to meet her estranged sisters Chloe and Tara to figure out what to do with the ramshackle old inn her mother left the threesome in her will. Oh and she almost ran over the hottest guy in town – Jax Cullen. So yeah…not the best week. As Maddie throws herself into renovating the inn despite bickering sisters and the attentions of a swoonalicious lawyer turned contractor, she discovers that sometimes happiness blossoms exactly where you weren’t looking for it.

Sometimes a girl just wants a cute, steamy fun romance to remind her that life isn’t all bad and SIMPLY IRRESISTABLE was just the tonic for me. Jill Shalvis has a style of writing that makes her books the equivalent of drinking a yummy hot chocolate curled up in front of a roaring fire. They just make you feel warm and gooey inside and you can’t help but close the book feeling light and happy.

I loved Maddie’s character and outlook on life.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Genre addict on 9 Oct 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Maddie has a troubled past (domestic violence, job loss, lack of a mother in her youth, no stability) and now has a part-share in a run down inn in Lucky Harbor. Jax, who is not only the mayor, but also seems to own many of the businesses and is a contractor, persuades her to go after what she wants. Her two sisters want to sell the inn and leave town, Maddie wants to keep it and run it: not only does she succeed in doing this, she also realises she wants Jax. Of course, she gets him too - in fact, she gets him quite early on in the book, she just doesn't recognise it. He has his secrets, some of which he can't share: she gets the hump with him and her sisters, everything is resolved nicely at the end.

Sweet book, lovely interaction between the sisters (quite believable - as a sister and a mother to three!) although sometimes a bit on the edge of the envelope of realism. I think if my sister had persuaded my lover to keep a secret from me, and that secret was spoiling the relationship with my lover, I would be a little bit angrier with my sister! A bit predictable, but it doesn't spoil the experience.

My one quibble is that the younger sister Chloe apparently has such bad asthma that she has major attacks after good sex. Not sure how much I believe that, as asthmatics are perfectly capable of doing strenuous exercise as long as their medication is right and there are no allergens around! So that one stretched my disbelief a little too much.
Lovely, un-cheesy cover.

Next up is Tara's story (the older sister) - and from the info in this book and the teaser at the end, most of the plot is fairly obvious already. But I'll buy it because I like JS's writing style and her characters.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Peabody on 11 Mar 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
An excellent 5 stars!

I came across this series a couple of months back, and bought the first few in the series in one go.

Then they sat there for the next couple of months and I nearly forgot about them!

Why!! I loved this book.

This book just made me happy! There is no other way to describe it. Happy happy happy! I do not think a book has ever made me feel so warm and fuzzy before!

I think I was smiling or sighing (like aww) throughout this entire book!

The characters are great, the relationships and how they are described and built up, great. It was humorous and fun and light-hearted.

There was not one character I did not like.

Watching the relationship between Jax and Maddie build was lovely! Watching the relationship between the sisters build was even better.

There was no big angsty misunderstanding, no villains waiting in the wings. Just a sweet, funny romance about two people coming together and coming to believe they deserve what is happening.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Laura TOP 500 REVIEWER on 13 Nov 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I like Jill Shalvis books and this one was as good as all the rest. It had a lovely romance and one particular laugh out loud moment for me (the scene on the leather sofa!!). I can't wait for Tara's story....I'm not that keen on the third sister yet, but we will no doubt get to know more about her in book two.
I love stories like this that are set in small town's with quirky characters - this book reminded me a lot of Rachel Gibson's early novels which is a good thing.
Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Tester on 6 Oct 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
One of my favourite contemporary romances in 2010.

An unexpected inheritance is the perfect chance for Maddie Moore to start anew and to build a relationship with her two half-sisters. At first she is sceptical about running the Inn her mother owned before her death. But for Maddie it's the perfect chance to find peace and get back her strength after she was trapped in an abusive relationship.
The quiet life in Lucky Harbor is just what she wants and getting to know her sisters better is another plus. Maddie wants to stay and not sell the Inn, now she only has to convince her two sisters that they can manage it together as a team. And Maddie has to decide if she feels strong enough to give Jax, a local man with his own secrets, more than a few hot glances and kisses.

Right from the start "Simply Irresistible" captured my whole interest. Actually I just wanted to read some pages before going to sleep but I couldn't lay the book out of my hands until I was halfway through. And on the next morning I immediately picked the book up again to finish it.
I immediately liked Maddie because she felt like a real person. It was so beautiful to read how she became stronger and how she began to trust into herself again. Her relationship with Jax felt just right and I loved reading how they fell in love. Jax was a great and interesting hero.
Another highlight of the book is the location and especially the relationship between the three sisters. All of them are very likable in their own way and I'm sure that together they can fulfill their dreams.
I'm already very excited for "The Sweetest Thing" the next book in the series and to read how Tara will find love.

cover
A bit too simple for my taste but still ok.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback