Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars191
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2006
While this book is very different to Magician it is still an amazing read. While it does follow on and many of the same characters are present the plot and style of the story is different. It is very fast paced although due to this some of the new characters lacked depth. Saying this, those characters were not central to the story. It was good to hear of Jimmy the Hand again as he plays a big part in this story. The only downside was where Magician finished satisfactorily it felt like Silverthorn was just part 1 of the story and to finish it you must read A Darkness at Sethanon. While this isn't necessarily bad it doesn't really follow on from the style of the clean cut ending of Magician.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 December 2011
Silverthorn is the second installment in Feist's Riftwar Saga and an excellent follow-on to the Magician (Riftwar Saga). While the former - always allowing for the possibility of a continuation - worked as a standalone volume, Silverthorn (Riftwar Saga) has been written from the start to be read together with A Darkness at Sethanon (The Riftwar Saga).

This makes it perhaps a bit more limited in scope than Magician (Riftwar Saga) but it is very well developed, a bit more action packed, and like the former, relatively easy also for slightly younger readers to get into (no undue gore or violence, fairly parental guidance rated throughout).

The characters from the first book are more or less all there, so it is of course best to only read it after Magician (Riftwar Saga), however Feist provides an excellent summary of the earlier book at the start for those who did so a longer time ago.

The story is a typical 'go on a quest to save the princess' yarn but it is told well enough to make you want to read the book in one sitting and with this book it is fairly possible to do, too.

Readers more used to science fiction from recent years may find several of the elements familiar - to do the author justice one needs to remember that the book has been written 30 years ago and that many of the novel elements used in it would have been subsequently copied.

As long as you buy it together with A Darkness at Sethanon (The Riftwar Saga), so you can transition to it as soon as you are done with this, you can hardly go wrong here.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Having been weened on fantasy since a young age through the likes of hobbs and eddings and ofcourse tolkien, I at first scoffed at the seemingly "simple" writing styles in magician, the book seemed to lack much of the depth of description which tolkien and eddings would use to create their detailed worlds where you would see the authors visions to the detail of the number of petals on each flower.

Reading on I discovered that even through my arrogance at the relatively "low" literary style, I began to become enraptured by Magician, Fiest achieves an amazing thing which many of his counterparts fail at, he gives JUST enough detail so that you are never mistaken in your images of his worlds, but he allows each reader to create their own worlds and unvierses through their imagination, something which tolkien does not allow and the reason Eddings' series tend to be 5 books in place of the 3 they can justify.

The apparent lack of detail and depth infact draws the reader far deeper into the book, because you are not only witnessing a world Fiest creates for you, you are creating a world around yourself.

Once you get sucked into Magician, there is no turning back, you fall in love with the characters, you share their emotions, occasionally laughing or grinning with the characters, occasionally feeling your eyes begin to water with their grief, having finished magician after 3 days, I couldn't wait to go to work the next morning so that I could stop into the bookstop and pick up silverthorn, 2 mornings later I had to stop in and pick up a darkness at sethanon on the way to work... now I'm here looking for what more remains of the stories because I am loathe to say goodbye to the characters I have grown to love (terry goodkind is lined up and waiting, but I'm going to miss pug and tomas too much to just switch)

I could not think of a way to more strongly recommend reading this series, save to say that with the riftwar trilogy Fiest has forever secured his place in the canons of fantasy authors, I can't wait to read the extra books in the saga, then no doubt the serpent wars, then I'm sure the follow ups, as I write this I'm busy downloading betrayal at krondor (which is now freeware), 2 weeks ago I hadn't heard of Raymond E. Fiest, today I have read over 1700 pages of his work and can't help but wish I had more, I'm actually looking forward to going to work so that I can pick up the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
The long awaited and joyous wedding of Arutha, Prince of Krondor, to the beautiful young Princess Anita, is cruelly cut short when Anita is struck by a poisoned arrow, from the bow of the Nighthawks - an underground cult of death, in league with the darkest and most evil powers.
It is discovered that the nighthawks are being used by the enemy, the dark lord, the enemy, Murmandamus, to assassinate the Lord of the West, Arutha. This in order to fulfill the ancient prophesy, necessary for Murmandamus and his evil minions to take over the world of Midkemia, and cast it into darkness.
Prince Arutha, assisted by his brother, the skilled huntsman Duke Martin of Crydee, the veteran Captain Gardan, the troubadour Laurie of Tyr Sog, the former Tsurani, Earl Kasumi of La Mut and the artful boy thief, Jimmy the Hand, set off on a quest to get hold of the antidote necessary to save Anita from death, and at the same time to learn a thing or two about the terrorist nature of the forces that threaten the Kingdom of the Isles.
This novel is filled with suspense and mystery, as we explore magic, the history of the elves and Valheru, and a deeper understanding of the connection between the worlds of Midkemia and Kelewan.
New characters are introduced into the saga, such as Gamina, the child who talks with her mind , and the Hadati Hillman , Baru.
The momentum set by Magician is not lost for a moment and it is difficult to put the book down as we follow the saga of magic and a momentous battle between good and evil.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
SILVERTHORN is the sequel to the epic MAGICIAN, which I read about five years ago. While MAGICIAN was very self-contained with a definite ending [his editor didn`t like the idea of a sequel], in SILVERTHORN a new threat and quest is set-up with many of the old characters.

Prince Arutha is about to marry his sweetheart Anita, when a Nighthawk -a secretive sect of assassins- is discovered on the roof of the palace, attempting to kill him at the ceremony. However, his bride Anita instead gets injured and falls into a deep coma. The magicians and healers of the royal court are able to suspend time around Anita`s chamber, thus offering a hope to find her cure, a rare but special plant, named Silverthorn. It is this quest that makes up the spine of the novel, as Arutha and his companions race around the country, first finding information on the plant, and finally, in a trap meant to kill the young prince, locating the plant itself. It transpires along the way that a new nemesis, Murmundamus, has his evil heart set on domination, and that an old prophesy telling of the death of Prince Arutha, will help him to consolidate his armies and power. Also here is more of the ancient Enemy, which popped up in MAGICIAN, and of fears slowly growing that it is about to return.

This book was okay, and had some really interesting and exciting parts in it, several well-described monsters, and reasonable villains like the moredhel [basically dark elves]. I enjoyed the last fifty pages or so particularly, as the ending sets up well a further sequel A DARKNESS AT SETHANON.

A few small gripes; in a sub-plot Pug, the hero of the first novel, uses a rift to visit Kelewan, and, while this gives the reader an opportunity to see what has happened on this world since the end of MAGICIAN, it is nevertheless confused by internal politics. Also, I found it sometimes difficult to delineate between some of the secondary characters, and they didn`t seem to have their own characteristics or mannerisms.

This aside, though, SILVERTHORN was largely enjoyable and the short epilogue will keep me interested in reading the next book in the series, A DARKNESS AT SETHANON.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
This book is the second book in Raymond Feist's Riftwar Saga, and picks up after the accession of the conDoin family to the throne of the Kingdom of the Isles. When Jimmy the Hand stumbles upon a Nighthawk (member of the guild of assassins), preparing to kill Prince Arutha, it becomes apparent that something strange is going on. But, when the Prince and his men confront the Nighthawks, it soon becomes apparent that a creature of limitless power, and equally limitless evil, is on the march and wants Arutha out of the way. The situation goes from bad to worse, when Arutha's bride is shot with a poisoned arrow during their wedding. The poison is from a plant named Silverthorn, and to effect a cure, Arutha and a band of compatriots must venture into the lair of this evil and snatch one of the plants. But, there is more danger on the path than anyone could ever have expected...
This is a great book. It has a different feeling than the first book of the series, Magician, but includes many of the same characters. The action is intense, even more powerful than in the previous book, with scenes that will make the hair on the back of your neck stand up! I loved this book, don't hesitate to recommend it to Fantasy lovers everywhere!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 1999
Here Feist continues his Riftwar romp with a new quest as lighthearted as his earlier works. Though a bit more focused in plot than "Magician," Feist follows the formulas used in the earlier books, devoting most of his energy to action narrative in which the characters remain caricatured stereotypes all too familiar to fans of the genre. His cast of characters neglects none of the usual inhabitants of the fantasy realm, ranging from elves and goblins to dragons and pirates, as well as the inclusion of samurai (The Tsurani), Moslem warriors from the era of Saladin (The Empire of Kesh), and here ewoks thinly disguised as "gwali." The princes of the realm are handsome and heroic, their princesses beautiful and spirited. The good guys, even when rascally criminals, are brave and true and, after much hardship, their defeat of evil is assured. All in all, a storyline that could have been lifted from a D&D script. I continue to find a lack of weight or substance to the tales, and harbor some doubts that the "Riftwar Saga" will eventually devolve into a series of repetitive, banal quests. Nonetheless I will admit that so far Feist's stories do offer facile moments of unadorned diversion and amusement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2001
Silverthorn is the stunning sequal to Magician. This work takes on a more "High Fantasy" role, and for me, this seems to build upon the reality created in the 1st novel.I am very bored of comparisons with Tolkien - all he did was to consolidate the myths and legends of England - he did n't INVENT elves and dwarves. To my mind, Feist's work is better than TLOTR in total. ALthough the sheer epic quality does n't compare, the reality of his characters, settings and enjoyment of reading marks it as the best High Fantasy series of novels around.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2001
"Magician" was the start of something special, an epic trilogy. The sequel is a true masterpiece. Feist's depiction of the characters is astonishing, realistic and above all sincere. The fighting scenes are beautifully described and you will feel like you are watching it! Feist has a knack for developing amazing races and the moredhel are something special. This is an excellent read, if a little too short but a brilliant book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
A year after the events of Magician, the Kingdom of the Isles faces a threat from an ancient enemy, and the heroes of the first book of Feist's Riftwar Saga are once again called to action.

Whereas Magician presents us with a war spanning several years, Silverthorn only covers a short period of time and focuses more closely on individual characters, and how the events of the book affect them. There are also fewer principle characters in this one, resulting in a story that feels much more intimate than the first one, and for me this made this a more enjoyable read.

For the most part the action follows Arutha, Jimmy and Martin (introduced in the first book) as they embark on a quest to find out who's behind a plot to have Arutha assassinated, though there is also a brief inclusion of other characters, most notably Pug. Even more than in the first novel we get a strong sense of the characters here, and while there's still an undeniably epic feel to the story, Feist presents the characters in such a way that it's very easy to become invested in their tale.

All in all I really liked this book, and am glad I made the effort to re-examine the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse