Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars409
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2010
The Australian coastal resort of Silver Bay *seems* idyllic enough- it's a haven for whales and dolphins with a beautiful harbour and the charming `Silver Bay Hotel.' The only trouble is, the resort itself is actually in desperate need of a renovation to try and pull in a sudden influx of tourists the place needs to save it from sinking into oblivion. Mike, a British businessman sees the potential of the place and heads to Australia with firm plans of knocking down the Silver Bay Hotel and building a brand new hotel and water sports complex in its place, only he doesn't expect to fall in love with the places rustic charm, not to mention the locals and also the fantastic wildlife...

This was a genuinely terrific read. There's a nice amount of romance as well as a couple of the intertwining plots and intriguing back-story that Moyes is renowned for, all tied together nicely in the end. This is definitely one to read if you like your romantic novels with a bit of depth and well-developed characters you actually want to care about. I haven't yet read a Moyes novel I haven't enjoyed and wouldn't hesitate in recommending any of her novels to anyone.
0Comment|78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 May 2008
'Silver Bay' is the intriguing tale of the inhabitants of this tiny Australian haven for dolphins and whales.
Initially, I found the pace slow and it took some getting in to but I am so pleased I persevered - I never imagined I would find facts about dolphins and their habitat quite so fascinating! Mike arrives at the Silver Bay Hotel to secretly get planning permission for his London based company to build a huge watersports orientated hotel complex but doesn't expect to fall in love... Either with Silver Bay or any of the people that live there. Not least because he has a 'Vanessa' waiting patiently to continue planning their Wedding back home!
This novel runs deeper than you first imagine (no pun intended) and the harrowing details of a child lost emerge slowly and painfully.
Highly recommended for the beach this year...
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2007
If you like to read a book where the pages almost turn themselves this book will not disappoint.

The story revolves around the small community of 'Silver Bay' and is told from different perspectives by four narrators. There are strong dramatic events, as well as an intriguing mystery. It is an entirely believable story in which a quiet unassuming community is threatened by the source that ultimately sustains it - tourism - but tourism also threatens the lives of those that live in the ocean, without whom there would be no tourism...

This is a great tale of endurance and commitment - to a way of life, to a community, to the whales, as well as to maintaining dignity and self-respect. Jojo has written a story that reflects how, in life, there are not 'rights' and 'wrongs' but, rather, very difficult decisions to be made, and that in making these decisions the effect is often far greater than we intended.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2008
As an avid Jojo Moyes fan I was disappointed how much I struggled to engage with the first half of this book. I didn't identify with the characters or the plot.

However I wasn't to be disappointed. Halfway through the book the story stopped meandering and the various threads began to come together. So much so that I spent 4 hours unable to put the book down absorbed by the fate of the Silver Bay inhabitants....and yes I cried.

Persevere - A lot of time (maybe too much) is spent creating the backdrop and building up to the big reveal. However once Jojo Moyes gets into her stride and does what she is so good at - building and developing the relationships between the characters this book was unputdownable.

Despite the beginning a great read full of twists and turns that keep you guessing right till the end.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2007
Anyone who has felt the long drawn out dread that comes when developers move in will sympathize with the inhabitants of Silver Bay. Cocooned in a time warp, they have their sensitivities, lives and loves brought into sharp focus by a challenge to their lives from the outside world. Jojo's storytelling skills, notched up yet another gear for this new book, will beguile and entertain her readership.

Silver Bay lets you gently in, but before you know it you are completely engaged with the people in its landscape and totally unprepared for a surprising ending.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I loved jojo moyes books "the girl you left behind" and "me before you". Both were excellent and given good reviews for "silver bay" I was eager to read it. However I just couldn't get into it and found myself skimming pages just to get to the end. It was as if it was written by a different author.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
This book may have been a little slow to start but the ending was heart stopping. Jojo Moyes is a really talented Author, I have become addicted to her books, all of them so different. I don't know what I will do when I've read them all. Might just read them all again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
This is the second Moyes book I've read (first one was "Me Before You") - loved both of them. This book made me laugh, cry and rooting for the residents of Silver Bay. Love the characters.

Will highly recommend this one.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Silver Bay is a small bay in New South Wales; where once it made its living from game fishing, now it relies on the tourists taking trips to see the dolphins and whales. It is where Kathleen still lives and runs the Bay Hotel with her niece Liza and Liza’s daughter Hannah and it is to here that Mike, a property developer makes his way on business to research a scheme for developing Silver Bay into a commercial tourist resort; a scheme which once it becomes known to the residents of Silver Bay as them fired up to do everything they can to fight it.
Narrated in turn by several characters this is quite an involved story but one which takes the reader into the very heart of Silver Bay; a tranquil place, unspoiled by progression and where the extended family of the Bay Hotel have their roots and hearts embedded in the waters and the life of those waters. As Mike becomes better acquainted with the residents he finds himself becoming caught up in their lives and their stories, not least the evasive Liza who seems to have some mystery or fear that rules her life and if Silver Bay is developed it could mean trouble for Liza and her daughter.
The story is initially told at a slow pace which is in keeping with the Silver Bay way of life, I got the feeling that the gentleness of the pace reflected well with the quiet and relaxed atmosphere that is Silver Bay. The contributions from each narrator build up into the big picture, adding different elements from each individual character so the reader is almost drip fed hints and clues about past events. There are also beautifully described pieces about the whales and the horror of them being caught up and traumatized which portrayed just how the bay and its sea life is valued and loved by the residents.
I could really get into the heads of the characters because each narration seemed crafted to that person, their individual characteristics, whether anger, fear or joy leapt out; all were unique and interesting with faults and sadness but as the story builds it is Liza and Hannah’s story that really comes to the fore and makes this novel the poignant and memorable one that it is. I enjoyed learning about whales and believe that Jojo Moyes has given them all the credit they could possible deserve. This is a book that really makes you feel, it gets to the very heart of issues such as love, fear and self hate, so don’t be surprised if you find yourself angering as the locals do or feeling the depressive moods that Liza does, so well are emotions addressed and described that you cannot help but become one with them.
Overall, this is a beautiful and emotive novel that I would recommend highly.

Thanks to Netgalley and Penguin for the ARC of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
This is a beautifully evocative tale of three women living in the idyllic “Silver Bay” on Australia’s coast and how one man’s visit changes their lives forever. Liza McCullen lives in the Silver Bay Hotel with her aunt Kathleen and her young daughter Hannah. The three women live a peaceful and sheltered life in the Bay, where Kathleen runs one of the only hotels and Liza spends her time conducting “Whale Watching” tours on her boat. Then Mike Dormer, the mild-mannered smart Englishman who is set to change everything arrives in the hotel.
This book is told through the eyes of the three women and Mike Dormer and although at first you are lead to believe they are all happy with their lives you can soon see they are all missing a little something which turns them from existing into living. It is beautifully written and will immerse you totally in the lives of these characters.
My favourite character in this book is Mike. I love the way he changed from being very accepting of his circumstances and not really involving himself with decisions to being someone who decides what he wants and does everything he can to get it.
I love the way that both Liza and Mike begin to change their lives after they have been whale watching, it’s as if the whales bring a calm magic to the lives of people who see them. I think this happened to me also while reading, at first I couldn’t really get into the story but then about 100 pages in Liza takes Mike out to see the whales and something changed and I could not put this book down.
Jojo Moyes has once again turned a subject matter I’m not sure of into something utterly beautiful which will touch your heart as the story unfolds.
Rating: 4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.