Sibelius: Piano Works has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Excellent condition. Although used this disc has been played infrequently. CD, box and inner sleeve are all in very good to excellent condition. Some cases may show slight signs of age/sticker wear
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £8.39

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sibelius: Piano Works
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Sibelius: Piano Works

Price: £6.74 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
20 new from £3.10 3 used from £3.13
£6.74 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy a CD from our World, Folk, Classical or Jazz stores to purchase Songlines Music Awards 2015 CD for £3.99. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Product details

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. Five Characteristic Impressions Op.103 : 1. The Village ChurchEero Heinonen 3:31£0.89  Buy MP3 
  2. Five Characteristic Impressions Op.103 : 2. The FiddlerEero Heinonen 2:28£0.89  Buy MP3 
  3. Five Characteristic Impressions Op.103 : 3. The OarsmanEero Heinonen 2:26£0.89  Buy MP3 
  4. Five Characteristic Impressions Op.103 : 4. The StormEero Heinonen 1:42£0.89  Buy MP3 
  5. Five Characteristic Impressions Op.103 : 5. In Mournful MoodEero Heinonen 2:04£0.89  Buy MP3 
  6. Kyllikki [Three Lyric Pieces] Op.41 : I LargamenteEero Heinonen 3:10£0.89  Buy MP3 
  7. Kyllikki [Three Lyric Pieces] Op.41 : II AndantinoEero Heinonen 4:47£0.89  Buy MP3 
  8. Kyllikki [Three Lyric Pieces] Op.41 : 3. CommodoEero Heinonen 3:18£0.89  Buy MP3 
  9. Viisi luonnosta Op.114 : 1. Maisema [Five Esquisses : Landscape]Eero Heinonen 2:58£0.89  Buy MP3 
10. Viisi luonnosta Op.114 : 2. Talvikuva [Five Esquisses : Winter Scene]Eero Heinonen 2:09£0.89  Buy MP3 
11. Viisi luonnosta Op.114 : 3. Metsälampi [Five Esquisses : Forest Lake]Eero Heinonen 1:36£0.89  Buy MP3 
12. Viisi luonnosta Op.114 : 4. Metsälaulu [Five Esquisses : Song in The Forest]Eero Heinonen 2:27£0.89  Buy MP3 
13. Viisi luonnosta Op.114 : 5. Kevätnäky [Five Esquisses : Spring Vision]Eero Heinonen 1:34£0.89  Buy MP3 
14. Sonata in F major Op.12 : I Allegro moltoEero Heinonen 6:41£0.89  Buy MP3 
15. Sonata in F major Op.12 : II AndantinoEero Heinonen 7:01£0.89  Buy MP3 
16. Sonata in F major Op.12 : III Allegro pochettino moderatoEero Heinonen 4:23£0.89  Buy MP3 
17. Five Pieces Op.85, 'The Flowers' : 1. BellisEero Heinonen 1:42£0.89  Buy MP3 
18. Five Pieces Op.85, 'The Flowers' : 2. OeilletEero Heinonen 2:00£0.89  Buy MP3 
19. Five Pieces Op.85, 'The Flowers' : 3. IrisEero Heinonen 3:08£0.89  Buy MP3 
20. Five Pieces Op.85, 'The Flowers' : 4. AquilejaEero Heinonen 2:14£0.89  Buy MP3 
21. Five Pieces Op.85, 'The Flowers' : 5. CampanulaEero Heinonen 2:13£0.89  Buy MP3 
22. Rondino Op.68 No.1 in G sharp minorEero Heinonen 3:52£0.89  Buy MP3 
23. Rondino Op.68 No.2 in C sharp minorEero Heinonen 1:56£0.89  Buy MP3 
24. Finlandia Op.26 No.7 [Versio pianolle / Piano Version]Eero Heinonen 8:56£0.89  Buy MP3 

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Sibelius' piano works 15 Nov. 2007
By Amy - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
There are two points concerning the piano music of Sibelius that I feel need to be kept in mind. One is that the piano was not a natural instrument for Sibelius to communicate his musical thoughts. The other is that his ability to write appealing music extended to his piano compositions. Merging the two points results in attractive music that reflects the masterful orchestral works and symphonies that Sibelius composed. Sibelius wrote most of his piano music in response to financial requirements, while his strongest concentration was saved for his large scale works. The variable quality of the piano music is apparent in any recorded program, ranging from disjointed and rambling pieces to music of dramatic substance and pieces that delight and sparkle. These works are hidden masterpieces that have deep emotional intensity found in the works of other more well known composers for the piano. Heinonen begins his program with the Five Characteristic Pieces, Op. 103. This is an excellent start as "The Village Church" has a ceremonial first theme perfect for ushering in a recorded program. The piece also has a strong impressionist element that can also be found in many of the other higher opus numbered works. The gem of the Opus 103 pieces is "The Oarsman" which has a Spanish sound that reminds me of the uplifting piano music of Enrique Granados. The most extended work on the recording is the Opus 12 Piano Sonata with its nostalgic and lovely Andantino movement that have beautiful passages throughout. I have no problem saying Heinonen's disc is the best single disc recording of Sibelius' piano music that is available right now. Heinonen prioritizes the mystery and lush properties of the Rondino No. 1. Mustonen also offers these qualities but adds suspense and urgency through changes in dynamics and the highlighting of musical expressions. I do want to emphasize that Sibelius' piano music is not essential except for piano enthusiasts and those who must have every note he wrote. However, the piano music is certainly appealing in it own right and well above the level of pleasant background music.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions