Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars182
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2013
This book was really gripping whilst entertaining. I was sorry when it ended. I would recommend it all readers, this is Wilbur writing in top form. As generally found with Wilbur Smith the characters are real, the descriptions bring each character and incident to life and you can visualise every person and place.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
bought for my husband as he has all the Wilbur Smith books , but for some reason missed this one, he was really pleased with it, recommend for any Wilbur Smith fan or fans of adventure stories
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 May 2007
Having read lots of Wilbur Smith's books this one stands out as being different. It is split into two parts. Part 1 is set before WWI and focuses on one man, Flynn O'Flynn, who lives just outside German East Africa and his comical raids into Germany. Early in the book he meets an Englishman and their repetoire is very funny. I can see why this was made into a film (according to other reviews) as the dialogue is very good. Then WWI starts and the Germans advance beyond their borders for revenge. This is where part 2 begins and the book becomes more serious as you'd expect. The ending is untypical of Smith as it isn't a feel-good ending but I don't want to spoil it.

Good book that I highly recommend.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Really good rip roaring story. One of his earlier books, he always paints a great picture of Africa. I can feel the heat.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
I read one or two Wilbur Smith books many years ago and enjoyed them, although they were generally about African tribes and their survival, quite brutal in parts. This one, however, is completely different in that it is again set in Africa and involves the ivory trade, but covers a story about an ivory tradesman (illegal, of course), a dodgy shipping magnate and a very naiive Englishman (Sebastian) who could be termed at the beginning as a "sop", but as the story develops he is proving himself to be anything but. The characters find themselves in scrapes and dangerous situations, but manage to bumble their way out. I am still only part way through it but find that I am laughing out loud at times - and that doesn't happen very often with me. A thoroughly entertaining read and one which I would recommend and enjoy reading again in the future!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
Keeps you involved to the end.. Wilbur does his best to make you stay reading until you have been thoroughly entertained, as alwats!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Enjoying Shout at the Devil as I like this author; if you have read his other books, then I recommend this one.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
easy to pick up and put down and not wonder what on earth's going on. good story telling as always, love his descriptive style.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
I ended up reading this book after watching the mid-70s Bond-esque Roger Moore film it provided the basis for. The film's tone is all over the place, lurching uncomfortably from Laurel & Hardy goofiness to some really rather grim violence. I'm happy to report this tone shift works rather better in the book, where initial wry wit with the characters before the outbreak of WWI turns into some much darker scenes as the war unfolds. The book also features some great naval battle scenes which were beyond the budget of the film, and the story makes a bit more sense with them! The ending of the book is also very different from that of the film - I'll say no more spoilers than that!
Wilbur Smith has a very straightforward writing style and lots of very short pacy chapters (not dissimilar to the length of scenes in a film treatment, really!) making this a good swashbuckling pageturner with a lot of authenic detail relating to the time and place early 20th century east Africa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
This account of the events leading up to the destruction of a German battleship up an African river as the Great War started is very readable and even believable. The hero and heroine are depicted as very human, though the daily live of the two protagonists seem almost impossible to imagine 100 years later
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.89

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.