Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars15
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2008
I've just watched the first two series on DVD and had forgotten just how good the writing was.

It is packed with sharp one-liners and it was great to revisit a show that relies on wit rather than second-rate slapstick or misunderstandings.

Hywel Bennett gives an acting masterclass as Shelley and it is such a shame that booze seems to have derailed what should have been superb career.

Josephine Tewson as the meddling and long-suffering landlady Mrs H is also excellent, turning what could be a stereotype into a worthy opponent for Shelley.

The only time I thought it had dated was when they were looking for a house in West London and were shocked that prices had gone above £30,000.

Great to see again if you watched it first time round, great to watch as a newcomer.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Ordered this a few months back as a present and the recipient and I were utterly disappointed. Not in the show but on the blatant misrepresentation on the advertising on this site and on the dvd cover. Complete second series all 6 episodes. That would be fine EXCEPT series 2 had 9 episodes and unfortunately the episode I ordered the dvd for was NOT on the disc. Its a random 3 episodes that are missing from the disc. I discovered this after the fact unfortunately. On being informed by my friend that the episode she was looking forward to was missing I looked up the series on IMDB and discovered that the DVD proclaiming to be complete and uncut is 3 episodes short.

Season 2 list as follows.

S2, Ep1
Apr. 17, 1980
Elders and Betters

S2, Ep2
Apr. 24, 1980
May the Best Man Win

S2, Ep3
May 1, 1980
Nowt So Queer

S2, Ep4
May 8, 1980
Owner Occupiers

S2, Ep5
May 15, 1980
Expletive Deleted

S2, Ep6
May 22, 1980
Tea and Sympathy

S2, Ep7
May 29, 1980
Hearth and Home

S2, Ep8
Jun. 5, 1980
Fully Furnished

S2, Ep9
Jun. 18, 1980
Dearly Beloved
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2007
Ignore the negative reviews, no doubt posted by viewers who regard the Vicar of Dibley as the height of comedy genius. Either that or they own a boxed set of My Family as their prized possession. I just hope that all episodes will eventually be available as Shelley pursues his unusual career.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2008
remembering this series from my childhood i just had to buy it and im really glad i did , it is full of humourouse sarcasm and anecdotes which kept me giggling throughout i only wish the later series i think it was called "after shelley" would be released on dvd too. highly reccomended!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
For die hard Shelley fans out there one reviewer states that there is only 6 episodes on this DVD, when there should be 9 episodes, he is completely right there are 3 episodes missing they are " ELDERS AND BETTERS". "MAY THE BEST MAN WIN". "NOWT SO QUEER". Fortunately Network have put these 3 episodes on Shelley The Complete first Series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
I was a little too young to have watched these when they were run as they were always on too late and probably too 'adult' for me. I love the characters of Shelley and Fran and there are some really great lines in this dry comedy. I thoroughly enjoyed it and will look forward to seeing the rest of the series in the future.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2010
What an excellent sit-com, so cleverly written and although the props are somewhat dated in 2010, it is as funny today as it was when I first watched it in the late seventies/early eighties. They don't write them like this anymore!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I remember Shelley well from my youth, it is very funny, taking a stab at society and authorities, whilst seeing how life was and learning about what one has to do to make changes and conform if success is to be found. It looks at work and relationships, marriage and divorce, and there is a lot to be learned whilst enjoying it too. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys works from the past, since they don't seem to be able to write work like this any more. Good, clean, honest work that does not contain the violence or lewdness of today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
James (yes) Shelly is a layabout. Over educated and jobless. He spends his days trying not to be gainfully employed.

This would usually make for a very annoying character but in this classic sitcom it doesn't. Hywel Bennett pulls off the role with charm and makes you root for Shelley despite his numerous peccadillo.

Full of sardonic humour, this is one for true sitcom fans. It has aged a bit, but it is still very funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Shelly reminded us what it was to live through the eighties and late seventies, the effects of Thatcherism on an unsuspecting public superb quotes and one liners scatter the glittering performances like gold dust and diamonds. Hywel Bennett is masterful throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)