or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Seven Sweet Things: A Novella with Recipes [Paperback]

Shaun Levin
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
Price: 9.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, 22 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback 9.99  
Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

2 Jun 2012
Seven Sweet Things is a sumptuous and deeply personal tale of love and appetite. Two men in London meet in an Internet chatroom and fall deeper into love than either could have imagined. The story is as much an exploration of the city as it is a meditation on love. Shifting between hidden archaeological mysteries in London and a fantastical stay in an old house in Yorkshire, and between Clissold Park in North London and Roslyn Glen in Scotland, where the narrator gets invited to prepare extravagant desserts for an aristocratic family, the landscape is always love. Seven Sweet Things is a reminder that each time we fall in love, we re-invent our codes, our values, and our sources of inspiration. This edition of Levin’s debut novella includes a Prologue written especially for this publication. In the tradition of Laura Esquival’s Like Water for Chocolate, Seven Sweet Things is the first gay love story with recipes for cakes or desserts to complement each chapter. A sumptuous and deeply personal tale. Time Out magazine (London) said: “Lots of food, and lots of sex, interweaving seamlessly,… passionately, powerfully told… In every chapter there is a moment to take your breath away with its simplicity, its originality, its honesty.” The Lambda Book Report said: “…a meticulously crafted book… highly decadent and erotic…” “a luscious and kinky exploration of queer heart and desire. Soulful and sexy, it invites us inside our sweet, sticky spaces where desire and dessert hit head-on. Full of gorgeous writing, seductive recipes and open-eyed erotics.” Tim Miller, author of Shirts and Skins and Body Blows.

Product details

  • Paperback: 136 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2 Jun 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 1475053010
  • ISBN-13: 978-1475053012
  • Product Dimensions: 20.3 x 12.7 x 0.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,111,821 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible piece of writing 9 Nov 2012
Format:Paperback
I've been thinking in the last 24 hours what is so special about Shaun Levin's voice (I am a fan - I have read much, if not all of his work). For me, what it boils down to (although I'm sure I'll come up with an entirely different reason tomorrow) is that he is entirely free from mean-spiritedness. Which is not to say he can't do "dark". The book has a number of dark and sad moments, but it's tone is so gloriously suffused with light that the darkness is always tolerable and never entirely crushing of our collective human spirit.

In many ways, but certainly in this way, and in this book, I think he's very Dyer-esque. I had a similar joie de vivre sense of life and the possibilities of love and sex whilst reading Dyer's Jeff in Venice novella. I almost wonder if Dyer read Levin before penning JIF,DIV. What they share is the ability to write in a way that always feels "just-enough": toothsome, free-wheeling, but also incredibly controlled and elegant.

You know that feeling you sometimes get when you're PLOUGHING through a novel and you think "I'm enjoying it, but really, do we *have* to have another page of this scene, or another description of that, cut to the bloody chase!" Levin is always cutting to the bloody chase. It makes the writing (which in this novel, so deftly fits the food + love theme) incredibly more-ish. You will wish it were three times the length it is. And that is a sign of a book you won't forget.

When I got to the bit where the lovers go to the park with their poppyseed cake, I thought "YES! this book is like going to a park with a few squares of delicious confectionary, someone you love, and a sunny day that you feel will never end (but all too soon does). It's just so effortlessly, scrumptiously "right".

The ending was perfect too.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xac9f5b7c)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback