Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars80
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2011
If you want a good coffee table book about serial killers then look no further...

This is a good place to start on the subject, a nice big book with glossy images and interesting info on the worlds most famous serial killers.

Don't expect lots of pscho-analysis on motives or sociological theories as to why society breeds such monsters. This is far more tabloid/car crash journalism. And nothing wrong wih that from time to time!

An interesting read, highly recommended.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
This is a very interesting book with lots of information and illustrations. It is easy to follow and understand and has a large number of serial killers to read about. Its good that it gives you a maximum amount of detail for each case including a picture of the offender and information like how old they were when they first killed and where they were from , how many victims. Then it explains the story and the outcome. Although its not a very fun topic to read about it is still a good read. It is quite a large book hard-covered, with dust-cover. Not for the faint hearted i might add , there are some quite hard cases in this book. Very much worth the money.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
great read, small chapters each dedicated to a different serial killer. an easy pick up and put down book make a good holiday read
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
Not the best true life crime book I've ever read (and there are a few grammatical errors dotted around the text too which is unacceptable at the best of times but on a Kindle version it's inexcusable) but there's enough here to sustain reader interest and I got through it quickly.

The usual suspects are described along with their crimes in the usual tabloid and sensationalist language of this genre of books but there's a few new names (at least to me anyway) so it's not too repetitive in that regard (language wise I did find myself reading a few of the same sentences over and over again though) and variety is at least kept.

Recommended for those wanting a quick read but nothing more. If you want something with more depth and analysis then you'll have to find other books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
If you're new to this subject, then this book is a great start.
It introduces you to all the most infamous serial killers from the 1800's to present day. It's a great read, and you learn the basic details - a fantastic, simple introduction to get you going.
It's well-presented too ;)

All in all, a good starter book and window into a very fascinating subject - highly recommended for a newbie, like myself!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 December 2012
Not everyone's cup of tea but this is a great book. The book covers a plethora of serial killers, what they did, how they were caught and what happened to them. Over the years I had heard about most people in this book, but I knew very little more. What is really good is that the detail around each serial killer is concise and to the point. Quite morbid but compulsive reading. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
It was an okay read I made my way through it in a few hours but nothing spectacular it didn't really tell me anything I didn't already know and in some cases missed out what I considered to be important details. For a beginner to the subject a good introductory book I think, easy reading. Not recommended for someone who already knows a bit and is wanting to learn more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2012
As other reviewers have noted, the book could go into more detail, particularly about the details of the crimes and the factors behind them, but provides a good basic overview. Proofreading issues spoilt it slightly for me; the author apparently does not know the difference between were and where, with frequent instances of "they where eleven and twelve" rather than "they were eleven and twelve," for example. This is actually one of the first things I remember learning at school, so is fairly unforgivable in an author. However, if you look past these errors, this is an informative book which provides a decent introduction to the subject matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
Loved it. It gave a good overview of each killer. Best for people who are beginners in reading this genre and haven't heard a lot about the killers that are written about.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
Take out the familiar cases, Jeffery Dahmer, Moors Murderers, Harold Shipman etc, where nothing is added that is not already well documented, and your left with a collection of very interesting, and in some cases obscure, examples of the worst things that people do to each other. There is not a great deal of detail but enough to give the reader an overview of each case; from where you can research further if compelled to do so. The book is well written and good to dip in and out of. Recommended if your new to this genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)