Start reading Sensei (Connor Burke Martial Arts) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sensei (Connor Burke Martial Arts)
 
 

Sensei (Connor Burke Martial Arts) [Kindle Edition]

John Donohue
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £1.43 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.43  
Mass Market Paperback --  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Product Description

In every case, the modus operandi is the same, and the only clue available is a cryptic message scrawled on the wall bearing the signature "Ronin" - the Japanese name for a masterless samurai.

Connor Burke, a part-time college teacher with a passion for the martial arts, is called in to help out with the investigation by his brother, an NYPD detective. With the help of his teacher, the master warrior Yamashita Sensei, Burke begins to follow the trail of clues that stretches across time and place, ultimately confronting his own fears, his sense of honor, and the ruthless killer who calls himself "Ronin".

Combining the exotic world of the Japanese martial arts with the gritty nuts-and-bolts aspects of a murder investigation, Sensei is a fast-paced, riveting thriller that explores the links between people as they struggle for mastery, identity, and a sense of belonging.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 359 KB
  • Print Length: 260 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0451411323
  • Publisher: YMAA Publication Center (1 Aug 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005IYDQWM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #88,132 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars The start of a brand new adventure 2 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
As a long standing Martial Artist it is perhaps suprising that I haven't delved into the MA fiction before, but I was very happy to discover this author. I would recommend it not only to Martial Artists but also to fans of crime fiction/murder mysteries, as the books are a refreshing cross over between the two genres. It is told almost exclusively from the perspective of an Irish American academic Connor Burke, who is a long standing student of Yamashita - a old school Japanese Sensei - and is also brother to a Homicide detective.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Dragon stamping my authority 31 Oct 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Ok I liked this book, I liked the characters and the interactions especially those moments between Burke and his Sensei. The story flowed and was a good idea. But not enough action for me not enough martial arts! I realise the subtlety of it all but I needed a bit more slam bang action as in those 70's Kung fu thrillers.
Still a very good read by an author who knows his stuff and its place today's world.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome and evocative martial arts thriller. 30 Aug 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Wow. Finally a martial arts thriller by someone who knows what they are talking about. This is very much in the tradition of Eric Van Lustbader and Marc Olden but arguably far more accurate martial arts wise and more up to date. Great story. After reading this I read the next 3 immediately.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category