Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Mini-Disc|Change
Price:£15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2002
Forget the magical 'Moments In Love' and manic 'Close (To the Edit)', The Seduction of Claude Debussy is a far cry from the Art Of Noise from the early eighties.With an all new line up (But sadly no JJ Jeczalik or Gary Langan), and some great vocalists, this CD tells a musical story about Debussy using a perfect blend of classical, opera, dance, drum and bass with narration by John Hurt. Only the Art of Noise could get away with such an unusual combination and make it sound good. Thinking it doesn't sound like your cup of tea? Just listen to it, you won't be disappointed! The Art of Noise have come bang up to date (this was only released in 1999), signed back to ZTT and created an album unlike any other you will have heard before. Go on, try it!!!!
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2004
This is an album that has rarely left my CD players since I purchased it four years ago. It's one of those rare releases that makes you want to force people to listen to it, because you know damn well they'll never encounter it otherwise, and you know that they'll be missing out on something truly extraordinary.
On the face of it, this should be a total mess. Jungle rhythms, motifs from Claude Debussy, rap provided by Rakim, vocals from Sally Bradshaw, Donna Lewis and Carol Kenyon, and narration provided by the unmistakeable John Hurt.
Miraculously though, with the possible exception of "La Flûte de Pan", it all seems to gel as though Jungle, Rap, Opera and turn of the century French Classical music should always be played together.
Particular highlights of this album include the opening track "Il Pleure [At The Turn Of The Century]", and the monumental "The Holy Egoism Of Genius". Listen towards the end of this track for a vicious turn of mood to match John Hurts' narration.
Also, listen out at the end of "Approximate Mood Swing No: 2" for a snatch of "Moments In Love"
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2002
This is a work of brilliance that effortlessly merges genres and styles that should be totally incompatible. It works as a homage to the great Frenchman at the cusp of the 21st century, hinting at the shape of things to come. The result is an ethereal, stylish and utterly uplifting masterpiece that marries Debussian passion and modern polish. This is the only review like this I've written...this is probably the only CD I'd bother doing this for because it deserves to be heard by more people...just buy it!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2005
This album is simply excellent. The wealth of talent is amazing and so eclectic its refreshing. It's a shame record companies don't promote works of this nature. they should be forced to do so with the revenue they create from stage-school type pop "bands", that are probably from Croydon...........
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2001
There are tracks on this slightly strange but nonetheless beautiful cd that the world should know about. As a backdrop to the last Ski Movie by Greg Stump this music worked magically. The blend of classical melodies fused with modern electronics is handled with obvious musical knowhow, although I am still on the fence with track 10 and would like to know why they did it?!. Great driving music, which in my mind means great music. Ads
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
In 2013, I'm ashamed to say I came very, very late to Art of Noise - this album in particular. I had no preconceived ideas of what to expect or what genre was usual to Art of Noise. I came to this album from listening to a Chris Everard podcast. He played Il Pleure on his podcast explaining how Debussy and Satie both were interested in the occult and how their music is said to have been written by using a musical note/chord type Ouija set up. So their music was a collaboration between this world and another.

The most beautiful tracks for me are Il Pleure - On Being Blue which can't play for long enough - and La Flute de Pan - truly haunting, the beauty of which is held for what seems like an instant once Metaphor on the Floor bursts forth. I also love Rapt: in the Evening Air followed by Metaforce which echoes the beauty of the former. The way the tracks are organised works for me. I couldn't have placed them better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2001
Alright, it might sound slightly strange (Here we have opera, rap, dance music and spoken word parts by John Hurt over the top), but then The Art Of Noise never made normal sounding music.
All the tracks blend into each other perfectly and the spoken word parts add to the music rather than get in the way (which is usually the case).
Very good for relaxing to.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
There was always something a little thin sounding about the CD version of this release. It always seemed to my ears to be a little harsh, brittle or sterile sounding. This is not the case with the minidisc version which sounds richer, warmer and much nicer.

If you don't have this album on any format, get it now. It's a forgotten gem, a bit like Wayne's War of the Worlds meets Art of Noise (Below the Waste incarnation) versus Debussy. It's wonderful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Electronica at it's best! This is def. a 'grower'. It's good the first time but then you find new songs and love more of it the more you listen
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
All as expected, very good, perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)