Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars24
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2014
This is a very well written book, aimed at 11 to 13 years olds. The historical references are very accurate and the author has very obviously taken care to research the historical era in which part of the story is based.

The “Order vs Chaos” battle/balance is very interesting and is a welcome break from the clear cut “Good vs Evil” battle that one finds in most children’s books. This concept gives children something different to think about.

If you have children of this age, this book is highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
What a great book!

My nine year old son was loving it, and after a few pages I was also quickly immersed in the story. Travelling back to Elizabethan England was excellent, and the adventure that centres around Hamish and Suzy is nerve-tingling. Hope there's a film and a sequal.

A definite recommend for all ages - could be read to youngsters under nine as the adventure is paced really well.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
I know this is written for 11 - 15 year olds but as someone who loves, and has read a lot of historical novels, I really enjoyed it. The plot is very good, the characters well formed and the dialogue believable (apart from one or two rather erudite words in the mouths of peasants). It keeps you turning the pages. My only tiny, tiny, tiny irritation was the name of the town in which it was set. Warfield is not a Cornish name (not a village in the county ends in "field") as appropriate as it might be for the plot.I think we can forgive that. I suspect a lot of children will really enjoy this and it deserves a wide audience. Well done Jonathan E Miller.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Fantasy and history collide in this excellent and fast moving family adventure. You are drawn in to this well written novel from the very first page. I can see this really appealing to teenagers and adults alike. You could easily see this adapted for screen and a whole series of books based on different historical events.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
A delightful work by an exciting new author. This well written novel is a combination of talent and imagination - a real page turner but with an underlying serious theme. It would make a wonderful film. I hope that we see much more from him.

James Rees
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
This is a real page-turned that older children and young people will love. It's well written with a wide vocabulary and believable characters.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
I loved this book! Although primarily intended for older children and younger teenagers, it's a captivating story that could be enjoyed by anyone - at any age. It's a real page turner and my 13 year old son (the book's owner) enjoyed it just as much as me.

The narrative is excellent and the main characters - Suzy and Hamish - are particularly well-drawn. You really feel that you get to know and like them over the course of the story and of course this adds to the dramatic tension - in a very positive way.

The plot is compelling and skilfully blends the contemporary with the historical. We really enjoyed the time travel aspect of the book where the children find themselves in Elizabethan England - an engaging bonus history lesson for younger readers.

No spoilers here but the ending is great too. There's an interesting twist that you may not see coming. We're now waiting impatiently for Suzy and Hamish's next adventure..... and the movie version of The Secrets of Equilibrium!

What are you waiting for? Buy this book now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I love anything to do with history hoping this author writes another book very soon.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
This reminds me of the adventure books I read in my youth - the Secret Seven, Famous Five etc., albeit for a more mature audience. It's great adventure with a modern twist, plenty of tension and a moral challenge. Hugely enjoyable and begging for a sequel (and more).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
A really good book, great concept behind the whole story and well researched. Aimed at teenagers but perfect for adults too. A real page turner and the ending leaves open the possibility for more. Keep an eye out for Miller's name, one for the future.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse