Secret Lives and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£2.68
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by owlsmart_usa
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Giving great service since 2004: Buy from the Best! 4,000,000 items shipped to delighted customers. We have 1,000,000 unique items ready to ship! Find your Great Buy today!
Trade in your item
Get a £0.50
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Secret Lives Hardcover – Feb 1991


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£2.68
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.


Trade In this Item for up to £0.50
Trade in Secret Lives for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.50, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover
  • Publisher: Harpercollins (Feb. 1991)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0060179074
  • ISBN-13: 978-0060179076
  • Product Dimensions: 3.3 x 16.5 x 24.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (335 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,487,787 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Award-winning author Diane Chamberlain, was born and raised in Plainfield, New Jersey, and attended Glassboro State University. She also lived for many years in both San Diego and northern Virginia, where she still resides.
Diane received her master's degree in clinical social work from San Diego State University.

Prior to her writing career, she was a medical social worker at Sharp Memorial Hospital in San Diego and Children's Hospital in Washington, D.C. She also was a psychotherapist in private practice in Alexandria, Virginia., working primarily with adolescents. Diane's background in psychology and her work in hospitals has given her a keen interest in understanding the way people tick, as well as the background necessary to create real, living, breathing characters.

Several years ago, Diane was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis, which has changed the way she works: she occasionally types using voice recognition software. She feels fortunate that her arthritis is not more severe and that she is able to enjoy everyday activities as well as keep up with a busy travel schedule.

When not writing, Diane enjoys fixing up her house, playing with her three-legged Bernese Mountain Dog, Bruin, getting together with her friends and grown stepdaughters, and singing with an interfaith gospel choir.

Diane is the author of the bestselling Midwife's Confession. Her new book Keeper of the Light is out in January 2012


Product Description

Book Description

A complex tale of the power of love from Diane Chamberlain, bestselling author of The Midwife's Confession and Necessary Lies. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Susan Lewis. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Diane Chamberlain is the bestselling author of twenty-three novels. Her storylines are often a combination of romance, family drama, intrigue and suspense. She lives in Northern Carolina with her partner, photographer John Pagliuca, and her shelties, Keeper and Cole. Visit dianechamberlain.com --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

71 of 74 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 14 Jan. 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
What an amazing book!

The stories going on within the book are complex but riveting. You really feel for the characters and long to find out how things work out for them.

I thought the sections in the book written in the style of Eden's mothers journal entries were an inspired idea. It really helps with the flow of the book and fits seamlessly even though it is jumping between different times.

The twists are excellent and I found myself attached to the characters and felt their emotions. I couldn't put the book down, I was constantly waiting to see what new revelations were waiting for me. I have only discovered Diane Chamberlain's books in the last fortnight and this is the 3rd book of hers I have read. She now definately on my list of must read authors.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Kat on 22 July 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I am a fan of Diane Chamberlain anyway, and had already read most of her books. I bought this one because i was interested in her earlier work and how it was written, and i just wanted to read more by her to be honest!
I loved this book - Diane has the ability to get right to the heart of any issue, with her characters being so well portrayed while keeping a sense of suspence and mystery. This book was no exception -the characters are so well explored, particularly Eden and her Mum, who we get to know through her journal, the same as Eden does. At first she seems very unlikeable but then through the hjournal we are shown a new side to her, and i love stories written in two time frames so this one appealed to me, and was done brilliantly.
The one criticism i have is that i thought the back story of Ben was not as believable as it could have been; Without giving too much away, i thought that the fact that nobody believed his story and were so quick to condemn was maybe not true to reality. I half wish that his back story was different and not quite so traumatic.
Overall, this book is every bit as good as Chamberlains recent work - she has a great grasp of pshychology and human emotion and that shines through in this story. I will read it again and would recommend.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 12 Feb. 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
There's a little introduction to this edition stating that the book is no longer in print, but thanks to the invention of downloadable books it's once more available. This shows how cut-throat and competitive the world of publishing is, because this is a beautifully written and highly accomplished story which deserves to be available to a wider audience.

It's written in a format which I always enjoy: a current third person narrative interspersed with a sub-plot written in the first person. All of the main characters keep their secrets and the gradual and sometimes painful revelations are what keep turning the pages. I'd guessed pretty early on a couple of these secrets, but I started to care so much about the characters that I wanted to find out how things would pan out for them. Of course, for one of them, the enigmatic and elusive Kate Swift, we know right from the start that she has died young and follow her daughter's attempts to understand her life and discover what happened. But we want so much for the past to be healed and an optimistic future for all involved.

Along the way, whilst carrying her own demons, Eden Riley meets and falls in love with a man who also has demons of his own. Ultimately, we learn that we are all victims of victims in some way.

The author very bravely - and fairly graphically - touches on the subject of child abuse. It's enough to make you feel deeply uncomfortable, but doesn't go too far.

It's all about a web of human relationships, each person carrying their own burden and intrinsically linking together. The only minor criticism I have is that as fully rounded and empathetic as Kate's character is, I find her unconvincing in the capacity of a successful children's book author. That is only a little niggle and doesn't detract from the story.

The ending ties things together very nicely, is happy and poignant in equal measures and I'm sure will stay with me for a long time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By melissa s burgess on 22 Jan. 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
another great book, couldn't put it down. i spent a few nights staying up reading late in to the night. there is one part of the book that doesn't make easy reading but it is part of the story and was necessary in the story. I couldn't wait until another diary was brought out to read the back story. very enjoyable book
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Geea O'C on 25 Jun. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Sorry I had to give a three star,the reason too much detail in sex scenes, which I think is not necessary to tell a good story. If I had known,would not have read this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Carolina Kindle on 13 Jan. 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I read this book with an open mind and was quite impressed. The story twisted and turned with history repeating itself but not in ways you would think and wound its way to be an interesting read. I thought the ending could have explained more detail but the main characters held their own and were believable and convincing. Would I read more from Diane Chamberlain - no rush!!
Compelling reading which I enjoyed, making me think hard about taboo subjects dealt with from both sides.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Smulho99 on 10 Aug. 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down once I started!
Really different from lost chick lit and a very touching story.
After reading this I went on to read more of chamberlain's books which were all excellent, although I think this one remains my favourite!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback