Secondhand Daylight and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: £0.01

More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Secondhand Daylight on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Secondhand Daylight [Hardcover]

D.J. Taylor
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
RRP: £14.99
Price: £14.94 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: £0.05
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, 23 Dec.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details
‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description


Soho in the 1930's has never been more alluring, or seamy, than in this period mystery. (Henry Sutton Daily Mirror)

'you'll be able to gobble it up with a big grin on your face.' (The Daily Telegraph)

Praise for At the Chime of a City Clock: Steeped in historical detail, the novel evokes the sleazy side of the Thirties so vividly that you can almost feel the grease and grime on your fingers. (Anthony Gardner, Mail on Sunday)

Praise for City Clock: Engaging, cheerful, opportunist James Ross. You won't forget him or the London he frequents for a long time after closing the book. (Susan Hill, Literary Review)

Praise for City Clock: A watchable, atmospheric black-and-white film in novel form. (Sunday Express)

Praise for City Clock: Written with a splendid and captivating assurance. (The Scotsman)

Praise for City Clock: Finely drawn ... Artful ... Masterly. (John Sutherland)

Book Description

The sequel to the critically acclaimed At The Chime of a City Clock.

About the Author

D. J. Taylor is a writer and critic. He is the author of seven novels: Great Eastern Land (1986); Real Life (1992); English Settlement (1996); Trespass (1998), The Comedy Man (2001), Kept: A Victorian Mystery (2006) and Ask Alice (2009). His books of non-fiction include After the War: The Novel and England Since 1945 (1993); A Vain Conceit: British fiction in the 1980s (1989), and Bright Young People: The Rise and Fall of a Generation 1918-1940 He is also well known for his biographies: Thackeray (1999); and Orwell: The Life, which won the 2003 Whitbread Biography Award.
‹  Return to Product Overview