Schumann: Etudes Symphoni... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Schumann: Etudes Symphoniques, Variations Posthumes op.13, Fantasie op.17
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Schumann: Etudes Symphoniques, Variations Posthumes op.13, Fantasie op.17 Hybrid SACD, SACD

Price: £15.73 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
15 new from £9.99 1 used from £24.32
£15.73 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Schumann: Etudes Symphoniques, Variations Posthumes op.13, Fantasie op.17 + Chopin: Ballades, Etudes, Nocturnes, Polonaise-Fantasie + Franz Schubert: Piano Sonatas, D845 & 850
Price For All Three: £46.84

Buy the selected items together

Product details

1. Thema: Andante
2. No. 1: Un Poco Più Vivo
3. No. 2: Marcato Il Canto
4. No. 3: Vivace
5. No. 4
6. No. 5
7. Variation No. 1
8. Variation No. 2
9. Variation No. 3
10. Variation No. 4
11. Variation No. 5
12. No. 6: Agitato
13. No. 7: Allegro Molto
14. No. 11: Andante Con Espressione
15. No. 12: Allegro Brillante
16. Durchaus Fantastisch Und Leidenschaftlich Vorzutragen - Im Legenden-Ton
17. Mäßig. Durchaus Energisch - Etwas Langsamer - Vielbewegter
18. Langsam Getragen. Durchweg Leise Zu Halten - Etwas Bewegter
19. Allegro
20. Romanze
See all 23 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Product Description

PRA 350070; PRAGA; Classica da camera


Richter s 1961 EMI recording of Schumann s Fantasy is one of the classics of the gramophone. This slightly quicker performance, recorded live in Prague in the 1950s, seems to me a little less masterly. The fiendishly difficult second movement, with its fistfuls of notes and vertiginous leaps, holds no terrors for the great pianist, but in the marvellous but elusive opening movement there are hints of impatience and a less than meticulous attention to dynamics; and at the magical appearance of the Beethoven theme (Schumann s secret message to Clara Wieck), the left hand s crucial D sharp hardly sounds. Best is the lively, charming take on Faschingsschwank. --David Cairns, The Sunday Times 5 May 2013

Perf (4/5) **** These accounts find Ricther in quirky mode, pressing at the extremes of Schumann: hair-raising speed and melting depth mix and match. The Fantasie is hugely impressive. --Jessica Duchen, BBC Music Magazine September 2013

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Superior performances in best possible sound 30 July 2013
By Dr. Steve Bennett - Published on
Verified Purchase
I've been purchasing the Richter remastered/SACD material on Praga's Digital Reminiscence label for several months, to include albums of music by Rachmaninoff, Schubert,Chopin, and now this Schumann release. All selections are of previously released material, most but not all of which were released by Praga from their live and studio sources. I've been quite pleased with the quality of the mono and stereo remastered sound...which in some cases is clearly superior to past releases, especially in terms of "presence" and cleaner transients. Some of this material dates from the late 50's..others from more recent but not clearly dated sources, like those that appeared in the Phillips Richter collections of the mid 90's.
This Schumann release includes a 1956 rendering of the Symphonic Etudes, which quite simply is the best I've heard. Also an engrossing Fantasy, which is played a bit more briskly but with more feeling than the famous EMI version....The final Carnival of Vienna selection seemed to me to be very similar to the live recording from Italy which also was released by EMI. I've never warmed to this piece or at least to Richter's interpretation of it...but two out of three is not bad! The album cover is labeled "Part I" so it looks like there will be more of Richter's Schumann to be released by this label.

In summary, I highly recommend this album to those who like Schumann piano works and/or Richter's way with they now sound better than ever.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category