Start reading School Ties on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books even without a Kindle device-with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones and tablets.
School Ties
 
 

School Ties [Kindle Edition]

Emma Lee-Potter
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: 1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.
Borrow this book for free on a Kindle device with Amazon Prime. Learn more about Kindle Owners' Lending Library.
Join Prime to borrow this book at no cost.
The Kindle Owners' Lending Library gives you access to thousands of books, including New York Times bestsellers, to borrow and read for free.
  • Borrow a book as frequently as once per month
  • No due dates keep books as long as you like and return them when it's time for something new
  • Read on any Amazon Kindle device

Amazon Prime members also enjoy:
  • Unlimited streaming of thousands of popular movies and TV shows with Prime Instant Video
  • FREE Two-Day Shipping on millions of items, with no minimum order size

For more information about the Kindle Owners' Lending Library visit our help page.

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

Downthorpe Hall. A posh boarding school in the Home Counties. Will Hughes has been installed as the new headmaster - fresh from working in an inner-city Comprehensive.

Will knows there will be challenges ahead. Difficult parents, rebellious teenagers, and jealous teachers who will fight his attempts to reform the school.

What he didn't expect was a battle for his heart.

But when he meets the fiercely ambitious deputy head Grace Foley, and the brilliantly smart science teacher Henry Mead, Will realises that the ties at Downthorpe are not just the kind you wear around your neck.

What follows is a tangle of competing ambitions and desires that will leave Will bemused - and may force him to choose between the job he has always wanted and the woman of his dreams.

'School Ties' is a sparkling romantic comedy that takes the reader inside the cloistered, elite world of a top public school. It introduces a brilliant cast of characters that will entrance and entertain the reader.

It is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jane Green and Jilly Cooper.

Emma Lee-Potter is a novelist and journalist. She has written three novels, Hard Copy, Moving On and Taking Sides, and is the author of House With No Name, a blog about life, books, teenagers and France.

Her books have been widely praised.

'A pacy expose… tightly written, with snappy dialogue,’ Daily Mail

‘Fast and furious,’ Daily Mirror

‘Couldn’t put it down,’ Best

‘If you enjoy pace, dialogue and a glimpse of life behind the headlines, you’ll love this’ Belfast Telegraph

‘An authentic witty insight into life behind the headlines’ Books Magazine

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 158 KB
  • Print Length: 68 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd.; 1 edition (17 Aug 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S. r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0098WAFHY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #34,372 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Emma Lee-Potter spent ten years working as a hard news reporter for the Evening Standard, Sunday Express and Today before becoming a freelance journalist, book reviewer and novelist.

She has written three novels for grown-ups - Hard Copy, Moving On and Taking Sides. The Rise and Shine Saturday Show, about a TV competition to find a young pop superstar, is her first children's book. She has also written five romantic novellas, Olympic Flames, School Ties, White Christmas, Lessons in Love and Beach Combing.

Her first three novels, Hard Copy, Moving On and Taking Sides, are all available as ebooks on Amazon.

Emma has two children and spends her spare time daydreaming about escaping to the south of France.

Read Emma's award-winning blog on life, books, films, teenagers and France at www.emmaleepotter.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read 6 April 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I had this on my kindle and the book was a perfect read for a flight I took on holiday. The story romped along, the characters were believable, the school kids were - well, school kids, the plot was plausible and the ending happy. Okay Ms Lee Potter isn't a threat to Hilary Mantel but having read Wolf Hall immediately before this, School Ties was a brilliant holiday read that didn't leave my brain feeling battered. Frankly, on holiday, I know which I preferred
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome 24 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is by far the best way to entertain yourself if you are bored or you are in need of a great book then you have to read this book!!!!!!!!!!:-)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars School ties 24 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A very easy read , you can easily get back into story after a few days of reading. I recommend
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable quick read. 17 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I Read this in 40mins or so. Light hearted and fun if a little obvious. Ok for a free read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good 2 Nov 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Although this book was short i really enjoyed reading this story it was interesting and kept me turning the pages throughout
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yaayy 20 Sep 2013
By Vicky
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
for such a short story, i thoroughly enjoyed this, please make more (but longer) the humour was good and the characters intriguing. thank you
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable mystery 9 April 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Couldn't put this book down until I'd finished it. Found it very compelling and I will look for this author again
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over in a flash 4 April 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Much shorter than I realised. It never really gets going. Read on holiday in one afternoon. Disappointing but an easy read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book
This is the 1st book I have read by this author. The ending was ok as in not great (in my opinion) Though overall the plot was very good and will look to read another book by this... Read more
Published 3 months ago by lauren
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing read
I have read quite a few books by this author,and always find them refreshing,a great style of writing,and a good storyline,will be reading more from this author.
Published 5 months ago by Michelle cooper
2.0 out of 5 stars Too light
To float my boat. Rubbish storyline. Won't bother with this author again, read like a first draft that failed badly.
Published 9 months ago by MoBut
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my "cup of tea"
OK holiday read but not really to my taste. It did'nt grab me as a read.Very light reading but not a lot of story
Published 10 months ago by nIGEL
3.0 out of 5 stars Anyone will be able to identify with the relationships and conflict
School Ties begins with Will Hughes, new Acting Head of Downthorpe, marking bottom set Hamlet papers. We're introduced to Deputy Grace and science teacher Henry. Read more
Published 10 months ago by Shazjera
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
I loved this story. It is short and sweet and you can read it in an evening. I look forward to reading the next one!
Published 12 months ago by M Parker
1.0 out of 5 stars Really boring
So predictable I gave up. No real story and unsubtle ploy. Sorry but definitely not for me; think it's back to the drawing board!
Published 12 months ago by C Dunn
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable
An excellent read with thoroughly believable characters. I loved the boarding school setting and the snapshot it provided of the teachers' trials and tribulations. Read more
Published 12 months ago by Beth
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


ARRAY(0xa9df5378)