Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2002
School Disco.Com is a wonderful mix of music appealing to all age groups who love to dance. This box set give you two albums for the price of one! I have not stopped listening to it since I brought it a week ago and it is worth it. There is Golden Oldies, such as True, 'The Final Countdown,' and 'I am the One and Only' by Chestney Hawkes. Unforgettable but there are some modern singers as well, such as Wheatus, and 'Teenage Dirtbag'. Get those hips swinging and join the fun that is School Disco.Com
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2003
This is the best album I ever bought! It's got nearly every song I ever wanted on it and brought back all the memories of the best days of my life. The SchoolDisco.com double album is superb!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2003
I expected a lot of this 4CD compilation as not only do I own the first one, but I've also been to the event itself in London twice... and it most certainly does not disappoint!!
The first CD (Summer Holiday) is packed full of songs which evoke memories of summer days from years gone by such as the Grease Megamix, Flashdance, Club Tropicana, Copacabana and the unforgettable Y Viva Espana (who could ever forget Sylvia?!)along with classics from artists as diverse The Undertones, Toto and the Nolan Sisters, and little known gems such as Tarzan Boy by Baltimora, and finishing off on CD2 with the John Miles classic "Music".
The second CD (End of Term Party) carries on right where the first left off as well - packed with feel-good party greats such as I'm So Excited, My Life, Manic Monday, A Little Respect, Sunday Girl, Celebration Last Christmas, and in typical schooldisco.com style, treating (if that's the right word!) the listener to the Rupert the Bear theme...!
Anyone who's either been to a school-disco themed event or who just wants a good fun party CD couldn't fail to be impressed by the variety and imagination of this compilation - I don't regret buying it for a second!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
There is not much one can say about this compilation except that it is BRILLIANT! 80s classics blend in harmonically with the rock anthems of the era. Ideal for a party, for relaxing, for HAVING FUN, as we all need a bit of cheering up these days! Great for the Office partys. Guarranteed to have everyone up and dancing. This does the trick. Just as good as Schooldisco.Com The revision Guide 2. I would suggest getting both for a more complete collection. Highly recommended for those who are bombarded by compilations regarding the 80s and don't know which one to chose. This one has it all!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2001
This is not just another variation on the "I Love the '80s" style albums that have proliferated recently, but a compilation with a real theme.
Classics such as "Walk Like An Egyptian", "Rocking All Over The World", "The Lion Sleeps Tonight", "Fight For Your Right", "Hey Mickey", "A Town Called Malice" and of course "The Final Countdown" (not all mentioned among the tracks here, some are on the 2nd CD which for some reason is not listed) really do bring back memories not just of a time but of an event, namely the school disco. The inclusion of the two TV themes ("Grange Hill" and "Jim'll Fix It") seem bizarre but definitely bring a smile of recognition every time they come on. Even the one track I didn't know before, "Swords of a Thousand Men" by Ten Pole Tudor, has now become a firm favourite.
My only criticism is the omissions - no "Spirit In The Sky", no "Living On A Prayer", no "Died In Your Arms Tonight", no "Wild Boys", no "Walk This Way"?
Still, I'm sure that if this volume sells well volume 2 will not be far behind...
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2002
One look at the TV schedules and programmes such as "I love Last Tuesday week", give the impression that the current favourite pastime is reliving the "good ol' days". And, that's not far wrong - judging by this lively offering. Classics include "Cant Take My Eyes off You", "Hey Mickey" and the fantastic debut and swansong by the "One and Only" Chesney Hawkes. There's a slight bit of padding on CD Two with some lesser tracks, but overall this is a great purchase. It may be Cheese, but it's Cheese of the Highest Order!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2004
There is not much one can say about this compilation except that it is BRILLIANT! 80s classics blend in harmonically with the rock anthems of the era. Ideal for a party, for relaxing, for HAVING FUN, as we all need a bit of cheering up these days! This does the trick. Just as good as Schooldisco.Com The revision Guide 1. I would suggest getting both for a more complete collection. Highly recommended for those who are bombarded by compilations regarding the 80s and don't know which one to chose. This one has it all!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2003
Schooldisco.com has done it again!
Somehow they always manage to find the right balance of cool yet cheesy... for the late twenties / thirty somethings amongst us, this album will not fail to bring back memories long forgotten!
You can see the track listings, you know the songs and, in fact, you probably know all the words after religiously studying them in Smash Hits on the way to school... you know this is a great retro album.
Be it for singing along in the shower or for blaring out at a party, this is the album you need!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
This album helps return you to those school days and provides loads of great songs that you thought had been lost in pop history. When listening to this album you just cannot sit down and every song will have you singing along. The highlight has to be 'One and Only' which is the best song on the album by far!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
I used to have this cd but got lost and when i found it on here i was so happy, i ordered it late at night and received it within 36 hours very well packaged and a note inside saying to enjoy it! very good quality (like new) extremely happy with product and service recommend to all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)