Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 

The Scheme Programming Language [Paperback]

R Kent Dybvig
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £21.29  
Paperback £22.41  
Paperback, 17 Oct 2003 --  
There is a newer edition of this item:
The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition 4.6 out of 5 stars (5)
£22.41
In stock.

Book Description

17 Oct 2003 0262541483 978-0262541480 3rd Revised edition
This thoroughly updated edition of The Scheme Programming Language provides an introduction to Scheme and a definitive reference for standard Scheme, presented in a clear and concise manner. Written for professionals and students with some prior programming experience, it begins by leading the programmer gently through the basics of Scheme and continues with an introduction to some of the more advanced features of the language. Many exercises are presented to help reinforce the lessons learned, and answers to the exercises are given in a new appendix. Most of the remaining chapters are dedicated to the reference material, which describes in detail the standard features of Scheme included in the Revised Report on Scheme and the ANSI/IEEE standard for Scheme.Numerous examples are presented throughout the introductory and reference portions of the text, and a unique set of extended example programs and applications, with additional exercises, are presented in the final chapter. Reinforcing the book's utility as a reference text are appendixes that present the formal syntax of Scheme, a summary of standard forms and procedures, and a bibliography of Scheme resources. The Scheme Programming Language stands alone as an introduction to and essential reference for Scheme programmers. It is also useful as a supplementary text for any course that uses Scheme.The Scheme Programming Language is illustrated by artist Jean-Pierre Hebert, who writes Scheme programs to extend his ability to create sophisticated works of digital art.


Product details

  • Paperback: 330 pages
  • Publisher: MIT Press; 3rd Revised edition edition (17 Oct 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0262541483
  • ISBN-13: 978-0262541480
  • Product Dimensions: 22.2 x 18.3 x 2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,693,774 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"Kent Dybvig's The Scheme Programming Language is to Scheme what Kernighan and Ritchie's The C Programming Language is to C." Daniel P. Friedman, Indiana University "I have been using previous editions of The Scheme Programming Language in my Programming Language Concepts class for 13 years. The students need to learn the basics of Scheme in a few days, and then to pick up some of the harder concepts as the course progresses. This terse but complete book with its excellent examples fits the bill perfectly. Students quickly learn a lot from this book, and many of them make a point of telling me how much they like it." Claude Anderson, Professor of Computer Science and Software Engineering, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology "I have been using previous editions of *The Scheme Programming Language* in my Programming Language Concepts class for 13 years. The students need to learn the basics of Scheme in a few days, and then to pick up some of the harder concepts as the course progresses. This terse but complete book with its excellent examples fits the bill perfectly. Students quickly learn a lot from this book, and many of them make a point of telling me how much they like it."--Claude Anderson, Professor of Computer Science and Software Engineering, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology "Kent Dybvig's *The Scheme Programming Language* is to Scheme what Kernighan and Ritchie's *The C Programming Language* is to C."--Daniel P. Friedman, Department of Computer Science, Indiana University "Eric Raymond once wrote that learning Lisp makes one a better programmer for the rest of one's days. Scheme is the best dialect of Lisp to learn for this purpose, and Kent Dybvig's book provides a comprehensive and beautiful introduction to learning Scheme and becoming a better programmer."--Olivier Danvy, BRICS, University of Aarhus, Denmark, co-Editor-in-Chief of Higher-Order and Symbolic Computation

About the Author

R. Kent Dybvig is Professor of Computer Science at Indiana University and principal developer of Chez Scheme.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K&R for Scheme 29 Feb 2008
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Dybvig's book is an excellent but terse tutorial and reference on Scheme.

Writtem in the tradition of Kernighan and Ritchie 'The C Programming Language' it provides a complete description of the language in a very short amount of space.

I found this approach in keeping with the Language, scheme is a small and very expressive language.

It sits on my desk next to K&R, Hanson, Stoustroup, Graham, Stevens and Steele.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book 3 Mar 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book just seemed to be pitched at my level. I thought SICP was great but it left me wanting to know more about scheme itself. I'm coming from a background where things like "closure" and "continuation" don't mean anything. And just what *is* a macro? Well I'd puzzled out the first two and read various Lisp articals about macros. But scheme's macros seemed incredibly arcane. Why are there so many (lisp-like, define-syntax, syntax-rules, syntax-case)? And even others that people have invented. So I searched the net and stuumbled on TSPL. Wow. I know you can read this online (so if you want a look you don't have to pay Amazon anything!) but I like technical books in dead-tree form. So I bought it and regretted nothing. syntax-rules make perfect sense! Maybe I'll grok syntax-case in the end! It's also a great R6RS reference.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars R. Kent Dybvig's The Scheme Programming Language 20 Dec 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Here we have one of the standard books in the world of scheme programming, known and recommended in computer science departments around the world. Tough, dry, authoratative; I am about a third of the way through my first reading of it, and I know that I will have another go in a few months' time. And maybe another go after that. For example, chapter three, 'Going Further' ambles steadily through serious recursion then hits us with continuations and CPS. Great fun.

Ernestly recommended if you like scheme, or if you are chasing a CompSci degree.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good exposition 14 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
This is an excellent introduction to Scheme.
Disciplined technical writing, with no redundancy.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a Scheme book 14 Dec 2010
By Hanna S
Format:Paperback
I like reading by actually holding a book. They make it easier for me to jot down what I think or write down keywords to make it easy for me to recall what is where at some points. It is not much difference that online reference in order to understand the language. But it may be more elaborate on notation and naming conventions which is and added advantage. I still need to search online from time to time.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback