Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£3.98+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2012
These days most people will be more familiar with the Brian De Palma remake- and probably don't even realise that is a remake. I was one such person and when I saw this, I was amazed by how basically similar the two films are. One Scarface may be Italian and the other Cuban but they both make the rise from henchman to Boss before their ego leads them to a similar end. Taking the two together, this is definitely my preference as it's more tightly told: De Palma's (an exercise in 80s indulgence in running length as well as "style") languishes in the Miami heat whereas this is the fast-talking, hard-hitting grittiness of the prohibition era. The latter version has a reputation for being bloody but this is no less hard-edged and pulls absolutely no punches, depicting a brutal (and occasionally, charming) man.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
I like the gangster genre of films, and I found myself having already seen the majority of these movies, goodfellas, casino, godfarther, American gangster, gangster squad (I liked it) and of course Al Pacino's scarface amongst others.
In the extra features of most of these film, you hear the directors/producers talk about the films that influenced them of this genre, public enemy, little caeser and scarface always come up.
So I decided to delve into these films, thinking that these will be no where as entertaining as the modern day equivalent, how wrong was I, this film especially.
Because I'm familiar with the 1983 scarface, like most people, having seen it a good number of times, it was fascinating as to how much of a remake it was to the original, I just thought they took the name and loosely followed the plot of a thugs rise to power, but there is a lot of scenes in this film where you go "bloody hell they have taken a lot from this film".
If your like me, a fan of the genre from the younger generation, and feel you have seen them all, take a look back in time and get this, amongst a few others you should get, I know it's black and white and made nearly 100 years ago, hey it put me off, but it shouldn't because this is a really good film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
This film is entertaining. Taut and full of action. Briiliant performances all round. This has to be seen if you have the taste for black and white gangster American movies of the thirties. Paul Muni is very good as Tony Carmonte and this man would have been taylor made to play Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
this 1932 Gangster film is probably the Granddaddy of all Gangster film.but it really isn't a Gangster picture.it doesn't glorify organized crime/the mafia at all.in fact,it takes the opposite view.sometimes it's as if you're watching a public service announcement or a political campaign to rid the the city/state/country of the mob.it's as if the actors are actually speaking directly to the audience.and maybe they were.regardless,there's no question how powerful the movie is,and how much influence it has had on all films of the genre.the acting is first rate here.Paul Muni is mesmerizing as Antonio 'Tony' Camonte,the main character.but Anne Dvorak as Francesca 'Cesca' Camonte is also brilliant.of the three big films of this genre that came out around the same time(The Public Enemy starring James Cagney,(1931)and Little Caesar,Starring Edward G.Robinson(1931),in my mind this is by far the most powerful and influential.for me,Scarface(1932)is a 5/5
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2000
The Starting point for all the great Gangster films, tracing the rise to power of a working class Gangster who survives with his thirst for power, wit and confidance. The only Howard Hawks film I'v seen (YET!) but surly one of the best. A Must see for all film fans! Better than the DePalmer remake? YOU decide.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
a great film noir buy it youll love it remember the old movies well this is one of the best gangster movies ever george raft anfd paul muni
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
If you want to watch good old movies,then this is one of them,no bad language (thank god) just good acting, They just don't make them like this anymore.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
this is a great film, if your going to watch a film from the 1930 dont exspect too much, just watch the film cause the writers and the awseome howard hughes the aviater man had allot to do with this film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Great film. A true classic and arguably one of the greatest American gangster film of all time. Great value and excellent communication by the seller. Would recommend thoroughly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
great dvd buy--well packed , great price--quality indeed .Paul Muni great entertainment !
so buy--ok old is--but what entertainment--Buy !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)