Buy used:
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 2m ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Samuel Barber: Piano Concerto, Violin Concerto, Adagio for Strings, Second Essay for Orchestra & Overture to "The School for Scandal"
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Samuel Barber: Piano Concerto, Violin Concerto, Adagio for Strings, Second Essay for Orchestra & Overture to "The School for Scandal"

1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
8 used from £1.21

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Product details

  • Performer: Isaac Stern, John Browning
  • Orchestra: New York Philharmonic Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra
  • Conductor: Leonard Bernstein, George Szell, Eugene Ormandy, Thomas Schippers
  • Composer: Samuel Barber
  • Audio CD (17 Feb. 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sony Music
  • ASIN: B000083Y2W
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 104,756 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. "Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 14"
2. "Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 38"
3. I. Allegro
4. II. Andante
5. III. Presto in moto
6. I. Allegro appasionato
7. II. Canzone: Moderato
8. III. Allegro molto
9. "Adagio For Strings, Op. 11"
10. "Second Essay for Orchestra, Op. 17"
11. "Overture to The School for Scandal, Op. 5"

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Simon Mack - uk creative TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 29 Dec. 2012
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Samuel Barber - US composer
(1910-1981: neo-romantic,tonal composer)

a brand new amazon purchase as needed to have at least the violin concerto in my collection after being very impressed some ten years ago. a little late i know..
this sony music collection at budget price is certainly a very affordable collection of this 20th C US composer whose popularity remains assured via his ubiquitous Mahler-esque,if still very moving "Adagio for Strings".

full listing:
Concerto for Violin (isaac stern - violin/bernstein: conductor)
Concerto for Piano (john browning - piano/szell : conductor)
Adagio for Strings (philadelphia orch / ormandy :conductor)
Second Essay for orchestra (as above)
Overture (NYPO / schippers :conductor)

the "Violin Concerto" here starts the cd off very well with a heady late/post-romantic sweep,fine if slightly over-sweet vibrato laden playing by stern for my tastes.a powerful,heart tugging work in the Rach/Prokofiev mode. fine but joshua bell's or gil shaham's 1990's versions would get my first choice. a fine spiky final movement by Stern + cohorts here, still makes this work a key 20th C work.

the "Piano Concerto" again is another fine work albeit with much less of a romantic sweep + more emphasis on angularities with very fiery,manic playing from the dedicatee - browning i.e. Prokofiev meets (almost)Nancarrow in places. a little over forward in sound but excellent. the "Adagio for Strings" (which you all must know by now) is given a fairly luscious rendition here but still conveys its emotionalism well. the kronos quartet version goes deeper though i feel.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions