Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 January 2009
The length and breadth of the author's knowledge, as represented in the range of issues covered in this book, is unbelievable: it's almost as if this is an edited volume featuring specialist chapters by named experts.

Inevitably, depth of coverage of specific topics suffers but this is a price well worth paying for a gem such as this.

It's a must have guide to safeguarding/vulnerable adults policy and practice with a clear emphasis upon national policy and legal duties. A brilliant book that should put others to shame. If you can only buy one book on the subject then this is, unarguably, the one.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
The book makes for easy reading, it looks at a range of situations where abuse, neglect and harm can take place; community and hospital settings. The author provides various scenarios with associated ethical and legal considerations, then leaves the reader to critically analyse the informtion and draw their own conclusions. I was disappointed that the book focused mainly on English law rather then Scottish law however, the author does make some distinction between the two. I have enjoyed reading the book and will use it for future reference.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
This is an excellent well written, easy to read book for all practitioners within the field of Adult Social Care.It covers aspects of the law, and also gives you case studies, it is well worth the money and if you work in this field I would recommend that you or your organisation buy a copy or copies!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
Until the laws inevitably get changed, this book is great for referencing work and studies. Arrived in great condition, was a reasonable price and arrived in good time. Thank you
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
I am currently in my first year of masters degree in adult safeguarding and Mandelstam's book on Safeguarding adults and the law is a fantastic book! A great reference to have for any practitioner working within safeguarding and very well written for all levels. An excellent buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Useful as a reference text for social workers. students and lecturers alike. The only problem is that, like most legal texts, it is out of date so quickly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
one of then only books on the market that I have found to contain working information and case histories, this book says what the computer information does not say. recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
this has a lot of answers to what I need to know in my line of work as I am now going to go self employed this should help me in my day to day dealing with vulnerable adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
Read it and weep because everything you experience when trying to sort out a beloved relative in the teeth of social services indifference is laid before you. I had to stop reading this book otherwise the rage I felt towards our "masters" would have boiled over into violent rebellion. This book dispells the mirage of professionalism that local government adorns itself with. Sorry but the professions are: teaching, medicine, the law, the church and the prostitute. Caring for old people is like caring for a baby - you wipe their arse, you feed them, you wash them and you put them to bed. Bloody simple. Then watch them balls it up. This book shows that you are not alone in thinking you are sane and they are mad, bad or just plain stupid. Currently the great political debate are the Dilmot proposals versus 0.7% GDP overseas aid bill with Justine Green taking the trousers off the budget and seeing what dicks are swinging. Some one soon is going to take George Osborne and David Cameron to task about care and its costs and these two politicians will be blushing beetroot red with shame. As for Nick Clegg I am surprised he is an MP for Sheffield since I would have thought Luton was more his mettle.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Brilliant!! Saved me a lot of money and book was in perfectly fine condition. Many thanks x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)