Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2000
Hurley's background in writing for television shines through, the pictures he paints are extremely vivid, the characters 3-dimensional, with the strengths and wweaknesses that bring them to life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Having read all of the books in the Faraday/Winter series, I was really interested to find some earlier Graham Hurley books available on Kindle. This was my first Kindle read (and also my husband's) We both thoroughly enjoyed it and found this had many of the qualities of his later books particularly the detailed descriptions of scenery and characters which bring the story to life. I would recommend this to any Hurley fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2007
This is the kind of suspense novel that is written too rarely any more.

The characterization is the key to it all - of course there's a great plot, and enough double-dealing to make you feel you're inside a spin-dryer, and there's a fine climactic ending - but the characters carry the story, and they are real, they feel, they love, and they don't all come to happy endings. The book does not have a single false note. An intelligent novel in every way.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
good theme and good story line- but really Graham; JAMIESONS whiskey?????????????????
small things like this can be an irritant to the reader ( and avid follower)............
Jamesons whiskey is well known and really this type of error is one I would expect from a first time author !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Yet another skilfully crafted book by Graham Hurley. Hard to believe that his books have yet to make it to the screen in the UK. The pace of the book is perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
This was OK but a disappointment after enjoying Hurley's earlier work so much. It seemed a bit contrived and didn't keep my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
Sorry but I just could not get into this. Wooden characters and dialogue. Not good.He has written better books than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
as I have come to expect every thing great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Brilliantly written as always
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.